We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the stay and felt the lifestyle of the British....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
British Cliff Club Resort Ooty
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The British Cliff Club Resort in Ooty is a small British style bungalow overlooking the Ooty city. The place is well-maintained and manned by very obliging and helpful staff. The rooms are cozy with princely names. A fireplace in Suite rooms keeps it warm in winters. The gardens are pretty with fresh flowers adorn the resort. Food is fairly tasty too, you really feel that it is made from your own home.
The view of the town from the gardens in the night is terrific.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shreetrissur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 56 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel is on a hillock offering wonderful views of Ooty town.
Hardly 1 KM from the bus stand but its all uphill climb.
If you have your own vehicle then all the better. Else you might have to haggle around with taxis.

We stayed in the 'William' suit , which is fairly large and airy.

The staff were 'Extremely' accommodating, even though it being a peak season they allowed us to have our barbecue running with all the help provided. They were really flexible on what to do and what not to do.

The only downside is they do charge for "Room Heater" , in a hill station . That was a surprise.
Food is not the best, but it will certainly make do.

Rates 4 stars for wonderful Justin and Crew.

Room Tip: Suit Rooms might have a better view of the whole valley. Make sure to ask for Firewood in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harikrishnan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Had booked 2 rooms, 3 weeks back our visit. 1 week before the trip they cancelled the deal and the manager was behaving as if he was a great person.
I was left with few options as maximum of the hotels were booked.
Was very bad talking to the manager, he was rude and behaved as if he is paying for our trip.

They do not have water heaters, family with children and elderely, be aware.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank 0104travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Plus points are: stunning view from way above Ooty. Huge bungalow with only four rooms all opening onto the dining hall is like stepping back in time. The young staff were pleasant and helpful. No alcohol served but no problem bringing your own. Drawbacks: Far above the action of Ooty and therefore long steep rutted taxi rides. No provision for the cold nights. Staff served us wearing wooly hats and coats but did provide us with hot air blower. Bathroom grubby but useable. Highly recommended but be prepared.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

we spent only a day and one night in the resort. The manager was indeed good and very highly responsive. Good hospitality. The cab driver was awesome and the way he speaks..god we were enjoying like anything... A typical coimbatore person.. nice guy... overall the rooms were constructed like a typical british style(1940s) which is really good. Food is really good...Have to order at the time of check in so that they will freshly prepare.Also the garden is laid in an excellent manner. the resort is the mountain cliff so you can view the entire ooty from there. The resort people will guide you if you are coming of your own. Overall we had a nice time...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raamchennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I have been to ooty many time and this is my worst trip bcoz of British Cliff Club Resort

Cons:

Location:Its situated in a location where its tough to reach without own vehicle.The passage to the resort is very bad.Before reaching resort itself,you will get bad impression about the resort.

Rooms:
When they showed the room,i was in for a shock.I thought its way to room but they said thats the room.After paying 2500rs,surely you cant get anything worse than this.Rooms are very old and not maintained well.There was big gap between the door and the floor bcoz of that outisde air easily enters the room,after multiple request they filled that gap with clothes.Never go with this resort!

Food:
We are lucky enough to miss the lunch and dinner there.Few,who were staying there said how bad the food was.They provide complimentary breakfast and we are unlucky to have it.They provide only uthappam and pongal.

Pros:
Nothing

Conclusion:
As we friends went there,we managed to some extent.As its along weekend ,all the good resorts and hotels were not available so we went this.If you have only this option to stay in ooty then give a miss to the trip

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingLife_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

we stayed for 3 night from 8th july to 11th july with my friends family.the hospitality was good with good room service.and we got home made food with good taste...and city view is superb from resort..A Five Star service with cheap tarriff...
thank u

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Narayan2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0 mi away
Zest Danish Villa
Zest Danish Villa
#16 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
99 reviews
0 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#14 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
522 reviews
0 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
394 reviews
0 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
852 reviews
0 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#12 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Cliff Club Resort Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Cliff Club Resort Ooty

Address: Up Hill of Race Course, Mount Pleasant Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $25 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — British Cliff Club Resort Ooty 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your British Cliff Club Resort Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
British Cliff Club Resort Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing