We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property and Superb Service!”
Review of Lymond House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lymond House
Tiruppur, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property and Superb Service!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Superb property . Absolutely loved it.. The garden is very very good... The whole feel of the place is different to all other hotels cause its an old Victorian house converted into a heritage hotel. All rooms are spacious. And the service was really good. The whole stay was very good. we were ten of us and all of us really had a good time. The food is good. Nothing to complain about. The staff are very polite and look to make sure everything we needed was looked into. a barbecue was arranged and bon-fire was set out at the lawn. ... excellent stay. would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karthikeyan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    29
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
30
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Old Victorian house converted to a holiday home, place has a good feel, but is just good for a laid back holiday... The place needs to maintained better, particularly the bathrooms, food quality is disappointing & over priced as well.

We were a group of four families, we choose the place expecting that this will be a unique experience & less expensive than the 5 star properties around. However, we ended up shelling out a similar amount & we chose to go to the Taj, which is close by for couple of our meals.

Overall, the place can be better managed…

Room Tip: Go for the rooms where the fire place is working...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sekhar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The gardens are lovely, house very interesting but very dark, bedroom was freezing at night and shower was a bucket and jug to pour the water. We had dinner 1 night and were both ill all next day and the following 3 days did not feel well, we have stayed in some very good value places but this is overpriced.

Room Tip: The gardens are lovely but house itself was freezing cold at night especially the bedroom, we had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skrebelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely LOVED our stay at Lymond's. The room was spacious and beautiful. The food was great and the staff was extremely responsive, courteous and warm. Our host arranged for a hike through the surrounding countryside which was a highlight. Highly recommend this place!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phattums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

As you enter a charming smiling face of Anita greets you. Beautiful old house resort with a fire place in the living room. Old iched paintings on the walls gives it a feeling of the royal era. Beautiful location right next to the Sayoy hotel.... The staff is very nice and helpful and the snacks we had were to die for. I can promise you will come home with fond memories....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HussainNalwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Its a building from 1850s. Posibally some "Gora Saheb" must be residing here then. The place is maintained well, its neat and clean. The staff is friendly and makes sure that the stay is comfortable.It has a flavor of proper home cooked meal so the food is simple yet tasty. The place has three rooms in the main building and 3 outside cottages. We stayed in one of the rooms (room name: "westburry") and they were equally comfortable. The room was big and the bathroom was even bigger :-). To my liking It was quite clean and kempt. The rooms and common area have fire places which can be lit up up on request. They even have a nice little library sorts where you can borrow books from. This place has its own campus with swings and sitting places in the garden. One of the days in your trip may be you can laze around the property, read books and sit next to the fire place. To sum up its a pretty good place to spend your time in ooty.

Room Tip: Try and pick cottage. If not then pick "westbury room".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anupam_Hyanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrissur
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I'd stayed here for a day during the weekend with my wife. We absolutely loved the time we spent at the place. There are six cottages to choose from. We chose 'Grace' cottage to stay in as we liked it the best. But then, each cottage is done a bit differently and I guess it would be a matter of preference which cottage you would like.

All the staff, especially Sarvesh and Geetha were extremely friendly and cordial. Sarvesh in particular was kind enough to give me a walk through of the history of the antique items in the hotel. Note: If you do stay here, have a closer look at the items in and around the restaurant as quite a few of them are more than a century old. Though the rooms are on the expensive side, this is definitely a great place to just unwind as the garden and surroundings are quite beautiful and it's a great place to just hang around and soak in the beautiful weather in Ooty.

The food will take some time to arrive so do make sure that your order is placed at least 45 mins in advance. The food was quite good and we enjoyed the chicken steak in particular. All in all, a place definitely worth considering for a second visit.

Room Tip: Choose one of the garden suites if you want a private and separate seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arunomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.1 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
986 reviews
2.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,007 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#16 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
782 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sherlock Hotel
Sherlock Hotel
#7 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lymond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lymond House

Property: Lymond House
Address: Sylks Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 196 Specialty Lodging in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lymond House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1855, Lymond House is the epitome of a bygone colonial era, the perfect getaway, set among a vista of flowering trees and sprawling lawns. This heritage hotel comprises two Victorian drawing rooms with fireplaces, ideal for cosy evenings in. It has three ensuite double rooms and three garden suites, replete with antique beds, dressers, creaking floorboards and fireplaces. One can soak in the atmosphere that has been lovingly preserved for over 150 years. Sitting in the Victorian drawing room, keeping warm by the fire, one can easily imagine the then lady of the house, Mrs Dason, at the piano in her crinoline evening gown, playing the haunting melodies of those far from home. Tariffs - starting at Rs 3999 + tax for a couple inclusive of breakfast . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Lymond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lymond House India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing