We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sapphire Grand
Reviewed October 20, 2013

It was good.. and really one of the best resort to stay at Ooty..!!
Hospitality was good.. and their trip arrangement was too good..!! with reasonable rates..!!
Food was the main highlight of the hotel.. they were cheap and as well as too good..!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HariPrashath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sapphire Grand
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 160 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel as well as the restaurent was too good.
The have a very good hospitality. I have never written a review as if now, but their response induce myself to write a review.
I recommend this hotel 100%
Its not too big but good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Vyshak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I was bit skeptical before booking this hotel by seeing some mixed reviews on tripadvisor. However, I just booked this hotel by seeing tripadvisor award. It truly deserves this award.
For:
Pick up & drop from hotel,
Good breakfast, Prices of food is nominal.
Hotel facilities will arrange local sight seeing with minimal charges
They provided room to get fresh up even after checking out.
Above all, Hotel Manager Mr Kannan will be always around checking guests needs, Hard to see this kind of service

Against:
Keeping Ooty climate in mind, Hot water facility in the hotel should be improved. Geasers are not sufficient. On request they did provide two buckets of hot water & heating rod as well. Also, Surroundings should be bit more clean

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NMR_023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We arrived at Ooty bus stop and they picked us. The room was spacious and good looking. Hot water facility is available. However, a room heater was provided at a nominal rate. The food in the restaurant was also tasty. They arrange Ooty and Coonor trips at cheap prices. The room service provided was very fast each time it was demanded. They allowed us to stay even 6 more hours beyond the check out time with any additional charge. It is a very nice hotel keeping all factors in consideration.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Satya Prasanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was booked for 2 nights but they charged breakfast for first day and last day also, the hotel people are not sharing charges for theire service...on the last day of my tour i was paid 2 times more than hotel actual charge. Waste of money...with this same amount we will get good hotel....Food is worst and very importante they can't even provided hot water...instead of they gave one heater which is outdate will not get heat on bucket in 3 hrs...wast of money.........

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Srinivasa Reddy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I reached hotel by 3 pm on 31 aug sat. We booked a superior room. When we entered the room it was with damp and some smell. For the whole room there were only two light. TV was remote was given on demand. Bath room door lock were not good, window is bath room was too big.. Food was great, nice food. Quality of milk was not good in Coffee and tea. But after our request they have added good amount of of milk in tea. staff members was very helpful.

Room Tip: dont go for superior room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanishkar_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

After much of deliberation, we booked in for "Deluxe Room" at Hotel Sapphire grand. Reached ooty at 9:00 am wherein hotel car was there to pick us up. The first look of the hotel was not that impressive as they are coming up with new block and some rennovation work was going on. The small garden infront of the hotel was in mayhem.

Though the hotel standard check in time is 12:00 noon but they were considerate enough to get us accomodated by 9:30 am and was told that once our room is ready which was supposed to be vacant by 1:00 pm , we will be moved in . We were shifted in "Luxury Room" which is considered to be the best among the lot, but to our dissappointment, even though the room was big, the pros end there. It was way too damp with a certain smell as if it has been locked for quite long. The carpet was torned and the furnitures were looking dusty and dirty. TV was not working and even couple of switches were damaged.

We finally moved in our room at around 2:00 pm and it was definetley a relief. Even though the room was smaller in size, it looked comprativeley fresh. Though the dampness issue was still there as you can clearly see big patches on the wall (a painting was put on it in an attempt to cover the damp wall, i believe, though with not much of success) the room was well lit with better view. However, the toilet was again a disaapointment as the comod seat was broken and even though after our complaint, hotel did try to fix it up but in vain. For the next two days, we were left with no other choice but to manage with the same.

After all these not so good experiences,we still can't say that our stay was not comfortable as the staff and their prompt service made up for it ,atleast upto a certain level. Mr. Robert at the reception was really very helpful along with other staff members. The food was good and the breakfast spread although limited, was delicious. The proximity to market is another advantage point for this hotel as the main market, charring cross as well as the botanical garden falls within 1-1.5 kms range, well within your reach

My feedback to the hotel managment, please work on improving the basic infrastructure and amenities at your hotel. With a staff team like yours , I am sure that you can scale up and be one of the best in the industry. To my fellow travellers, if service within a budget is what you are aspiring for, this is one hotel to look out. Maybe in coming days, with the rennovation going on, they will prove to be worth on their infra aspect as well.

Room Tip: Look out for "Deluxe" Rooms at 1st floor
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VishalBaibhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Preethi Classic Towers
Hotel Preethi Classic Towers
#60 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
101 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ponmari Residencyy
Ponmari Residencyy
#24 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Green Apple Residence
Hotel Green Apple Residence
#28 of 159 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fortune Retreats Resorts - Ooty
Fortune Retreats Resorts - Ooty
#22 of 159 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
106 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Majestic Crown
The Majestic Crown
#27 of 159 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sri Balaji
Hotel Sri Balaji
#13 of 208 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sapphire Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire Grand

Address: Behind ICICI Bank | Near Union Church, Ooty - 643 001, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $22 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sapphire Grand 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sapphire Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sapphire Grand India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing