We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a welcome!”
Review of I-India

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
I-India
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a welcome!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Upon our arrival, we were greeted with great warmth by Sabi and his staff; this welcome was extended throughout our stay. It seemed that they couldn't do enough for us. The views of Ketti Valley from this little guesthouse were breathtaking! We were given great advice about getting around the area, even being given lifts to Ketti and Lovedale station when we needed them and we thoroughly enjoyed the spectacular guided walk from Dodabetta back to I India. Our room was quite basic but spacious. Be prepared for very cold nights in the winter - ask for a room heater. The mattress could have been softer and the plumbing needed attention.

Room Tip: Rooms on the valley side have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    56
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
62
61
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a lovely home stay. The owners are absolutely lovely and very helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Great views. Best part is that it is located outside the ooty cbd which can be busy and dirty. The food they serve is very tasty but more expensive that what you can get in local restaurants

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan_Bell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I have been there for two days at hotel. It is quite good and the place where it is located is very nice and away from the crowd of ooty centre. In morning you can have a very good view outside the hotel. It is very peaceful. The staff is very polite towards the customers and will show very good response to the customer.When i have visited there,Mr.Sabi was not there. So Mr.Jerry have taken care and he is wonderful guy and shows very good respect towards the customers. Really response make good.Hotel is very well maintained and very clean. I love to stay there if i goes to ooty next time....

Room Tip: Choose a room which is in corner, because it will be very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayaz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We visited this place several times bcoz of the peaceful beauty of the place. Also the place is home-ish n have best hospitality n wonderfully neat. Also thy got great chef. We had a enjoyable holiday.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank abhayanupama9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaworthy, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

First impressions of the room were mixed. Very dark AND cold. Ooty gets very cold in comparison with lower altitudes like Coimbatore where we had come from, via the Nilgiri mountain railway. However, first impressions are not all. We had a lovely time because the staff were so helpful and the food was delicious - sourced from organic farms and great vegetarian. I-India are well into trecking but being (perhaps) a bit older than the usual guest, simply chose to relax. However, we did catch the bus later for Ooty along wth seemingly 200 others on the same vehicle. (Tip, you will know when you get to Charing Cross as the bus empties there.)

The lovely location has splendid views. Although you can hear noise from the road during the day, it goes very quiet (and cold) at night. Solution to the coldness - rent the heater - IRS300!

Room Tip: Look for one that has bigger windows. The ones we saw were very dark. The delux rooms are simply big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3akwasi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at I-India Ecolodge on our trip to Ooty in May 2012. It was the peak of the tourist season. Ooty was jam packed everywhere with people and cars. It was our first trip to Ooty as a couple.
I-India Ecolodge is cozily nestled on a pretty mountain side, with marvelous views of terraced farms, flowering valleys and green plains. What you see on their website is exactly what you get. It is beautiful all around. The colonial cottage has a homely ambience, with well-designed and excellently maintained rooms. The ever friendly staff is led by Mr. Sabi Raj, the manager. He knows Ooty and the surrounding hills like the back of his hand. Since the regular tourist spots in Ooty were chaotic with hordes of tourists, Sabi suggested numerous off-the-beaten-track outings to us. He is an expert guide and a gracious host. Thanks to him and his spot-on advice and directions we were able to enjoy some outings in peace and quiet amid bustling Ooty.
The services of Stalin (who manages the desk) and the Chef deserve special mention. We are pure non-vegetarians, and had most of our meals from I-India itself since finding decent non-veg eateries is very tough (even the CCD outlet near Charring Cross was overrun with flies).
We look forward to visiting Ooty again, and I-India is our default option. But this time the itinerary would be planned in discussion with Sabi. He knows best!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madhu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We loved every bit of our trip at Ooty this time.. It was never so peaceful and beautiful on my earlier visits.
Location (away from the city hustle-bustle), valley view, cleanliness, food, customer service, interiors - Excellent.........Truely cherished the beauty of nature.
Cheers to Sabi, Jerry and Stalin.You guys rock. All day smile on your faces will take you heights.
They will guide to the unseen places of Nilgiris (in & around Ooty). We took a bike on hire.. (arranged by I-India) and zipped the roads of nilgiris....
Its definitely a must stay place for the ones who wants quiet, calm and a relaxed stay.
Great place

Room Tip: Choose for deluxe rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwaroopaArvind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#18 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
629 reviews
2.2 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,017 reviews
2.5 mi away
Treebo Yantra Leisures
Treebo Yantra Leisures
#16 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
FabHotel Khems Ooty
FabHotel Khems Ooty
#35 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
207 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
#23 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
143 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Flora Amberley Resort
La Flora Amberley Resort
#50 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I-India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I-India

Property: I-India
Address: 273 Granduff Road | Valley View, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — I-India 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your I-India reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
I-India Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing