We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent stay, but could be better.”
Review of Ponmari Residencyy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ponmari Residencyy
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A decent stay, but could be better.”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The hotel is located about 5-10 minutes' walk from the main junction of charring cross. While this makes it a rather peaceful spot, it also means that you had to walk some distance before hitting the shops and restaurants. During the time we were there, the weather turned rather nasty and as a result, we were more or less stuck in the hotel and had to eat our meals there. The restaurant fare is rather spicy for me (and I like spicy food!) and there was a lack of western dishes, but the one thing that bugged me was the fact that the tablecloths were stained and dirty, which really puts me off from eating.

The rooms are of a good size, and they are well cleaned each day. There is no central heating, although they were kind enough to give us extra blankets when it got freezing cold. Hot water was available throughout the day and there were lots of TV channels available.

The travel desk charged us 1200 rupees for a driver to bring us on a day tour, but the driver didn't really bother to engage in conversation and we were just driven from point A to point B. They also got the toy train timing wrong, which made us waste an afternoon, and we ended up returning to the hotel early because the driver didn't have any ideas as to what we could do. The next day, we went on our own and slowly figured out how to use the local bus service, which turned out to be a much cheaper option and a more authentic experience. We didn't speak the local language, and got by in English and some Hindi.

We spent 1650 rupees per night for a double room, with complimentary breakfast. Do check your bill carefully though: they included a breakfast charge upon checkout and we had to alert them of our free breakfast deal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    130
    45
    19
    16
See reviews for
157
100
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I was a little suspicious about how the hotel and the rooms will be and to our surprise the hotel turned out to be pretty decent. Rooms are spacious and well equipped. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed here for 2 nights and it was a good experience. The hotel has a nice restaurant offering some tasty options. We were actually planning to get food from outside and thought of trying the restaurant once and were pleasantly surprised. However, the restaurant staff can be more polite and polished in the way they communicate with the customer. Overall it is a great place to stay in Ooty.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sridharbathula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Hotel location was good. view of the ooty garden is excellent.food was good and one thing needs to be improved is the speedy welcome at reception.
Service was upto the mark.
Guidance taken to visit key places in ooty and coonor.
Will return to stay again here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shubhashish77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

The hotel room was good, they charged 3K per day. The bed, bathrooms were clean.
The room service is good...
BUT, food is pathetic...but prices are equivalent to that of Bangalore.
The receptionists...are JUST RUDE....
They say that it is a 3 star rated hotel...but the receptionists are behaving like "not civilized"...you can imagine...like a third class lodge receptionists...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nomad_Naadodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punjab
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Hotel is good, near to market, reasonable price, good food and sight seeing palces are also near to it.

Rooms are clean and big. Bathrooms are clean and well maintained. Worth for the cost they are charging.

Rooms service is little bit slow but food is good. Staff is also accomodating.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2010

The staff were consistently unfriendly and unwelcoming - never offering so much as a smile, greeting, or asking how we were or if we needed anything. We stayed 2 days and housekeeping never came to clean our room despite repeated requests. Room service phoned both nights (the first after 9pm) pushy and insisting we needed to order food. We had to find 7 different ways to say "no". Our room on the basement floor was awfully noisy with the hotel staff shouting up and down the halls at one another starting as early as 5:30 am. The room has plumbing problems with a leaky sink soaking the bathroom floor. I fixed the ever-running toilet myself. And the bathroom paint was literally peeling off the walls. Lousy value. Lousy expereince.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Ponmari Residency is one of the good hotel in ooty. which i went 2 weeks back. I spent 2 nights 2 days in Ooty . Good places and Good Rooms. However, since other places were booked to its capacity hence I decided to go for it. I booked the Royal Family Room with Good rate / day and the rooms were very decorated Also the Rooms are well furnished, Water is good and Very Taste food in Restaurant, Good Room Service, Safety Car Parking and very help full in Travel Desk and Everything was Good and clean.

Just a walkable distance from Charring Cross, Local shopping Places and Botanical Garden.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sathiya_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#17 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
782 reviews
0.5 mi away
Astoria Residency
Astoria Residency
#13 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
#50 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
173 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Surya Village
The Surya Village
#19 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Hills International
Blue Hills International
#30 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponmari Residencyy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponmari Residencyy

Property: Ponmari Residencyy
Address: 26 D | Charring Cross, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ponmari Residencyy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Ooty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Ponmari Residencyy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponmari Residencyy India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing