We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Welbeck Residency
Ranked #34 of 79 Hotels in Ooty
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed there for 2n/3d in march 2012. Overall it was very satisfactory stay. Am happy with room , ambiance, cleanliness , staff behavior and food. The breakfast served was excellent.
I found it worthy 'coz the hotel is situated in city center , a walk able distance from railway and bus station..
I must mention the interiors are very classy and with antique taste, Although I had small problem during stay where staff failed to fix a plumbing issue in bathroom saying no plumber available in weekends !! Neither they could transfer me to another room because of full occupancy; but still I'ld recommend this hotel for another stay in future..

I felt the rates were bit high , and it should have ranged from 1500 onwards ..but anyways, it was a happy stay overall..

Room Tip: View from our room was not good and was facing some one's house.. One should prefer road facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank B N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    48
    26
    14
    16
See reviews for
66
51
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel in the month of Feburary. The stay was very good the service was excellent & the rooms are very clean. They provided complimentary break fast it is really very good.

Room Tip: Second floor the super deluxe room has a very good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Shalini A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Although many aspects of the Welbeck were ok, overall it is not what I consider good value. Wifi is only in the lobby, my room was freezing (deluxe, at the bottom end of their scale) and there was no heating. The staff had some antipathy to accepting credit cards and wanted me to pay cash. When I said no credit card, because I had made sure credit card was acceptable on arriving they added an additional charge which they had not mentioned before. The rooms are large and clean and the ensuites are ok. The restaurant is a little pricey. Like my overall experience of Ooty, I didn't thnk it offered that much

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Selggad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed for 3N4D and were fully satisfied with the hospitality of the staff,good food .Room was big and spacious and clean ,quite comfortable .Located centrally ,closeby to main market and few tourist spots.Overall a good stay :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SamarjitT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Welbeck residency - one of the better places to stay at in Ooty. Clean rooms and toilets, friendly staff and a fairly substantial complimentary breakfast buffet. A biryani restaurant opposite..and just round the corner are grocery stores, a kebab centre and a petrol bunk. The hotel also has an attached bar. At a starting price of Rs2100, a very good option especially for families.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DiyaFernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Avoid staying in this hotel,worst service,not worthy.Hot water is not provided,no electricity is provided even though generator is available.Not recommended at all.no indian food available.
Not at all good








  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank areddy2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Having viewed 2 other budget category guesthouses in Ooty this hotel was a welcome step up.

However, value for money wise I think this hotel is overpriced, especially considering there is no costly ac involved. Overall we had a good stay but lots of little things let the hotel down; our bathroom window was broken and so it was much colder than it should have been. The shower curtain was black with mould & therefore smelly. We had to request towels on the 2 separate days we stayed and it took 2x phone calls and over an hour on the 2nd occasion to actually get them. The bed was big but the sheets didn't fit so you were often lying on exposed mattress or had sheets wrapped around your neck – very uncomfortable – especially considering it was cold! The sheets themselves were a tad suspect & could have done with replacing. Our window was easily opened when in the 'lock' mode, not such an issue on the 2nd floor and we did feel safe here. As the hotel is located at a busy junction there is a bit of road noise during the day but it’s perfectly silent at night.

We were rudely awoken at 6.50am one morning by an extended Indian family that seemed to have the rest of the rooms on our floor. In the process of vacating their rooms they made an unnecessary amount of noise; there were children screaming & running up and down the hall, parents shouting & banging luggage around, doors slamming. I’m aware this is not the direct fault of the hotel but perhaps an enhanced ‘respect for other guests’ policy should be encouraged. We also suffered from noise issues that evening with guest making lots of noise in the halls.

Breakfast included was fine, the morning staff do tend to hover over your shoulder when it's a buffet - self service! Staff in general were very pleasant and accommodating. Free wifi worked well from our room with no major issues.

Room Tip: Not room 206 - too much kitchen noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LulaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
0.5 mi away
The Monarch Hotel
The Monarch Hotel
#40 of 79 in Ooty
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 79 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
1.6 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
0.4 mi away
Astoria Residency
Astoria Residency
#12 of 79 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Welbeck Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Welbeck Residency

Property: Hotel Welbeck Residency
Address: Welbeck Circle, | Club Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 79 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Welbeck Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Welbeck Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Welbeck Residency India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing