We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth for your Money !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Welbeck Residency
Bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth for your Money !!”
Reviewed June 3, 2010

It was two days trip to Ooty. We took KSRTC Volvo bus from Bangalore which dropped us early morning 5AM at Ooty Bus Stand. We hired an auto to Welbeck Residency, which took Rs 30 to drop us to hotel, which is unfortunately the minimum amount for autos in Ooty.

All in all, it was the hotel and its staff, which made our stay pleasant. Every person starting from the Guard to Sheff, Manager, everybody is so nice that you feel like you are the king of some empire. Manager made us pay only Rs 500 for the taxi taken for first day at the check out. The masala tea with ginger is awesome. Rooms are spacious, bedsheets were clean. Warm water available from 7:30 - 9am everyday. The breakfast is inclusive in package. The dining hall is also decorated with antique items. The table cloth were spotless and breakfast is also good with little less variety.
The Hotel is worth for money you spend. The location is perfect, 1 km from Bus Stand and Railway Station(both are nearby), 2 km from the market, Charring Circle(Botonical Garden 0.5 km ahead from Charring Circle), 1.5 km km from the Ooty Lake. So you can cover some of the view points within Ooty by walk.

Read below, if you want to make most out of the trip to Ooty.

Though, We had booked already booked the hotel online, there were no rooms available when we reached hotel, so we had to wait for around 1.5 hours, when luckily for us, one couple checked out early from the hotel at 7AM. Within half an hour, the room was prepared for us and we moved into it. expect waiting for 2 hours, we didn't had any bad experience with the hotel.
The Hotel is worth for money you spend. The location is perfect, 1 km from Bus Stand and Railway Station(both are nearby), 2 km from the market, Charring Circle(Botonical Garden 0.5 km ahead from Charring Circle), 1.5 km km from the Ooty Lake. So you can cover some of the view points within Ooty by walk. For others I would ask you to take autos or use the local bus service, which is extremely convenient. No need to spend extra money for Ooty Site seeing.
The first day we decided to cover Coonor and Ooty by Cab. We asked Hotel Travel Desk to arrange one. But we started late so, we missed the charm of taking the toy train which leaves from Ooty at 9:15am. So get ready much before if planning to take toy train(atleast 1 hour before reach station to buy tickets). We went to Coonor first. You can see some of the sites of Ooty too while going(Wax Emporium and Valley view). We had a bad experience with the Cab person, as he was not showing the places properly. So we called back at the hotel and complained about it. They asked to visit Coonor and then come back without paying anything to that person. After the complaint we decided to exclude Ooty and see Coonor only as we had already lost mot of the time. After driver's complaint and our decision, the driver showed us the places really well. you can see a Tea Factory, 2 dolphin noses, Catherine falls and Wall fall. Within two sites you will find all the other site viewing items listed in their pamphlet. If at all you miss the train in morning, then you can catch it again from Coonor at 4:15PM to Ooty.
Next day, we went to Mudumali Forest and 7th mile, 9th mile and Pyakara Dam. The trip will not be worth if you take private Cab for that. They charge 1700, instead book seats in Common tour in a small bus(20 seater). The agent is just next to hotel. (Rs 200/person).
We found two other couples, with whom our trip became really enjoyable. You will spent most of the time travelling, so any other company make travel comfortable and full of mast. 7th mile and 9th mile are really nice view points. But mudumalai, if your lucky you can see animals, But forest safari is not worth. Instead spend one day in Bandipur Resort, near to mudumali in Karnata. We saw a 15 days old elephant baby in Elephant feeding Center, which was very sweet. The trip will really exhaust you as it ends at 5PM. Those bus will drop you back to hotel. From there, we walked to Botonical Garden and Charring Circle.
Next morning 8am, we walked to lake(20 min). It was a good walk and after spending 1 hour, we returned to hotel taking local transport(bus), as we had our bus back to Bangalore at 11AM.

All in all, it was the hotel and its staff, which made our stay pleasant. Every person starting from the Guard to Sheff, Manager, everybody is so nice that you feel like you are the king of some empire. Manager made us pay only Rs 500 for the taxi taken for first day at the check out. The masala tea with ginger is awesome. Rooms are spacious, bedsheets were clean. Warm water available from 7:30 - 9am everyday. The breakfast is inclusive in package. The dining hall is also decorated with antique items. The table cloth were spotless and breakfast is also good with little less variety.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shekharpreity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    49
    26
    16
    16
See reviews for
71
54
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baroda
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

ADVANTAGES:1) LOCATION IN CENTRE OF CITY
DISADVANTAGES:
1) No swimming pool
2) No bathtubs in thebathroom in rooms
3) Hot water in rooms available only for limited hours and on request
4) No bar
5) No safety vault in rooms
6) Smaller rooms, poor room service even you need to request for towels
No body picks up the phone in housekeeping at number 400
7) No gym/healthcentre/Massage/children park

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doconcall_74in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels

Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

This hotel is close to railway station and bus stand. So easy to commute across as you get autos always. Value for money hotel with friendly service.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travel-man-007007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for couple of days while i visited ooty for short vacation. Well i will say this hotel to be budget hotel. As per the price offered hotel was good. It is around 3 km from ooty bus stand, i can say it was bit outskirts of ooty. Nice entrance, lobby, cleanliness was maintained. Well behaviour staff the travel desk guy was good helped us book all our travel in ooty. Hotel is on the road so bit noisy at nights. Didnt try food in hotel cannot comment on that

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biswaranjanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Hotel Welbeck is located at a little busy junction, but the rooms are very cozy and comfortable. Personally, I would say rooms is a big plus for this hotel. The hotel has a good restaurant and nice interior decoration. One can have a nice view from terrace. However, the terrace is not well maintained, as it is not meant for visitors :) Breakfast is mostly included in the package. Food is also good, I would say above average.

We reached hotel at around 5 in morning, while the check-in time was 9:00. Still the check-in was quick and smooth.

The hotel has a few good shops and restaurants in close proximity. One tea stall on the corner needs a special mentioning. In fact, the hotel has its own shop inside, selling Ooty herbs and dry fruits, that too at nominal rates.

Probably Ooty is the only hill station, where autorikshaw are allowed, so one need not book a cab for sight-seeing. There is an one auto stand, just next to hotel, where you can get the an auto for any place in Ooty.

I felt service to be a little slow. Bit, I personally would recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hi_its_ashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

I would go about this hotel's review in terms of listing its positive and negative points:

Positives:
1. It is a new property so rooms, bathrooms, lobby etc all look good (new like). They are being maintained well.
2. It is about 1.5 Kms from city center and about 1 km from railway station from where the famous Ooty toy train starts. All major tourist points are close by.
3. Staff is nice.

Negatives:
1. It is close to highway, so there is vehicle noise at times.
2. There is some place close by where they ring loud alarm every morning at 6 am. It gets quite irritating at times.
3. No bar and restaurant food was average.

  • Liked — Nice property
  • Disliked — Noise from outside
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vishal_Bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Really – the Hotel Welbeck, Ooty, is a bit of a find. It is a great place to stay in this most interesting town.

I stayed here at the end of August, and was a great experience. The hotel looks a bit modern and ‘run of the mill’ on the outside but when you enter it has considerable atmosphere and traditional charm.

On arrival you are welcomed in a beautiful high-ceiling marble-floored foyer. The check-in is speedy and smooth.

The staff are welcoming and the atmosphere excellent. Most of the staff seem to come from West Bengal or Nepal – they are truly service orientated and will look after you splendidly and are most interested in your welfare. It really is a pleasure to stay here.

The dining room for breakfast (which is included in the tariff) is a lovely sun-filled room and the fit-out of teak wood paneling is beautiful and adds to the atmosphere of the hotel. The food and service in the dining room is 1st class.

Accommodating is excellent, the rooms are clean, of good size with the bedding and linen spotless. The bathrooms large and well lit, but why Indian bathrooms have to have such shiny (and slippery) tiles on the floor is difficult to understand. They are a danger to life and limb, so be warned and tread carefully (as in any hotel) to avoid accidents - Indian bathrooms never seem to have a separate shower recess so the floor is always awash with water, Ug!

I had a bedroom at the back of the hotel with an ‘ordinary view’ onto a back street. The room at the front I am sure, have splendid views over the surrounding city with a corresponding price to match. However I was very happy to be staying at the ‘Welbeck’ and as I was out all day, having fun, not having a view was of no concern to me.

Ooty is a great place to visit for a few days but you do need a car and driver – like most Indian towns it is spread out and difficult to understand where you are – however the atmosphere of the hills is great and the National Park (down a very steep road some 2 hours away) is well worth a visit. Drives around the lake and surrounding countryside are lovely.

A real “must” is to take the ‘toy’ train (Diesel and then an ‘antique’ 18th century steam engine down the hill for 27 Rupees - yes a little less that $1.00 for a 4-hour journey. It is a magical journey and if you start early I think you could easily go down and up in the day…the railway station is most helpful and the staff there speak good understandable English but parking there is 10 Rupees each time, making the train journey look really cheap – as the ticket officer said, “Sir, Indian Railways will never make money”

I found the Hotel Welbeck Residence perfect. I would certainally go and stay there again and I think that the management and staff are trying really hard to ensure the their guests are well looked after. I think that the hotel has not been open long, but it seemed to be running very smoothly. The hotel is a credit to the management team in place.

It is certainally one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed at in India over many years and it is a hotel that deserves success. I have considerable experience in the management of small hotels and I must say that this hotel sets a very high standard for service and hospitality, which is unfortunately difficult to find in the Australia of to day.

Mike – Australia.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YakkaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
768 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astoria Residency
Astoria Residency
#12 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Monarch Hotel
The Monarch Hotel
#41 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Willow Hill
The Willow Hill
#18 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
155 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kluney Manor
Kluney Manor
#35 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
201 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Surya Village
The Surya Village
#19 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Welbeck Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Welbeck Residency

Property: Hotel Welbeck Residency
Address: Welbeck Circle, | Club Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 83 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Welbeck Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Welbeck Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Welbeck Residency India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing