We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Hill Nature Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I was here with my wife and my parents. This place is located about 20 kms from Ooty, which is both the advantage and disadvantage of this place.
Vijay and his wife who own this place stay in this property are extremely warm hosts. The food - vegetarian and non vegetarian is great and the cooks try to accommodate the requests (if made well in advance).
The place is pristine and beautiful, located on the slopes with tea plantations.
We went down to the lake and then hiked through the forests. Vijay was kind enough to provide a guide for this.
Will definitely come back again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cm_yyz1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    32
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
62
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were on a day trip to Red Hills from conoor and the drive was beautiful with amazing views along the way. We pre-ordered lunch as they don't take guests at last minute and we had an excellent home cooked lunch. The views were totally amazing and there are places to treks all around. Its away from the hustle and bustle of ooty and a great place to put up your feet and relax!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2014

It has a breathtaking view and awesome hospitality. If you are looking for a romantic honeymoon or you want to unwind yourself from the commotions of daily life.. this is the best place to be.

There are no shops around and no comercial places around. Its just yourself and the nature.

The food was very good and the service was also very good. They take us for trekking and the guide is so supportive that eventhough it was my first time to trek I felt so comfortable.

If you can afford it.. then please dont miss this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayasuresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were on a day trip to Red Hills ,since we had run out of options on places to visit in / around Ooty.The place is just great.Cannot comment on the rooms as we didnt stay overnight.The scenary and the view from the property is excellent.

Kept us fully occupied with options of trekking and sight seeing. Since we were not too fussy about the food we were ok . Nice clean and tasty food.

While at Red Hills take in the nature and the views and it will keep u going for sometime.

Recommend for people visiting Ooty and have a day to spare. Dist approx 20-25km from Ooty

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BreaktheRoutine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a quaint, cozy place tucked away in one of the most beautiful nooks of Ooty providing one vantage views of the emerald lake and the valleys beyond. The service is perhaps not the very best (our hot water facility hardly worked!), but given its location and operating model, it would be very unfair to compare this place to a Star hotel/resort which it never claims to be one in the first place. One of the few reasons it deserves 4 stars is due to its owner Vijay Kumar, and the sincere efforts of his dedicated staff who do their best within their means to make your stay comfortable and help you with the little trips/treks around.

Room Tip: The lake facing rooms situated on the upper most hillock are the best in terms of the room size and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisydoo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The place and ambience is the best part of this resort.
Positives:
1.The place and the ambience
2.Good staff to support
3.Good food with most of the vegetables grown in there own backyard
4.Two naughty dogs where you can spend a lot of time with
5.Trekking the Red hills and visiting the emerald lake waterfalls

Negatives:
1.Cost factor,Found it costly

Room Tip: Try to select the room which faces the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HariomSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Hi all

do not choose this place,Service is really bad ,food is very average and cannot ask for option,even a coffe was denied on my trip,since its not in their menu,i paid 7.5 k per day just for stay and food.(Drinks seperate charges,safari seperate charges,pick up drop seperate charges) intercoms are not available,there is no room service ,Rooms are very average but clean i can say,
Amazing location only i can say
i spoilt my holiday wasting time however second day i shifted to a diff hotel rather,only awesome location dosent matter unless complimented by good food and service

Owner (Host) is a money minded person and dosent really care about making your stay pleasant

Room Tip: Except loaction nothing is really good, pls avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suresh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
10.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,015 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,195 reviews
8.3 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#15 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
511 reviews
9.1 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
791 reviews
1.3 mi away
Destiny Farmstay
Destiny Farmstay
#1 of 202 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Hill Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Hill Nature Resort

Property: Red Hill Nature Resort
Address: Emerald | Tamil Nadu, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643209, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Red Hill Nature Resort India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing