We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy getaway in the Nilgiri's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2009

We had gone to Ooty for a vacation in the off-season and were hence apprehensive about our stay there specially as we had gone with our 11 month old son! but to our surprise it was a wonderful trip, we checked into this lovely hotel which was almost like brand new (although location is not very exotic) but it's in the heart of the city, very clean and tidy, excellent food specially the veg biryani and their restaurant and fabulous room servise. the staff was very polite and always smiling. they arranged taxi's for us to pick us up from Coimbatore and also for our sightseeing. the hotel room was very modern with all facilities, very clean, very clean toilets, overall full marks for decor and hygine. i suggest this hotel to anyone going to ooty.

Stayed: July 2009
Thank annatew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

836 - 842 of 853 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2009

Decided to go to Ooty for our anniversary and started searching for good hotels. There were many suggestions by various websites but Meadows Residency caught my eye. Their website seemed impressive and the staff seemed courteous over the phone so we decided to give it a shot. The hotel turned out to be just as described on their website. We had booked the Pearl room and it was just fantastic. The staff was very friendly and polite. The hotel is very well maintained and the rooms are very cozy and comfortable with modern amenities. They also have their own package tours with very good drivers and the fares are also quite reasonable. There is a small restaurant in their building which also appeared good (though we didnt try many items there). Located just about 2 Kms from Ooty bus stand, this hotel is an ideal choice if you are looking to have a good time and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tushar_m79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We looked at a lot of hotels in Ooty from the top three rated plus another 4-5 also on TA. Many were pricey 4000+, and/or run down or sold out.
We stumbled upon this one basically at our wits end. Fortunately, it was new-ish, modern, nicely appointed rooms and nice staff. We were charged Rs3900/nt nett for two nights including an extra bed and South Indian breakfast.

Pluses: located on the main thoroughfare good for some but not others, newish, clean, modern, nice staff and good breakfast.

Minuses: value for your rupee is not that great but not a rip off either, no wifi/Internet in the rooms but they let me use the computer behind the reception desk, views of a flithy trash strewn lot, the rooms/door is not very sound proof, so be prepared to deal with some noise

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AK_Travels_Da_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

After a long drive up to Ooty, the hotel was a welcome break for a weary traveller. The hotel is clean and modern in design. There was a fresh fruit basket in our rooms when we arrived and to our surprise we were offered a drink on arrival. The rooms had LCD TV, we had an Executive room and Pearl room, although the executive room was half the size, but the bed and bathroom were still a very good standard, which reflects the price. There is hot and cold running water, we went in the spring and at night it gets very cold so would recommend asking for a heater. There is also an area for local drivers to rest. The dinner in hotel restaurant was good quality, we had South Indian food which was cooked well. The service however was very slow especially at breakfast when there seemed to be only one person around. Staff seemed quite new to the hotel when we were staying. Overall a pleasant stay and would return.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raoai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

I would say it is decent stay in Meadows. Room was clean and service was good. Food was bit pricey.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrasathC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

May 14 2009 to May 17 2009
Myself and my fiancée had never been to Ootacamund (aka Ooty or Udhagamandalam). Though we heard that May is the peak season, we could not resist visiting a hill station during summer. So we planned a car trip from Bangalore to Ooty.

My first priority during travel is a good Hotel and I did an exhaustive research so much so that I am a Ooty Hotel expert now! Our main priority was to cover more places in less time and it was not only to relax. So we were looking for a hotel near the center of the city.

I came across this not-so-famous hotel tucked away a few meters away from Adams Fountain (Charring Cross) which is bang at the center of Ooty. Since a popular Indian travel site was offering Cashback for Hotel bookings, I booked a Pearl room at Meadows Residency for three nights. Total cost was Rs. 7,500 (appx USD 160). Mind you, this was peak season rate slab.

We were welcomed with a, well, welcome drink! And after some formalities, we were ushered to our room. It was just what we wanted. A nice and clean room. Soft large bed with wonderful pillows and a comforter, an LCD TV, Large mirror, really clean bathroom, shower with hot running water, a bucket just in case. Thanks to the Ooty weather, a fan or an air conditioner was not required and there was none. Surely one will need a room heater during winter and the hotel will provide the same. The staff are very courteous. Their skills in speaking English were decent but not excellent. They will make sure your stay is trouble free and in case you have any problems with anything in your room, they will make sincere efforts to set it right. Our stay was non-obtrusive and whenever we went out for a major part of the day, our room was cleaned and bed was made.

The only hiccup here is the in-house restaurant. It is quite small but that is not the problem. They take almost HOURS to serve food. The restaurant is understaffed and the two(yes two) people there have to man the restaurant, attend room service requests and more. The food is decent but the lack of timely service takes away the points. Only consolation is the complimentary breakfast that includes Bread Toast butter and jam, three Indian breakfast items, Coffee, Tea - all these on an all you can eat basis. Nice.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who want to stay near the center of the city and who is not looking for lavish treatment or no heritage rooms. In case you are visiting Ooty just to relax, then opt for the heritage hotels instead of this. Although I cannot say this hotel is value for money, I really enjoyed my stay so I shall return.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ashwinsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DaphneLange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.5 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,102 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#8 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,264 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#12 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#6 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#14 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
522 reviews
0.9 mi away
Treebo Yantra Leisures
Treebo Yantra Leisures
#13 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadows Residency - Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadows Residency - Ooty

Address: Coonoor Rd | Ooty, India, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $55 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Meadows Residency - Ooty 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Meadows Residency - Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadows Residency - Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Meadows Residency - Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing