We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect retreat in Ooty”
Review of Lymond House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lymond House
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This place is a gem. Beautiful house in lovely gardens along a lane away from the noise and bustle of central Ooty but near enough to walk or get short tuk tuk drive to the centre. We woke to birdsong.

We had one of the 3 rooms in the house - charming with views of the garden and a pretty bathroom. Was early February - brilliant sunny days and though cold at night, they offer choice of electric heater or log fire in your bedroom in evening.

The flower filled gardens are lovely and we only wished we had spent more time here to just relax, Lots of spots in the garden and house/verandah to sit and read.

Lovely dining room with doors opening onto the garden. Arrangements of fresh flowers in all the communal areas was a lovely touch.

The management was impeccable and the staff friendly and helpful. They arrange guides for trekking and suggested some nearby walks.

Very good value in this area compared with the competition.

We found it impossible to recognise from some of the negative comments made in some other reviews and other guests we spoke were equally charmed and delighted by this hotel.

Room Tip: All 6 rooms have garden views so it's a choice of one of the 3 in the old house or 3 more modern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 84 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

Lymond House where we have stayed on two occasions, could be a truly special place to stay in Ooty if only the owners ploughed a bit more into the property. The three new suites at the back of the main house are beautifully appointed with lovely bathrooms but the three rooms and bathrooms in the main house could definately do with a lift.

The rest of the house is charming. All the rooms have wooden floors and are filled with tasteful antique furniture and bric a brac. The staff are very helpful and attentive and Anita, the manager does a great job and goes out of her way to make sure guests are comfortable.

The dining room is a modern extension to the main house and could be made equally nice with a little bit of expense and attention to detail which is lacking all round (much darned table cloths, mismatched crockery, ice cold cups for tea and coffee and sloppy table setting).

The meals are indifferent and repetetive though the idlis but dosas at breakfast are excellent. Can't say the same for the bhajjias we ordered one evening with our drinks which were awful. I mean how hard is it to get bhajjias right! Given the quality of food on offer eating in is definately expensive and not good value. A small printed menu for guests to choose from would be very welcome and so easy to arrange instead of waiters coming and asking you what you want and when you inquire what is on offer they say "chicken and dal". Also, there is no broadband internet access which is a nuisance and should be easy to organise in the 21st century.

We love Lymond House and will continue to stay there when we visit Ooty only because we always seek out special places to stay as opposed to boring fancy hotels but someone in charge of the place should realise that charm is not enough.

Room Tip: The three new suites behind the main house are a bit more expensive but very nicely furnished with l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoanBananas68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We arrived in Ooty on the toy train (of course, this is a must!) and initially went to look at the Savoy - very pricey and no rooms with a view. Back into the autorickshaw and a short hop to Lymond House, in fact just down the road.
A charming old house and cottage - we were amazed to note that there were no other guests.
Had read the previous reviews and were a little apprehensive. I guess those other reviewers must have very (unreasonably) high standards.
We looked at all the room types and settled on the garden cottage with its own (well almost) private garden. Big bedroom, bathroom and a sunny enclosed verandah/sitting room.
We had log fires at night (ok the fireplace was a little smokey but this added to the ambience). I think it was great value and the weather was fine and sunny and cool. We could lounge about in the garden or walk to interesting sites around town.
Loved Ooty, the old reddish heritage buildings, the botanical gardens and so on. Some good restaurants not too far away. Walking home (and yes it had that feeling) to our comfortable rooms in the afternoon sunshine - such a pleasure.
Our gracious hostess (Aneeta - have I remembered your name correctly?) always helpful, good service, and I thought the food was good - we sampled a Badagas dinner on one night prepared by hotel staff which was excellent.
On to Mysore and Green Hotel by car but a little sad to be leaving.

Room Tip: The garden cottage was lovely but all the rooms were interesting. Note - this was a cash only hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRONTE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Looking at the pictures we wanted to stay, the ambience (Room etc) was good. After going there we found that it is a managed by a Family. The service was not at all good and all were very unprofessional in approach...Though rooms were good it turned out to be a horrible stay.
Some of I friends compalined that there reservation was cancelled because of the peak period and they were transferred to different hotel because reservation was done at a discounted price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aneel_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

The building is interesting and the rooms are quite comfortable, but the overall cost was relatively high for the privilege of staying in this heritage building. The set menu in the restaurant was average. The hosts were very friendly and polite, however.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Travellers are advised to not make the mistake of paying the full amount for the entire duration of stay as requested by this hotel as no part of this amount is refunded even if a greater than 24 hour advance notice is given for not being able to check in on the scheduled date due to emergencies of any kind.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
3  Thank asriniva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

A 150 year old Victorian bungalow ,theLymond House with just three spacious suites named Isis, Grace and Flora and three double rooms exceeded our expectations. Two largesitting rooms where guests can sit around the fireplace and chat in the evenings in a very homely atmosphere , the superb food ,extremely personalised service, the glorious antique furniture in the rooms and in the common areas all contributed to making it a most memorable holiday for us. Be sure, this lovely home does not provide the kind of ambience of a modern hotel and does not have access to the internet , a gym or a swimming pool. However if you are looking for a relaxed holiday ,with a bunch of wonderful people to look after your needs, this is probably the place for you. Lymond house is kept very well, the bathrooms are spacious and clean and the food, continental or Indian,truly extraordinary. The carpets and the furniture upholstery could do with some refurbishing, though! Located on 78 Sylks road, adjacent to the Savoy Hotel, Lymond house is the kind of place you would promise to come back to, when you are ready to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeswant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.1 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,025 reviews
2.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,065 reviews
0.5 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
547 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
506 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lymond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lymond House

Address: Sylks Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 220 Specialty Lodging in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $57 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lymond House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1855, Lymond House is the epitome of a bygone colonial era, the perfect getaway, set among a vista of flowering trees and sprawling lawns. This heritage hotel comprises two Victorian drawing rooms with fireplaces, ideal for cosy evenings in. It has three ensuite double rooms and three garden suites, replete with antique beds, dressers, creaking floorboards and fireplaces. One can soak in the atmosphere that has been lovingly preserved for over 150 years. Sitting in the Victorian drawing room, keeping warm by the fire, one can easily imagine the then lady of the house, Mrs Dason, at the piano in her crinoline evening gown, playing the haunting melodies of those far from home. Tariffs - starting at Rs 3999 + tax for a couple inclusive of breakfast . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lymond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lymond House India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing