We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible experience of staying in a palace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace
Reviewed June 18, 2013

When we planned for a holiday this summer all it came to my mind was a peaceful and calm place where we can stay indoors without much of traveling and sight seeing. Finally I booked this place based on few recommendations from my friends and really thank them for suggesting this place. My family - wife and two kids were there from 16th to 18th of May 2013 and we will never forget the incredible experience of staying in a palace. The property is located on acres of forest, meadows and gardens which makes it an ideal place to go for long walks and I really enjoyed doing that. The amenities in the room were remarkable. However the food was not great. There were few choices for people who prefer Indian food. Overall we had a great experience and would love to visit again. Mr. Magesh, the executive deserves a special mention for taking care during our stay

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RavindraCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 147 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

beautiful property and great experience to stay in but not value for money as the hospitality is hopeless. Could have been a great experience if the service and hospitality would have been nice as living in a 180 year old palace itself is a great experience. Hope management can improve it.
Food was great, first day was not good enough so we made a complain and that worked out, chef was nice and asking then he made all the meals as per our advice and was really great homely food then and we enjoyed. Its a great vast property with big lawn and play areas and trees and forest so we enjoyed a lot outside.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeetendrasurana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

we stayed in fern hill royal palace for 2 days as red hills was full (we stayed only for a day here).everything was excellent here except the food part which was very ordinary and not testy and not money's and mouth's worth.otherwise a calm and regal hotel which even though near ooty kept us aloof with its majestic pine trees all around.all in all a quite stay

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ragh1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

...go u amigo stay here & treat yourself with the finest stays of your life?
if you can afford around 8000 bucks a night just stop your search here as no other damn property can be as incredible as this for this is a REAL PALACE built in the 18th Century by the Mysore maharaja the others are just hotels but this is a legacy of the real grand side left over by the ROYALTY.
'if you can afford chcek in here i am sure you will feel that you reach in cloud 9 & if you do not feel that after staying here that you may curse your own taste!!!

love you all frenhill palace ummmm

Room Tip: try the maharajas suite
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saibless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Amazing place. Fantastic huge rooms. Lovely furniture. Extremely quiet. Obliging staff. A little tired with maintenance but well worth the money. Can't say much more. It was a great stay - one of the best hotels I've been to.

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe - it's worth that bit extra.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChelseaL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Decor lovely and nostalgic of the cantonment era which is part of the Nilgiris charm. You can imagine what this looked like a hundred years ago because not much looks like it changed. The furniture all looks antique and the walls have a vintage feel. The staff were very polite and helpful. They were even persuaded to take us for a ride in the golf carts at 3am because we were still celebrating long after the bride and groom had gone to bed.
The food was amazing and a lot of variety. Its typically Indian and delicious though they do try to give you something of a continental breakfast. Try to coffee and tea in the Nilgiris. Yes it does not have much in the way of activities but these venues are for relaxing. Take a few good books and a few board games.

Only criticism? Needs shower stalls in the massive bathrooms! Not everyone is a tub person.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view over the back of the hotel that overlooks the hills. 2 of the side rooms als...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Binkyatavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Me and my friends visited this Palace on February 9th and just amazed to see how an old palace has preserved for heritage loving travelers.The Hotel is a favourite location for many films,some of them are super maga hits also.The Hotel is also a museum of Mysore Maharajs.The Picture hereremind us the Royal life of 19th centuary.

There is a huge out door garden in front and back side of the Hotel.The most beautiful zone of the Palace campus is of course the rear side of the Buildings,there is a walk way surrounded by big banyan trees-which will be a dream spot any lovers,who have a thirst for real romance!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shihabmecheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.3 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,004 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,201 reviews
3.4 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#15 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
520 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
499 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace

Address: Fernhill Post, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643 004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $169 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernhills Palace is the summer palace of the Mysore Maharajas. It was built in 1844 by Capt. F. Cotton. It changed several hands as the time went by till mid-1860s, when it was temporarily named Moonesami and served as one of the Ooty's earliest club hotels. The year was 1873 when Ferrnhills Palace found a new royal owner. His Highness Chamarajendra Wadiyar X is the first Indian royal to buy an English holding in Ooty. Since then Ferrnhills Royale Palace has been with the Wadiyar dynasty and today it continues in the capable hands of His Highness Srikanta Datta Narasimharaja Wadiyar. The palace is superbly finished with Burmese teak, features a magnificent ballroom with a highly valued ornamental papier-mache ceiling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing