We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable & Homely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sapphire Grand
Ranked #28 of 134 Ooty B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Homely Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and found the place to be very comfortable and homely. The food quality was very good and the service was excellent. Definitely value for money. The hotel is located right in the centre of the city but tucked away enough so that none of the traffic noise filters through. They are in the process of constucting 11 new rooms adjacent to the kids park. Only drawback that we could think off was that there is no scenic view from the hotel, there are buildings all around and car parking space is limited.

Room Tip: Take a room on the first or second floors, avoid the basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kannan666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    61
    24
    12
    21
See reviews for
73
52
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We have booked for a family room through clear trip one month before without any idea how the hotel will be. But we found everything above our expectation. The neat rooms, warm staff, very friendly General Manager, excellent complimentary breakfast, beautiful lawn and play area for kids. They have provided us with everything on just one call without any reluctance. The tour trip arranged by them was nice and smooth. We felt at home in our three days (7th May 2012 till 10th May 2012) stay at Ooty.

By Mr. V. Sundaralingam

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sundaralingam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

The hotel is a walk able distance from the Botanical Gardens and Charring Cross. The approach road to the hotel is not that impressive as it a little interior. The hotel has a lawn with play some play equipment for kids. The staff are warm and friendly.

As we had checked in early morning, we were given a room at the basement and later moved to our room on the 1st floor. The room was average but clean and well kept. The washroom was large and clean. Hot water is not available 24x7. The rooms are a wee bit overpriced but they do make up for it with the loyalty discounts.

Room service was always prompt. The Chinese food is average and the North Indian dishes were good but they excel in South Indian food especially the breakfast. The food quality is much better than the more pricy restaurants at Charring cross. Even if you’re not staying at the hotel, the restaurant is worth a visit especially for breakfast.

Overall it is a wallet friendly hotel for a family with small kids. We had a good time.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 1st floor are the best ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr_Reee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hubli
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

i stayed with my wife for two days rooms were very good clean and tidy staff is very excellent very polite specially breakfast is very good and food is also very good.they arrange all sight seeing facilities very near to bus stand you just call them they will come for pickup or u can reach easily by auotos. overall stay was very comfertable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank ynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

I stayed at the Grand Sapphire on the week on 6th-8th april 2012. Since it was an extended weekend most of the rooms were booked and we had to take the luxury suite. At INR 2300 plus taxes, it is a 4 out of 5( which is good enf i guess). The staff is amiable and will go out of their way to help you make your stay a pleasant one.

The property itself was great..the charring cross market is just five minutes away and you will get anything you need there. However the hotel is tucked in behind a old church and it's so quiet that the only thing you'll hear in the morning is birds chirping.They have a pleasantly maintained garden with birds, ducks and rabbits and lots of play space for kids.

Our room was spacious,clean and well furnished. The day we arrived, the hotel allowed us to check us by 10.30 at no additional cost and ensured that we got warm water to freshen up even though the time for running hot water was up ( most hotels in ooty will give you hot water for specific times during the morning and evening unless you are staying in one of those 5star properties. The luxury suite and super deluxe rooms have bathtubs, washrooms are clean.Hot water is available from 6 to 10.30 in the morning and then again 6 to 10.30 in the eve but the hotel provides you immersion rods just in case u need hot water at some other time. Room service is pretty fast . Our dinner on day 2 was a bit delayed but i guess that was because of the sudden full occupancy.

Food: The breakfast was complimentary and i liked the spread. There is a decent mix of south Indian, puri masala( recommended) and western style toast and eggs to order/cornflakes with hot/cold milk. If you are staying for 2-3 days you can have a different breakfast everyday without not repeating items ( or maybe we didn't feel like pinch cause both me and my fiancee are light eaters). Overall i liked the food. there is variety and its decently prized. We tried the mushroom Manchurian which was great and the chicken pepper fry came with almost 6-7 huge chunks of chicken. Luckily we got a snapdeal voucher which made our dinners complimentary as well. But otherwise it is chargeable. average cost for a meal for two ( dinner)- around 500 without alcohol.

We also got a pick and drop from the local bus stand, a welcome drink and two days of sight seeing as a part of the snapdeal coupon.

I wont be able to comment on the sight seeing part as we decided to not go to the usually jam packed tourist places and went trekking and exploring on our own.

Tip: Some rooms in the basement are not very ideally located so ensure that you ask them to give you a room on the ground or second floor when booking( if possible).
carry your own alcohol as we could not see a single alcohol shop in the neighborhood. Even if there are any, it would be Tamil Nadu government TASMAC shop which are pretty yuck and disgusting.

The staff and Mr. Duraikannan are extremely pleasant and know hospitality well. I will recommend the hotel if you want a decent place to stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms in the basement are not very ideally located so ensure that you ask them to give you a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank riyaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed last September, in this hotel over all good experience .
Staffs , specially MD . Mr. Duraikanan was very gentle and polite. I liked that person very much.
Our Rooms were quite big enough , they accomodated an extra bed (with extra charge off course ), but that didnt cause lack of space in our room .

Only one problem I faced , room was little damped , we used room fresher to remove the bad odor.

Overall More than average experience .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nilsoft_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haridwar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

i have booked the hotel through makemytrip.com in the month of september , the weather was pleasant & there was drizzling rain all over the city.they have booked the room in the basement but we insisted and got the room at the first floor ,the room was good , you can't except greenary or scenary outside the hotel because it is located in the heatr of city , but the main thing i want to tell was the food ,the price of the items was exceptionally high & the food quality was horrible , every time after taking food it seems we might puke . the staffs was supporting , overall we can say that this stay at ooty was not very pleasant to us.

Room Tip: dont take the rooms in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiwarsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.4 mi away
Blue Hills International
0.5 mi away
FabHotel Khems Ooty
FabHotel Khems Ooty
#34 of 78 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#13 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ponmari Residencyy
Ponmari Residencyy
#22 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.2 mi away
Haveli Atithi Bhavan
Haveli Atithi Bhavan
#20 of 134 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Flora Amberley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sapphire Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sapphire Grand

Property: Hotel Sapphire Grand
Address: Behind ICICI Bank | Near Union Church, Ooty - 643 001, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sapphire Grand 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sapphire Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sapphire Grand India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing