We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good Hotel to stay in Ooty.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ponmari Residencyy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ponmari Residencyy
Ranked #20 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good Hotel to stay in Ooty.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Referring to Trip Advisor reviews and information on their own website about Ponmari residency, i have booked "Royal Family Room" for my family members (3 adults and 2 kids ) for 2x nights and 3 days.
Although i took a chance to book royal family room just by looking at some snaps available on the hotel website. Upon our visit and check in, the expectation was not let down by Hotel management. The same quality, condition & Ambience of the room was maintained as shown in pictures.
We were happy with the room facilities. The service from the respective personnel was satisfactory. This hotel provides a Complimentary Breakfast where most of the other hotels are not. The quality of Breakfast was excellent. Food quality is better than any other pure vegetarian hotel ( Ponmari has a multi-cusine restaurant where they serve both Veg-Nonveg).

This hotel is located closer to market area / Botanical garden and by walk we can reach.
Our stay with ponmari was excellent and is worth for budgetary paxs with all the facilities available.

Over all the experience with Ponamari residency was very good.

Room Tip: Family rooms are located in the underground just below the restaurant. There could be some noise. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravi4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    124
    45
    17
    15
See reviews for
153
94
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I read about Ponmari Residency on tripadvisor and because of the excellent reviews booked online before leaving Australia. We intended to stay from 1st to 5th December. However, the hotel was so warm and inviting that we decided to stay for an extra day so ended up staying till the 6th December. Everyone of the staff and the General Manager Mr T.I. Rajendran, were so kind and hospital to us that we did not want to leave and wished we could've stayed much longer, Mr Raendran has such good people skills and his interaction with the guests was lovely, he was always present to assist us with any questions making it a point to meet and greet guests, when we arrived I hadnt had time to print out my online voucher, he allowed us to check in and said we could do that later.. The Tulasi Ayuvedic Centre was a wonderful experience. The food in the Restaurant was very good, breakfast was always a treat with the variety to choose from, not to mention the excellent South Indian Coffee, the laundry service, room service and internet access excellent. The Rooms and toilets were very clean with fresh linen provided everyday. The views from the room was lovely too. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this hotel to everyone and we look forward to coming back again in the not too distant future. The car rental services on the premises made it very convenient to travel around and we used them to travel back from Ooty to Bangalore.
We wish them well as they continue to thrive and prosper.
Joy and Hampton Gabriel
December 2012

Room Tip: Book into Ponmari Residency you wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

All kind of services are too good and price worthy. Especially food is too tasty for all ages and regions.very tasty definitely stay again over there in my next visit. Breakfast is the very fresh. the hotel is close to market on walkable distance. the small store of oils and other product is chaper compare to market. staff always guide us about site seeing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SureshGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

ponmari is a very good i must say excellent hotel service n all the things provided are very very much better than any other hotel as per my opinion so if u want see ooty queen of hills see with the eyes of PONMARI HOTEL

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HITESH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhubri, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very very nice hotel. The service and staff are very satisfied. Rooms are neat and clean. It is located in the heart of the Ooty town. We stayed here for 6 days. From room we enjoy the hill each and every moment. There is Gym and Spa facility also nice. The size of Bathroom also sufficient and large including neat and clean. 24 Hrs. Hot water service. Botanical Garden just in walking distance from the Hotel.

Room Tip: Don't take basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshimMitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed there for a couple of days. We checked out many hotels before we settled for this one. We took the honeymoon suite and it was great. The service was also good. The price is decent and the food's tasty. Breakfast was complimentary. It is located in the main area of Ooty just close to the botanical garden so commuting to different places was easy for us.
The rooms were clean and the bathroom was also clean.

Cons:
They say there is 24 hr hot water service, but it is not so. You have to call them to turn on the hot water if you want to take a hot bath in the evening. Hot water is available in the morning without any issues.

Lunch and dinner is a bit expensive. So we ate at Nahari.

The time we went to Ooty was when Nilam cyclone had just blown over and it was pretty cold. Though my hubby was able to manage it, I wasn't. So we asked for the room heater which was charged extra at Rs 400 per day. It says so on their pamphlet and they also confirmed the same in the morning. But the moment they realized that I couldn't do without it, they told us that the price was actually Rs 800 per day. We were being robbed blindly.

Other than all this, it is a fine hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that have carpet on them rather than tiled ones. The floors are very cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chn_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.3 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.7 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#13 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.5 mi away
Astoria Residency
Astoria Residency
#12 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blue Hills International
1.3 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#16 of 78 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponmari Residencyy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponmari Residencyy

Property: Ponmari Residencyy
Address: 26 D, Kotagiri Road | Charring Cross, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ponmari Residencyy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ponmari Residencyy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponmari Residencyy India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing