We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lymond house ......a wonderful atmosphere in beautiful surroundings”
Review of Lymond House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lymond House
Hitchin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lymond house ......a wonderful atmosphere in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We loved our stay here in Lymond House.
The beautifully tended gardens with all the charming plant names,the peace and quite and the understated grandeur of this old house.
Flora suite was wonderfully comfortable with luxury bedding and a huge bathroom ,all immaculately cleaned daily.
The best part of of our stay was the entire team here who made our stay so relaxed and enjoyable.
Thank you to Sunesh for all the fires he lit for us.Rosie thank you for the many cups of chai we enjoyed sitting in the garden and thanks to the lovely smiling lady gardener for creating a garden that was such a joy to explore .
Anita manages Lymond house graciously and we felt genuinely and warmly welcome here.

We took a hike with a great guide called Thorthey and had an interesting time learning about the Toda tribe .... Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HitchinKerrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    29
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
30
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Wow! This place is a real gem - kind of quirky but a real treat. The service is second to none and the decor straight out of 20s-30s colonial India.
We stayed here 3 nights and loved every minute. We chose one of the roooms in the house (as opposed to the garden rooms) - the front one with the small bathroom - packed full of antiques - big brass bed, even the toliet cistern was a classic! The sitting rooms really are sunning and woth a look around. Within minutes were were served delicious tea in the garden in chintzy tea cups on the lawn - yes lawn - surrounded by a stunninng garden full of flowers and birds. Really peaceful especially after the insanity of Ooty itself and a crazy train ride up there.
The food was very good - breakfast especially. They cook to order in the evenings so we were offered a fried rice dish one night and lamb chops the next - OK, not very indian, but very well cooked and a nice change!
We also chose to visist the tea highlands with a local guide (organised by the hotel staff). We spent the best part of a day exploring the hills with a member of a local tribe. His name is Toti and he's incredibly knowledgeable about the local political and environmental issues, has an immense understanding and respect of the natural world and was generally a fascinating young man.
This is a fantastic place to relax and get a taste of old colonial life for a few days.
I cannot praise the staff enough - small things like free wifi and letting us use the phone to book ahead were incredibly appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seallofapproval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were given a tip about Lymond house and were not dissapointed. This tranquil "old colonial" quest house was really great - like stepping back in time. Rooms were clean and attractive, and as it can only house around 12 guests (?), evenings were very social - like meeting up with friends at home. The service is also very discrete and personal - "When would you like breakfast, madam" and that kind of thing. Dinners were a bit unpredictable, but good when they arrived.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed spent 3 lazy days at the Lymond House with friends and had a great stay. The colonial bungalows are large, comfortable with a fireplace ( lit for a charge). The linen was exceptionally clean and the bathroom was a treat......very basic but huge with modern fittings..they even have a chair you can sit in and read a book, in the loo ! Running hot water was a relief, especially in a hill station. Oh ! must mention the super clean and soft turkish towels ! We were two couple with a child and our cottages were inter connected ( IRIS & GRACE). We even had a patch of lawn connected to our cottages where we could take in the sun every morning . The property is quite close to almost everything and there are loads of eating joints within walking distance.The food here was quite basic yet wholesome. Since there is not much to do after dark in Ooty, we spent most of our time on the property. The living room was large yet cosy and Anita ( the Manager+Guest Relations+Meal planner + "everything you may need" supplier !) arranged for a private Bbq. for us! Then there was Joe ....the yes sir man.There was never a no from this guy and that too with a smile ! While the dining room shuts by 10.30 pm....he was there to heat up our food late in the night and serve it without a fuss. The housekeeping is done by local women...whose language we didnt follow....but every evening we came back to a super clean room which we always left in a mess (we had a child traveling with us )! We had an excellent stay here and would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for some quiet time and a laid back holiday ! Oh ! do check out the nursery located right behind this property if you want to buy plants and saplings.

Room Tip: The 3 new cottages : Iris, Grace, Flora.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RanjiniM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arpora, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We must have stayed at Lymond House about eight times in the past three years and can truly say we now consider it our home away from home.

Sarnish, Joe and the lovely manager Anita seem genuinely happy to see us each time we visit and there's nothing nicer than being welcomed with big smiles after the long and tiring drive up to Ooty.

We have stayed in all six rooms at Lymond House but now prefer being in the main house as they open out onto the delightfully cozy sitting rooms where the staff can be persuaded to light up a fire on particularly chilly evenings. The main house rooms are also closer to the dining area.

Meals at Lymond House can be expensive but we generally prefer to eat in as it is just more convenient. Besides, Ooty is not known for good restaurants anyway and eating out can be a hit and miss affair. Having said that, breakfast which is included in the rate is delicious and plentiful.

Our one continuing grouse with Lymond House is the bed and bath linen, both of which are in dire need of an upgrade and the bathroom attached to Tipperary (front room in the main house).

That apart, we continue to stay at Lymond House because for us it is now associated with comfort and convenience. Hopefully this little gem will continue to attract the right sort of people -- those who appreciate it for what it is -- a slice of nostalgia in a rapidly-changing world.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annexe are larger and have nice new bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoanBananas68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the same time as the previous reviewer, we really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of this home from home hotel. After the heat of the coast being up in the cool mountains of Ooty was blissful (just remember to layer up!) and our hosts even offered to lay a fire for us, its really cold at night so take them up on this! We went on a trek with a guide arranged by our hotel, he took us to his tribes villages and explored the hills around and about - one of the highlights of our holiday.
The food was lovely, india with an old english twist! Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW AUSTRALIA
Level 6 Contributor
654 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Spent two nights at Lymond House, lovely old English house. We had our dinner there each evening, not a huge choice but we both enjoyed our meals,I really appreciated the opportunity to have a break from curries, had lamb chops and vegetables both nights. The candle on the table and the music added positively to the atmosphere. The gardens were gorgeous beautifully maintained, our room was large, and the water hot for one's shower. On the second evening we walked up Sylks Road and enjoyed some predinner drinks at the Taj Savoy. Remember to take warm clothes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NswAustraliaDidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.1 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
986 reviews
2.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,007 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#15 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
508 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sherlock Hotel
Sherlock Hotel
#7 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
518 reviews
0.5 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lymond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lymond House

Property: Lymond House
Address: Sylks Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 197 Specialty Lodging in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lymond House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1855, Lymond House is the epitome of a bygone colonial era, the perfect getaway, set among a vista of flowering trees and sprawling lawns. This heritage hotel comprises two Victorian drawing rooms with fireplaces, ideal for cosy evenings in. It has three ensuite double rooms and three garden suites, replete with antique beds, dressers, creaking floorboards and fireplaces. One can soak in the atmosphere that has been lovingly preserved for over 150 years. Sitting in the Victorian drawing room, keeping warm by the fire, one can easily imagine the then lady of the house, Mrs Dason, at the piano in her crinoline evening gown, playing the haunting melodies of those far from home. Tariffs - starting at Rs 3999 + tax for a couple inclusive of breakfast . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Lymond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lymond House India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing