We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past it's prime, but still Royal”
Review of The Monarch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Monarch Hotel
Pune
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Past it's prime, but still Royal”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The first thing you feel when you enter the doors: "wow!".
When you talk to staff attending the reception counter: "nice!"
On your way to your room, wandering through corridors again looking at the entrance lobby: "wow!"
You enter the room and ... : "<sigh>"

This place is royal in proportions and setting. But sadly past its prime. :( Everything except the rooms was perfect! Food was awesome! Breakfast and dinner and everything we ordered to room was nicely prepared and well served. Prices are definitely on a higher side.

Room... it was not so bad but it certainly let me down. The room itself was nice setting but other things spoiled it. The closet doors didn't close even half way. There was a big gaping hole in the corner of the ceiling. Toilet was clean but bath tub was showing its age.

back to niceties: May is peak season in Ooty, and we found it way too crowded to our liking. Every sight seeing trip around Ooty required most of the time in traffic jams and ticket queues. So to beat off the rush, we found the hotel perfectly situated. Its just nice and i would certainly recommend it.. Just go in for the ambiance and food and peace.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbhiJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    36
    29
    11
    19
See reviews for
51
32
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kumbakonam, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Situated on the top of the hill, this hotel offers an amazing view from the window. We came in off season and the receptionist gave us excellent service my two 2 days stay. The room was really big with a nice balcony, bathroom was relatively clean with soaps and shampoos, I was surprised to see bathtub and 24h hot water with a nice pressure. The food is delicious, haven't eaten anything like that anywhere else in India,

my suggestion to the management to renovate the hotel and bring back in to modern look

Room Tip: chose suite rooms its relay good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kannan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Visited in March 2013.
The property is situated a bit far from the main attractions of Ooty. Situated at a certain height. DO NOT THINK OF STAYING HERE IF YOU DO NOT HAVE YOUR OWN TRANSPORT. Going down to market will not be a problem, but coming up will certainly be.

The Property is large but average. Rooms are big but again average. the worst part is toilet. Not even a single good thing to say about it. Bed-sheet, Curtains and Furniture in rooms look overused.

Best Part about the hotel is Food. Our group really liked quality of the food here. But again taste buds differ from person to person.

The property really needs a renovation, and fast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Situated on the top of the hill, this hotel offers an amazing view from the window. We came in off season and the receptionist gave us almost 50% discount on 2 day stay. The room was really big with a nice balcony, bathroom was relatively clean with soaps and shampoos, I was surprised to see bathtub and 24h hot water with a nice pressure.
The food is delicious, haven't eaten anything like that anywhere else in india, for a foreigner it would be a relief to find decent meat and salads without spices!

Room Tip: Dont go for massage, it's gross and dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daizy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff was very nice. I'll bet this place was really nice when it was brand new. It is not brand new anymore. My room had a musty odor. For a hotel of this category, more care should have been taken in not slopping paint and varnish where it doesn't belong. At least they have repainted obviously, but not recently. The bathtub did not drain. The balony has windows that they ask you not to open. Screens would be a nice idea as the air of Ooty is quite nice; the air in the room was not. Noise from the disco kept me up the first night. It's a cavernous place and you'll need transport to get in to town. As it always happens, I passed by some lovely hotels in nicer surroundings on the way out of town...oh well. (Note that the profile picture as of today is NOT of the Monarch in Ooty.) Best thing about my stay was the fresh squeezed grape juice on the buffet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lapb1399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I had been here for New Year, hotel is amazing. Had got a nice deal from makemytrip to stay for new year eve.

Positives
1. Nice rooms
2. Great views
3. Food is also good
4. Nice/Quiet Location

Negatives
1. Bit costly
2. Queen room not having fridge
3. Room service not upto the mark

Overall it was a very nice experience in Ooty, If possible go for King's Suite its much better for almost same cost as of Queen Suite.

Room Tip: If possible go for King's Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramnath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

i stayed in hotel monarch for 4 days , let me tell u guys its worth...i think its best hotel in ooty...mithun da u rock.
we booked king suite and we had break fast and dinner buffet system, with live orchestra.
my son enjoyed the beauty of place and entrance , lobby , rooms are not less than five star hotel...just go and u will have same exp like mine, its bit expensive bt trust me guys its worth.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benny-1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
4.4 mi away
Glyngarth Resorts
Glyngarth Resorts
#20 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
45 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
#51 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
669 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#15 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Willow Hill
The Willow Hill
#23 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monarch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monarch Hotel

Property: The Monarch Hotel
Address: Off Havelock Road | Church Hill, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Monarch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Monarch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Monarch Hotel India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing