We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome stay”
Review of I-India

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
I-India
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2011

The view is excellent. Thanks to sabi (the manager) for the hospitality and making our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandeepBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 157 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2011

My name is Balamurugan. Went Ooty for my honeymoon days..
We stayed in I-india for 2 days and 2 nights.
Climate: fine and good
About room: Neat and super
Food: Homely food no problem
About staff: They are friendly and helpful.
Manager and his wife: They are very helpful and they advised me the places where to visit and how to go. i even called them during shopping for best shop.

We enjoyed a lot in Ooty..

Simple the best and very secure to stay for couples..

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bala14_cse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

sabi and latha have been one of the best host and you need to spend time at i-india ooty to know how great the place.
words cannot explain the quality of the place.
thank u Sabi and Latha for the great holiday

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashishtheenlightend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We visited South India on a short trip and found this quaint little 06 room property, located in a beautiful town called Lovedale. Its just outside of Ooty, so you are close to the charms and yet far away from the crowd. This wonderful property is run by Sabi Raj, who became our good friend. He suggested our day to day activities, with short walks, trips to wonderful localities and amazing view finding vantage points...

Chellan, the local guy who works here as a multi utility guy, took us on a wonderful walk to the top of the adjoining hill. The complete view of Ooty, the hills and the excellent and fresh wind, just takes your breath away. Amma is the housekeeper with quiet efficiency.

Cute little rooms, a sweet little restaurant, a nice reception and a beautiful porch where you can sit and watch the clouds from sunrise to sunset... Food can be improved, but the option of cooking for a romantic dinner for your wife is a genuine plus!!!

All in all, a brilliant place to stay for a weekend at minimum and an extended stay is recommended if you want a quaint substitute against the hustle and bustle of Ooty. Stay here and explore the area.... And take the Nilgiri Passenger from Mettupalayam, its a breathtaking journey!!!

Room Tip: book in advance, and speak with the manager - Sab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saurvika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I-India is a very decent place, out of the hustle bustle of the town, with a spectacular view of the Valley and just 5-8 mins drive to heart of Ooty.
The heritage house (its a 100 yr old property) provides very clean rooms and nice lobby to relax.
When we went, it was really chilly, this place being in a valley, has temperatures 2 degrees below the Ooty town, and rooms can be cold, but room heaters are available at extra cost.
The food prepared is homely, tasty and at reasonable cost.
Managar Mr. Sabi, is a great guy, he will plan trips for you have will give you extra special personal touches which makes holidays perfect.
I would surely recommend I-India, it is a unique experience which you might not get in any hotels or luxury resort. If you are looking for a Home-Stay kind of experience, I-India is THE place

Room Tip: Home stay experience at its best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARUP_MUKHERJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Sabi is very friendly person and he guided us well where to visit in ooty. Hotel is well maintained and food is just like a home made. We loved the hotel ambience and the location. It is well located away from city noises and has an execellent hill and valley view. I have enjoyed my stay there and look forward to visit the ooty again and stay there only. It is full value for money. They have charged resonably less for food also.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vidyullatha t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

This hotel is good place to enjoy the ooty weather and have a nice view of valley. We enjoyed the homely atmosphere and delicious food. Its away from the usual city hordes and makes you enjoy your trip peaceably.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SriniHyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.5 mi away
FabHotel Khems Ooty
FabHotel Khems Ooty
#29 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
216 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#18 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
638 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
#27 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#16 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
812 reviews
2.2 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,044 reviews
2.5 mi away
Treebo Yantra Leisures
Treebo Yantra Leisures
#14 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I-India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I-India

Address: 273 Granduff Road | Valley View, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $27 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — I-India 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your I-India reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
I-India Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing