We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place... But horrible reception services and Manager”
Review of Destiny Farmstay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Destiny Farmstay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2011

The location is exotic... its just wonderful to be there... but....

We reached there in the night and our vehicle wasnt there to take us to the farm.. we had made 7 calls in last 3 hours and were assured of vehicle being there... We were tired and no one cared. When vehicle cam, it broke down. It was dark and raining. No one from hotel bothered to check or make alternate arrangements.

When we finally reached resort, the manager was just dunb struck. No apologies or broaching of topic next day... no thanks for bearing with us... It was pitch dark, raining and no one cared for us or was tracking our safety... Instead while waiting on phone to talk to their manager, we could overhear the receptionists laughing about our plight... Obviously they deny it when you meet them but we are not fools. And the manager had no character to broach the topic next day or offer a drink or anything...Instead, the booking office it seems blamed us.. i shared emails with manager but hes of no use too.. No one takes responsibility there... Everyone wants evidence and they dont believe what my wife/ myself spoke on phone.

We informed our checkout time a day earlier as is required.. and on day of check out we went for breakfast and before starting breakfast i asked for the bill... when i came back at 8.30am (in 30 mins) the bill was not yet ready... they were really struggling. Reason - Too many check outs.... They knew that 80% of folks were from Bangalore but didnt plan ahead (breakfast is free so should be easy)... And when they finally prepared invoice, they were unaware of booking amount i had transferred... GOSH.... Thankfully i could retrieve mail on my phone... and all in front of manager. No proactiveness from manager at all... The worst planning ever done. And finally we find out that their vehicle to parking area doesnt leave till 9.15am... and many families including ours had told them that we wanted to leave at 8.30am.. and they kept saying fine... ATROCIOUS RECEPTION staff with HORRIBLE MANAGER.

Now the good things... the place is awesome... the folks managing the activity like Iskha werefabulous... they kept you engaged, always welcoming, smile on faces... just awesome people...

Food was good.... though like a 3 star pricing.. does pinch you... the staff and service was good though...

Also, when we reached we were informed of no liquor policy. So carry your own booze... And never reach there after 4pm.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Varunnayyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
There are newer reviews for Destiny Farmstay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 577 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2011

We selected destiny for our In- laws Wedding Anniversary,We ready all the review about this place,Made a few calls and we hit road to avalanche.As they mention the ride is terrible from the First stop point to destiny.The truck ride is not for Seniors & people having back problem Map was just super.after the ride we just forgot everything .
We were greeted by a smile.warm Hospitality.Food was good But expensive.The Chef needs to be complimented.
The resort was full with people.the restaurant service is little slow during busy time.But the staff keep smiling.The best part was the Manager arranged a cake,.the staff set up the glass table at night near the kids play place,it was a surprise for us.A very Romantic Night

Rooms were clean& spacious,We were in a block a few meters away from the restaurant.Evening service can be improved by arranging some bathroom slippers & Flowers,Lights in rooms need to be improved.Lots of construction happening.Surely a disturbance.Hope they maintain its beauty,
The games staff took for a night walk,Very thrilling,Adventures.They serve a soup in the deep woods .We left the kids behind for this walk.Highly recommended for couples.
We could not enjoy horse riding cause of rain.
But Overall we loved the stay,Courteous staff,Excellent food what else we want on a vacation.
DESTINY IS MAN MADE PARADISE, for a perfect Family getaway

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reva_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Destiny Farm makes a good 2 night stop between Mysore and Kerala. The area is extremely scenic and offers a welcome break from the noise and congestion of cities.

While the drive to the farm is lovely the last two kilometers are EXTREMELY bumpy and not suitable for anyone with mobility issues or back problems.

Guest rooms are clean but quite basic. Most of them do not have heating and at night they were freezing (in January). Staff will give you a hot water bottle which helps but we still went to bed wearing sweaters and socks with our pajamas.

The main activity is walking in the area around the farm. The guides are mostly from nothern India and they are friendly and knowledgeable.

Food in the restaurant is very good. Service can be a little slow but what's the rush? Slow down, relax and enjoy the meal.

We were the only non-Indian guests staying at the farm. It's easy to strike up conversations with the other guests and I'd recommend this. Indian families on holiday are lots of fun.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MB747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

As you get to the place after a VERY VERY bumpy ride, you tell yourself, it was truly worth it. You are welcomed with a smile and you enjoy every bit of the stay. Nature is pristine and at its best in Destiny. The place is well suited for a groups of families or for the lone travellers as well. The only caution I would reccomend is to double check during the check in process on what is free and what is chargeable. We got into a little bit of misunderstanding during the check out because of misscommunication from the office staff. Rest.. I long to go back to the farm.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelloSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

THE place is amazing its located in a valley which overlooks a lake . The food was excellent the best I have had in any resort I have stayed in

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BangaloreMonarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

the proximity of Ooty to Bangalore makes it the best place to visit if someone is looking for a break & a road trip. Avalanche is a place near Ooty & Destiny is near the Emerald dam. The place is so beautiful... early mornings are like Scotland.
It is inbetween farms & has all sorta activities like trekking, fishing, rock climbing, early morning walks, rappelling etc.
Food was decent & the fire place in the rooms make it really nice & cozy.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vmax23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

It was out of the world for us. Great location, setting, servce, activities and food. It was brilliant and beyond our expectations. The location is just stunning and it was great to just sit out of the room and view the scene. Little bit of fishing, going around on horseback, pampered with good food and lovely staff, made our 3 days stay worthwhile. A great opportunity for kids to be a part of nature. A must visit place. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunilyajaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
11.1 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,030 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#15 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
520 reviews
9.0 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,201 reviews
9.5 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
380 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sherlock Hotel
Sherlock Hotel
#7 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destiny Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destiny Farmstay

Address: Muligoor Village, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 208 Specialty Lodging in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $132 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Destiny Farmstay 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Destiny Farmstay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destiny Farmstay India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing