We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Offorable hotel with 7 ******* treatment.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of I-India

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
I-India
Ranked #7 of 180 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Bangalore
1 review
“Offorable hotel with 7 ******* treatment.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

First thing to mention is the 7******* treatment we received from the staff (Sabi and co). The hotel itself is very affordable, stay was comfortable with all the basic amenities available and clean. It is in a great location with excellent view of valley in the east of Ooty. Definitely first choice for my next stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NagendraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    54
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
61
59
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

We came to I'India with very low expectations as we hadn't seen any pictures of the place and we thought it wouldn't be very nice because it was so cheap. How wrong we could have been! The first thing that met us was a beautiful view of the valleys. It's away from the main road so its quiet. Then we got to meet the friendliest manager who constantly smiles and is so helpful with everything. The rooms are cozy, clean and nice. The breakfast is very good, especially the dosas. The common areas are very light and open, and the outside area is rally great to just chill and enjoy the beautiful view. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny294226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

Visited I-India over Xmas weekend
Good: Good location, great view, manager tried to be helpful

Bad: The biggest problem is that this place has no staff... manager Sabi manages all by himself. The kitchen is basically non existent. Even for beak fast we were running around to get bread, juice.. omelette was poorly cooked again by manager himself... no cook. The rooms and the place needs work. We tried to ask manager on what to see and places to eat but he had very little info. The place has no price list... so please check prices before you order tea coffee... there not much that you can order anyway.
We took a small nap one afternoon but the reception phone kept ringing non stop. After 20 min of nuisance I went to check and saw that manager was not there and there was no one to answer calls.

Manager recommended us to visit an organic farm which was a 20 min hike. On whole the experience was good.... but again he later told us that he expected us to tip 500 to the farmers.

You will pay little extra but can better much better and comfortable places.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMonk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

Being a person brought up in Bangalore vie been traveling to Ooty since I was in my teens - 20 years or so..... This is the first time I come across a professionally managed stay which is serious about catering to a tourist need and they seem to come from very deep understanding of what it means to have a nice holiday for family with very young children. I highly recommend this place for family holidays.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Srinivasduddu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

Had the pleasure of staying there many a time. Fantastic location. Excellent service. Indeed a 'Home away from home". The chef can cook up some really fabulous western and Indian dishes. The wall panels are a one point visual lesson of the history and geography on The Nilgiris. Go on some walks and tribal village visits. No one I know, can guide you better.
Ejji K. Umamahesh
[-]

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ejji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

This little hotel just outside OOty with the most magnificant view can only be described as the Gem of Ooty.
You wake up in the morning with the sun rise over the mountains and the clouds lay like a sheet over the mountain tops.

Just nearby you have a Hanuman tempel which you can visit.
There you take the 108 steps to calm you mind. After this you can visit the deep down under tempel in the cave.

Of all the places we visit the we could not find better customer service minded staff.

It takes approx 10 min with car to the center of Ooty.

A hotel which is perfect If you do not want to stay in the busy and noisy area of Ooty city and appreciate nature

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinglanbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

Highly recommended getaway in Ooty.
Truly a home away from home.
A great place for anyone looking for a serene place to stay away from the city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John110577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
2.2 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.6 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
2.4 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Blue Hills International
1.3 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.0 mi away
La Flora Amberley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I-India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I-India

Property: I-India
Address: 273, Granduff Road, Lovedale Post | Valley View, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 180 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — I-India 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your I-India reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
I-India Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing