We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly location, great place to unwind”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Hill Nature Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This is probably the only resort in that area. Its a romantic and relaxing hideaway just off ooty and the lake views here are simply stunning. The food is okie dokie stuff. There is a lovely temple inside the property too which we found as the cutest temple so far we visited. The nearby hills provide a great opportunity for trekking and the hosts even offer a 4 wheeler jeep drive on request. Apart from that, one could trek to the nearby lakes through the potato and carrot farms. The lake is so pristine and the place is heavenly. The rooms are of colonial style and not modern enough. They have a rustic look and a nice fireplace. The bathrooms could do better with some refurbishment. The place can be reached by a taxi drive from ooty offered by the hosts or you could even take the local bus till emerald and then ask the resort folks to pick you up.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bharathdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 131 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

Pros - Great location. Perfect for folks who want to get away from city life, hussle bussle. Calm,quite,beautiful. Great food and service. We stayed in top two rooms [new ones] and they have more privacy and great view. Must things to do - Trekking to peak of red hill mountain [4th highest peak in the district] and evening safari with sunset point to nearby forest. This place is the last human habitation and then follows the wild jungle. Make sure to carry sun tan lotion and mositurizer as the sun heat is pricky. Mr Vinod and his wife were great host and took care of us from every aspect. Amazing food even though the resort was not occupied to it's capacity. Loved playing with there german shepard "Mobi". Overall excellent experience!!

Cons - Little uphill ride to get the resort. 4X4 is recommended.

Room Tip: Top two rooms have got amazing view and privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Praful R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful location in India. We were there for a short two day trip. The moment we reached the place we were the awed by the beauty of nature. The rooms were a nice big and comfortable with its own fireplace. There was 24 hrs supply of hot water. The dinning room was beautiful. The food was simple and delicious. The owners even kept our request of eating continental food. Overall a wonderful place and experience. The owners were very warm and very hospitable. Will go back if i get another chance.

Room Tip: If you are driving down please do so in a SUV or MUV otherwise drive upto Ooty and ask them to pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Deep M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

If there is one reason, you should visit this place for it's absolutely stunning location. Situated around 26kms from ooty town, this place is accessible only by suv/muv.if you have a car, the hosts have a place in ooty where u can park your car and they make arrangements to pick you up. Please ensure that you book only the lake facing rooms. Two newly built rooms on the top are secluded from the main building and are very large. There are a total of ten rooms in this place, the hosts are helpful to the fullest.delicious Food is monitored by the lady of the house. The resort is closed for four months a year because it is practically inaccessible during monsoon. Prices were around six grand all meals inclusive per couple with 2kids below five. Activities include a 2 hour absolute must trek to the hillock behind the resort, fishing to the nearby lake, a drive to the nearby native tribal village, a visit to the only trout fish breeding centre in this part of the world. All activities are an absolute must for all who visit this place. Only sour sight was the absolute commercialization of the nilgiris where we never seem to get rid of civilization. But, once you get to the resort, it's an absolutely different world altogether.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikramreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Red Hills is a homestay perched over a hillside on a tea plantation, overlooking a reservoir, around an hour's drive from Ooty. It is an isolated location but with splendid scenery. The road to the home stay was a challenge, since it was raining and was muddy. The route from Ooty is not yet marked on any maps and you would need to ask the resort to send a driver to guide you there.

I had visited Red Hills in May 2011 along with my family. The booking was arranged by Hammock Holidays, Bangalore, since the homestay did not respond to my email requests. However Hammock was quick and here I was on the way to Red Hills.

I was given a cottage with two bed rooms in the front of the resort. They have very nice garden in front of the resort with roses in full bloom. The bed rooms had large windows which overlooked the garden and we could see the reservoir from the bed itself. The rooms had fire places and they would light a fire in the room if it is too cold. It was an experience for the kids to keep the fire going and the fire light while going to sleep was a new experience. The rooms did not have TV but I did not feel it was required in this kind of a place.

Their cuisine is based on the vegetables that they grow in the kitchen garden. The vegetarian spread was very tasty due to the garden fresh vegetables. I also saw fish in the table. The breakfast was also sumptuous. They even made oil less dishes only for one member of our group who was a heart patient. The dining room was a large wooden floored room with a fire place and TV. They have a good collection of books and some indoor games also in the dining room so that you can keep yourself occupied while waiting for the food.

There are some cycles in the homestay which you can cycle around the place. But please bear in mind the terrain is so hilly and the roads rocky that you need to be a hardcore cyclist to enjoy long rides there. They do put put a bon-fire in the night and it was great to sit under the starlit sky with a fire in front of you.

Room Tip: Choose the cottage on the left side of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShyamSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Red Hills Nature Resort is simply a paradise; in our week long tour luckily this came perfectly in the middle of the tour and made us completely rejuvenated and energized. The only downside I can think of is ... you start comparing & expecting every other resort/hotel to be like this one.

Mr.Vijay our honorable host and owner of the resort has converted his family bungalow to a picturesque resort. The place gives a great home stay experience with splendid view of the Red Hill valley and the Emerald lake, a wonderful landscaped garden and lawn to unwind accompanied with the best mannered mate (Mr. Vijay's pet German Shepherd). And bon appétit to fresh and excellent food from the chief chef Mrs. Vijay herself.

The resort has ten very beautiful, comfortable and cozy rooms with fire places and excellent beds. I personally preferred the ones in the front as they faced the lake and you can have a mesmerizing view early morning. There is a well laid out dinning hall with a warm and well equipped bar.

The USP of the place lies in the uniqueness of our host who were always taking extra effort to make sure we were at best of our comfort. The place is very sparsely populated and you can see miles and miles of natural beauty and greenery. Once you reach the resort you will hardly feel like venturing out of the resort, though there is a nice walk you can take down the valley to the lake. Ooty is 27kms from the resort and the road is a little daunting.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amukhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Red hills nature resort is now quite a known name in the weekend near-Ooty-but-away-from-Ooty travel circuit. The front two rooms of the property have amazing views. The lakes near the area are pristine and isolated top the extent that you will not believe that hordes of travellers have not yet discovered it. I hope it stays so. The place is pure and unpolluted and cannot support mass tourism. The food, including the non-vegetarian fare (that also has the occasional fish on the menu) was excellent when we had gone, so I can't say for the apparent bad experience of a few others on this forum. Please note that all rooms are charged the same rate but it is only the front two ones which have the views and are actually worth more than the money you pay for them. Yes, all activities are charged extra, as they should be, unlike some other people on this forum who have been cribbing about that. The nearby lakes should be visited (most will need a car) and there is a small trek to the top of the hill at the back that should also be done. Yes, hot water could be a slight issue, but you can't ask for running hot water in a place like this at any time of the day. It is time that some maintenance be also carried out to the units. Despite these small issues, overall, Red Hills is an excellent place, wonderful views, great isolation.

Room Tip: Only the 2 front rooms have the commanding views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coomar160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
10.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,044 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,210 reviews
8.3 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#4 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
531 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#16 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
812 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sherlock Hotel
Sherlock Hotel
#7 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Hill Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Hill Nature Resort

Address: Emerald | Tamil Nadu, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643209, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $167 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Red Hill Nature Resort India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing