We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and serene” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of I-India

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
I-India
Ranked #7 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely and serene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

lovely location, great hospitality, a family place ! After searching so many good hotels we finalised this place.
U get up in the morning and u can spend hours admiring the beauty of the valley... it's a place where u can take ur family and relax.. great place to b at !!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanishkanadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    52
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
59
59
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days, excellent place to stay. Beautiful valley view from resort.
service and food in resort is excellent.we enjoyed the tour a lot.
It is like our own guest house.The rates are some what high in beginning of off season but still it is worthy. It's very peaceful and one can relax here in spite of their busy life in job. It is just 3-4 kms away from ooty bus depot. I am very much lucky to have awesome climate with mix of mist & drizzling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satishrevathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Its an excellent hotel to stay.Very nice location, friendly staff and a warm place. Rooms are clean. Food is amazing but with limited options. Order in advance and you'll have delicious hot meal served to you. The view from hotel is breathtaking. Just one concern is that it is located a little off from main city area and local cab/taxi will charge you too much for pick up/drop. We hired a two-wheeler and that's why didn't face any problem in commuting. will advice this place to stay for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoorvaVishal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a very nice place with a beautiful valley view. The rates are decent. Food was nothing special and basic so look for food outside. The staff is really helpful and takes care of all the needs. They will arrange for travel also. The rooms are nice and cozy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raulsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I visited with my wife and 2 kids in Aug 2012. We stayed in the deluxe room. The following are my observations:
The kitchen is woefully ill-equipped and very slow. The food is very limited by choice (One blackboard has the menu possibilities)
The coir mattress is the absolute basic variety and lacks in proper support.

There is only one room with a decent view. The other rooms face the back side (services alley and a zero view)

The staff loves playing 'Need for Speed' on the computer!

The bathroom was very average with poor hot water supply that fluctuates from very hot to very cold when standing under the shower without the user disturbing any settings!

There is no open space in the property at all - the cover picture is misleading! This is the driveway that leads to an open parking space barely enough for 4 cars.

This place should be classified a home stay and not a specialty lodging. There are many other specialty places in ooty!

Absolutely not fit for families - couples would get bored too! Probably suitable for a bunch of friends who plan to stay out the whole day and just use for a nights sleep!

..and last but not the least - at the time of check out they informed me that credit / debit cards are not accepted!

Room Tip: There is one deluxe room that faces the drive way and the valley - if you must.... then select this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank viper_711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I can assure you its a beautiful place to stay with a beautifull view..we stayed for a day and it was so plesant..rooms are all very wel maintained and it had a posh look with those furnishings!and i cud not stop talkin about sabi !! he is a person fun to be with, young friends would definitely love him and he wud be your friend the next moment you start talking to him..even other guys helping there were very friendly just that we did not find lot of time together with them.About food u needn doubt at al..its fresh and delicious..when we vacated we gave a suggestion for tv in the rooms and Mr.Sabi readily accepted it and he said he is working on it to make the rooms more cozy by turning them into sound proof and tv ..guys go and get some peace and friends..have fun...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nagadinesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I had been there for a 2 nights and 3 days stay a week back. If you are looking out for a nice and warm place to stay during chilly season, please do not opt for this. Even though I booked a deluxe room, I was not provided a heater and it was extremely difficult to sleep in that cold.

Secondly, they charge very high for food and it is definitely not worth the quantity. However, the quality was pretty decent.

Mr Sabi was not in town when we were there and there were 2 other care takers who were, I think not upto the mark when it comes to hospitality. Even to get hot water, we had to place a request.

Nevertheless, the lodge is located at a beautiful place which is close to the city center yet secluded from all the hassles.

If you are looking for 1-night and 1-day stay, you can opt for this place and that too during warm season.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhargavhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
2.3 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.9 mi away
Blue Hills International
1.5 mi away
FabHotel Khems Ooty
FabHotel Khems Ooty
#34 of 78 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
5.9 mi away
Mount 'n' Mist
Mount 'n' Mist
#1 of 134 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
1.2 mi away
Anmol's Cottage
Anmol's Cottage
#70 of 134 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I-India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I-India

Property: I-India
Address: 273, Granduff Road, Lovedale Post | Valley View, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — I-India 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your I-India reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
I-India Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing