We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Re-capture faded Imperial glory” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace
Ranked #12 of 134 Ooty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Re-capture faded Imperial glory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We came her during the day for tea, so can't comment on the accommodation. However, the palace is sumptuous though slightly ghostly: we were the only people there! The tea took forever to arrive but we didn't care as it gave us an excuse to linger and wander about the place. Wonderful antiques and gardens.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indie-Brindie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    48
    16
    11
    13
See reviews for
52
52
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
karur
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We organised our Area AGM of Round Table at the hotel and it was a great success. We had all the comforts. Excellent food. The GM Mr. Kanna knows what he is talking and you can be clear of what is possible.
Every one had a great time and we from Karur Round Table are happy to host it there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaushikselvam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The fernhill palace is one of the best in ooty. Its really beautiful and peaceful. I stayed there for 2 nights and i must say that the service is excellent!! My room was upgraded at the time of arrival which made the experiece even more wonderful. Though the tariffs are slightly on the expensive side but its worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Fernhills is The best place In Ooty i stayed two nights the breakfast and dinner was included this is my third time in this palace love the location the beds need to be in and the bathroom need to be renewd.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imaratis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karur, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had been to Fernhills Palace to arrange for a get-together and we were very happy with the place and their services. Mr.Kannan who is the GM there was very helpful in getting us many things organised.
We tried their Lunch Buffet and we were pleased as it has different cuisines in them and they were to the liking of our group. The Chef was very knowledgeable and helpful for us. All the staffs were very helpful and friendly. We were very happy with the place and are looking forward to having a great time with them at the get-together.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadhuKarur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Fernhills Palace is one of the most beautiful properties in Ooty. If you are looking for privacy and peace in the midst of elegance and royalty, this is your stop. The resort has been maintained really well given its history and inception. The walls are lined with photographs of the generations of blue blood that lived here once upon a time. It is a great location to spend a weekend getaway.

The staff are very helpful and courteous. Service is very good. Jenkin was extremely well informed about the attractions near by, the front Office Staff..Kannan was really sweet and helpful and Shashi, the restaurant staff made us feel at home. Definitely coming back to this place again...

Thank you Fernhills!

Room Tip: If you are travelling with family, go for the Maharaja Suite. There is just one Maharaja Suite so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debonnayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Been to Fernhills resort last weekend, had a pleasurable and good experience. Would like to thank staff for the pleasurable experience and wonderful location. Its on a hill top where property is under construction and excellent studio apartments. Food was also good with friendly staff and they took utmost care to make our stay memorable.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Look for rooms overseeing the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vipin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.4 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
1.3 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.6 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
0.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.9 mi away
Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace

Property: WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace
Address: Fernhill Post, Ooty 643 004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernhills Palace is the summer palace of the Mysore Maharajas. It was built in 1844 by Capt. F. Cotton. It changed several hands as the time went by till mid-1860s, when it was temporarily named Moonesami and served as one of the Ooty's earliest club hotels. The year was 1873 when Ferrnhills Palace found a new royal owner. His Highness Chamarajendra Wadiyar X is the first Indian royal to buy an English holding in Ooty. Since then Ferrnhills Royale Palace has been with the Wadiyar dynasty and today it continues in the capable hands of His Highness Srikanta Datta Narasimharaja Wadiyar. The palace is superbly finished with Burmese teak, features a magnificent ballroom with a highly valued ornamental papier-mache ceiling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing