We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were 'destined' to be here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Destiny Farmstay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Destiny Farmstay
Ranked #1 of 180 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We were 'destined' to be here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This was our second trip to Destiny and I chose to write a review the second time around because I simply feel I could come down for the third! Three of us learnt how to spend time 'not doing anything' and yet look at our watch and realise its time to head indoors. There is no TV, Newspaper, AC or the pool and trust me youll not miss any of those!. The farm animals, the activities, the beautiful lake and the picnic (a chargeable activity) does the trick.

Just go there to get out of the hussle and relax..and yes dont miss the Karaoke sessions and the bonfire, the treks and if you are lucky you could take home a 'horse shoe'!

The food is excellent and so is the service (a little steep but the taste makes up for it). The GM (SK),the restaurant manager, the front office (Sanjay), the activity planner and so on...the list goes on..they are courteous and ever smiling to say the least.

Room Tip: Choose the luxury rooms with the lake view...we liked it better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    171
    56
    8
    6
See reviews for
312
116
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
154 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

The moment we reached this property we knew how truthful the reviews had been about this property. since we were travelling from Delhi we hardly had knowledge about Class Hotels and resorts in and around OOty.
So while surfing the reviews of various properties I came across this amazing property.
the entire process of Check in was very smooth. Senior Staff would land in your cottage immediately and invite you to the cozy Conference cum entertainment room to brief you about the property and activities. Starting from Farm ride to horse ride never to forget trekking around the beautiful landscape. There is fishing activity, karaoke and Horse riding classes too.
The staff are trained at highest standard and are very warm and well behaved. Very rarely you find 100% efficient staff. The food in the restaurant was excellent and one must compliment the chef for excellent quality and taste not too forget the entire restaurant team who are ever vigil to take care of you.
I was little scepticle to try Biryani but I was really surprised as to how well it was cooked that to fresh ob order. ( only advise to the Chef and his team would be to increase the portion of the rise to compliment the Mutton and use bigger bowl to serve)

One must buy spices from the farm reason being you get the quality which you wont get in the cities even if you premium, its trusted high standard products and you are not required to rack your brain to know whether they are good or not.

One may try the spa though we could'nt make it due to time constraint.
Property is spread over 100 acres and one can view the beautiful lake where you can walk down through the property.
It has own dairy and as written earlier by some of the Fans of the property kids can try their hand during milking time spend time with Cows, sheeps and horses...
Evening you have Karaoke followed by bonfire. One can take Tractor ride to distant forest area where the farm has a cottage.
Do carry your own/ personal drinks and other consumables of your taste else you have to travel long distance and being far away from madding crowd you may have limited supply on brands etc..
This is a property which Kids and adult would like hang around to.
Therefore, if in OOty this is a must visit destination with little extra effort and one will have no reason to regret.
Rooms are spacious with living rooms and bathrooms are large. Very well maintained property.
House keeping too was of 5* standard.
The entire team is around you to take care of your smallest need.
Yes roads are bit bumpy but one must appreciate that they are govt property and hope there will be metal roads in near future.
Should be treated as five star property. The team really makes your day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abhijitsengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

It is impossible to shorten my appreciation for the bountiful happiness moments we enjoyed at “Destiny FarmStay”. Our destiny at “Destiny” was well planned. The moment you reach the “Destiny”,the warm smile offered by everyone makes you feel and reassured you are really at home and nothing short.

All rooms have an excellent view to offer.Food is amazing (2 chefs have been recruited recently) and also delivered customized based on your preferences. Food is excellent and very delicious.

Activities are definitely interesting.Place is fantastic. More “FREE” activities would help the guests to keep themselves occupied.Also inspite of readiness for chargeable activities,

Sanjay: The relationship manager genuinely cares for guests. They are expanding big time and bound to have more facilities in 2014.

I WILL DEFINITELY VISIT AGAIN AND RECOMMEND DESTINY WITHOUT ANY DOUBT TO EVERYONE.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanant14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We (my sister, our dog and myself) stayed at Destiny for 2 nights, 3 days in March/April. The weather was splendid at this time - just the perfect level of warmth in the day and cool at night (but manageable with a decent jacket and closed shoes).

Getting there:
We drove from Bangalore - it took us a good 8.5 hours to get there! And you need to drive up 2 sets of ghatts to reach Destiny (as it is 25km from Ooty - above Ooty). And once you get there you need to leave your vehicle in the parking lot from where they take you to the property in an army vehicle - it's another 15 minute veryyy bumpy ride! I guess it's part of the whole experience but we hated it as we were car sick from the long journey there.

Rooms, Service and Food:
We stayed in a Luxury Room which was quite spacious and had a gorgeous view of the valley. Although it was not the view of the lake, it was still amazing especially at sunrise and sunset. We had our own huge deck (shared with the 2 neighbouring Luxury rooms - which was fine since everyone had different schedules so hardly did we run in to other guests) - there was enough privacy.

We only issue we had with the room was that some birds were knocking on the ceiling to create a nest at the top of our roof. Although it was a bit disturbing at night, this is expected when you stay on a farm, in the wilderness, close to nature. There was one point when a cow popped her head into our room window which was sweet, again we didn't mind.

It was quite cold at night and the rooms are not equipped with heaters, they have a fireplace but that burns out fairly quickly leaving you freezing overnight. Maybe you can request them for a floor heater, but we did not think of it at the time. We managed with the extra blankets provided in the room.

Room service was very slow and they often forgot to send us our order but we eventually realized that they were short-staffed for that weekend. Having experience in the hospitality industry, my sister and I understood that these things happen and so we looked over that aspect! The staff were extremely friendly and hospitable which made up for the slow service.

The food was average, I would give it a 3/5. For the price we paid I think they could have arranged for a better breakfast and lunch buffet spread and a bit more gourmet perhaps. Their portion sizes on the a la carte menu were quite large - enough for 2-3 people. They don't serve liquor here so please remember to BYOB if you plan on unwinding with a glass of wine/beer etc.

Activities:
There are a set of activities which are complimentary such as fishing, horse riding, nature walk, carrot picking, bon-fire at night and couple others. We made the most of the nature walk and bon-fire, we were restricted from the other activities since we had our pet with us.

Spa:
I loved my massage at the spa, it was just perfect. Ask for Sujata if you like a less intense massage - more relaxing than painful. FYI the view from the spa building is just spectacular, it makes you want to sit there and stare out the window for hours and hours!

For Pets:
They don't have any other dogs of their own on the property, except some mountain dogs that sneak in from the neighbouring farms. We had a fright when one of those chaps viciously approached us and we thought there was going to be a huge dog fight but we easily shooed the dog away (They do have couple cats on the property, which we were indifferent to - the dog lovers that we are). Our dog enjoyed walking around the property - it was excellent exercise for our dog and she was literally passed out by the end of the day. Remember to carry a sweater/jacket for your dog if you go in the winter as it gets quite cold.

All in all we had a great time and I would rate the experience 3.5/5

Note: For those who are looking for a highly luxurious experience, I don't think this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms away from the main lobby and restaurant area are the best! You have ample privacy and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YDamani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

It is IMPOSSIBLE to shorten my appreciation for the bountiful happiness moments we enjoyed at “Destiny FarmStay”.

Our destiny at “Destiny” was well orchestrated with pre”DETERMINED” course of events ensuring every moment is MOST cherishable to any human visiting it.

The moment you reach the “Destiny”,the warm smile offered by everyone makes you feel and reassured you are really “AT HOME” and nothing short.

You can approach anyone,anytime for anything.NOBODY says “NO”.Everyone makes you feel “AT HOME”.

The room was very good.All rooms have an excellent view to offer.Food is fantastic and also delivered customized based on your preferences.

Food is excellent and very delicious. Activities are interesting.Place is fantastic.

You name it, you get it.I MEAN IT.Hospitality at it’s peak.

Every query,concern,issue,doubt from the guest is listened with utmost empathy and attended positively at the earliest

The exhaust fan in the toilet was’nt running which was a bit annoying after 1 day stay.( not sure whether it was not working or we failed to know how to make it work)

More “FREE” activities would help the guests to keep themselves occupied.Also inspite of readiness for chargeable activities, the absence of adequate instructors prevented us to take up some which we were very much interested to do.

A south & north indian lunch & dinner is a definite need in your menu in addition to the ala carte.

I WILL DEFINITELY VISIT AGAIN AND RECOMMEND DESTINY WITHOUT ANY DOUBT TO EVERYONE.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashwini103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

This place is outstanding in terms of location, activities, service & food. The experience starts right from the time you leave ooty and head towards the resort. The tractor ride from the parking lot to the resort is the best way to start your holiday. Beside the scenic location and the various complimentary/paid activities, the highlight was the food & hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karanam_priyank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful destination. Pristine. This Property is a stand alone in the area... Though we stayed for 5 days, never felt the need to get out of the property for anything. They also have a spa and I found this combination unique. Very calm environment.. Truly feels like you are on a vacation. and the staff are to be adored for their consistency in attending to the guests. So close to nature. Food was fantastic. My son loved the horse ride, zip-liner, trekking and the others activities...it was a challenge to get him off the location.

It was heaven to be residing there during summer!! There was few showers evening and fantastic climate, the evening barbecue open lawn. Karaoke area where you get a chance with the team.

Hope 'brave heart' doing good. The horse ride was good place for starters.

It was rejuvenating, pure air and many more.....

Plantation tour was more detail, thanks to the team.

Only concern to leave our car 2km from property and take the 4by 4 truck. As the road was not that good for 2km stretch.

Little priced in the higher side but value for money .

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rajeshspr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
11.1 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
8.1 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
9.0 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
10.2 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
10.0 mi away
Sherlock Hotel
Sherlock Hotel
#6 of 78 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destiny Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destiny Farmstay

Property: Destiny Farmstay
Address: Muligoor Village, Ooty 643001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 180 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Destiny Farmstay 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Destiny Farmstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destiny Farmstay India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing