We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great guesthouse choice for Ooty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lymond House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lymond House
Ranked #11 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
2 reviews
“Great guesthouse choice for Ooty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were given a tip about Lymond house and were not dissapointed. This tranquil "old colonial" quest house was really great - like stepping back in time. Rooms were clean and attractive, and as it can only house around 12 guests (?), evenings were very social - like meeting up with friends at home. The service is also very discrete and personal - "When would you like breakfast, madam" and that kind of thing. Dinners were a bit unpredictable, but good when they arrived.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    27
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
28
35
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed spent 3 lazy days at the Lymond House with friends and had a great stay. The colonial bungalows are large, comfortable with a fireplace ( lit for a charge). The linen was exceptionally clean and the bathroom was a treat......very basic but huge with modern fittings..they even have a chair you can sit in and read a book, in the loo ! Running hot water was a relief, especially in a hill station. Oh ! must mention the super clean and soft turkish towels ! We were two couple with a child and our cottages were inter connected ( IRIS & GRACE). We even had a patch of lawn connected to our cottages where we could take in the sun every morning . The property is quite close to almost everything and there are loads of eating joints within walking distance.The food here was quite basic yet wholesome. Since there is not much to do after dark in Ooty, we spent most of our time on the property. The living room was large yet cosy and Anita ( the Manager+Guest Relations+Meal planner + "everything you may need" supplier !) arranged for a private Bbq. for us! Then there was Joe ....the yes sir man.There was never a no from this guy and that too with a smile ! While the dining room shuts by 10.30 pm....he was there to heat up our food late in the night and serve it without a fuss. The housekeeping is done by local women...whose language we didnt follow....but every evening we came back to a super clean room which we always left in a mess (we had a child traveling with us )! We had an excellent stay here and would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for some quiet time and a laid back holiday ! Oh ! do check out the nursery located right behind this property if you want to buy plants and saplings.

Room Tip: The 3 new cottages : Iris, Grace, Flora.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RanjiniM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arpora, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We must have stayed at Lymond House about eight times in the past three years and can truly say we now consider it our home away from home.

Sarnish, Joe and the lovely manager Anita seem genuinely happy to see us each time we visit and there's nothing nicer than being welcomed with big smiles after the long and tiring drive up to Ooty.

We have stayed in all six rooms at Lymond House but now prefer being in the main house as they open out onto the delightfully cozy sitting rooms where the staff can be persuaded to light up a fire on particularly chilly evenings. The main house rooms are also closer to the dining area.

Meals at Lymond House can be expensive but we generally prefer to eat in as it is just more convenient. Besides, Ooty is not known for good restaurants anyway and eating out can be a hit and miss affair. Having said that, breakfast which is included in the rate is delicious and plentiful.

Our one continuing grouse with Lymond House is the bed and bath linen, both of which are in dire need of an upgrade and the bathroom attached to Tipperary (front room in the main house).

That apart, we continue to stay at Lymond House because for us it is now associated with comfort and convenience. Hopefully this little gem will continue to attract the right sort of people -- those who appreciate it for what it is -- a slice of nostalgia in a rapidly-changing world.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annexe are larger and have nice new bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoanBananas68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the same time as the previous reviewer, we really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of this home from home hotel. After the heat of the coast being up in the cool mountains of Ooty was blissful (just remember to layer up!) and our hosts even offered to lay a fire for us, its really cold at night so take them up on this! We went on a trek with a guide arranged by our hotel, he took us to his tribes villages and explored the hills around and about - one of the highlights of our holiday.
The food was lovely, india with an old english twist! Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
616 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Spent two nights at Lymond House, lovely old English house. We had our dinner there each evening, not a huge choice but we both enjoyed our meals,I really appreciated the opportunity to have a break from curries, had lamb chops and vegetables both nights. The candle on the table and the music added positively to the atmosphere. The gardens were gorgeous beautifully maintained, our room was large, and the water hot for one's shower. On the second evening we walked up Sylks Road and enjoyed some predinner drinks at the Taj Savoy. Remember to take warm clothes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NswAustraliaDidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed three misty days in Lymond House, a beautifully restored and very tastefully decorated 19th century Raj bungalow. The gardens, portico and the living rooms with fireplaces take you back to colonial times, when Burra sahibs would be out pigsticking, and Memsahibs would sit in the pretty garden, sipping tea and scones served by khidmatgars. As for service, the staff is friendly, esp. Sirneesh, the manager. The fireplaces can be lit up for a fee.The breakfast was great - genuine scrambled eggs on toast- served in a charming dining hall. The location is ideal, in a residential area , close to Taj hotel. Auto stand, grocery shop and some, restaurants are a short stroll away. Ideal for a quiet sojourn in a charming setting.One thing I missed was a teamaker in the room, as I am an early riser.

Room Tip: I believe the garden cottages are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TYCHON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Lymond house is a beautiful old English colonial house, with a great garden and breakfast room , where they served a delicious breakfast with fresh fruit juice. For a fee you can get a space heater for the night (it gets chilly at night!) and they'll light the fireplace for you in your room (or the communal living rooms). They arranged a trekking tour with a local guide, which turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip. Only downsides: the room got very damp and the bed was pretty uncomfortable, and there is a fee for wifi (200 rupees/day). Dinner is served in the breakfast room, and was good but not particularly exciting (and a bit pricey).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoverRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.5 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sherlock Hotel
Sherlock Hotel
#6 of 78 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.1 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.8 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lymond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lymond House

Property: Lymond House
Address: Sylks Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lymond House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1855, Lymond House is the epitome of a bygone colonial era, the perfect getaway, set among a vista of flowering trees and sprawling lawns. This heritage hotel comprises two Victorian drawing rooms with fireplaces, ideal for cosy evenings in. It has three ensuite double rooms and three garden suites, replete with antique beds, dressers, creaking floorboards and fireplaces. One can soak in the atmosphere that has been lovingly preserved for over 150 years. Sitting in the Victorian drawing room, keeping warm by the fire, one can easily imagine the then lady of the house, Mrs Dason, at the piano in her crinoline evening gown, playing the haunting melodies of those far from home. Tariffs - starting at Rs 3999 + tax for a couple inclusive of breakfast . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Lymond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lymond House India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing