We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feel like a king...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace
Ranked #13 of 134 Ooty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Feel like a king...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good stay..nice view..lots of maintenance of the exterior needed...no swimming pool or any other activity..good for honey mooners only, the rooms are excellent, lots of nostalgic photos of the maharaja and his family are displayed every where., the walls are adorned with the motifs of the kings dynasty...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel_is_lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    48
    16
    11
    13
See reviews for
52
52
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel is located in scenic surroungings with plenty of natural vegetation - pine trees,et al. Located few kms away from city center, its devoid of traffic and crowd.

The hotel builit in 19th century has lot of heritage charm still intact. One feels like transported into the world of morarchy of bygone era. Suites are big with its own terrace. I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel Interiors:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d0dwA665kTQ&feature=youtu.be

Hotel Surroundings:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hxq88wck9IE

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lonecrusador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We just came here for our anniversary dinner. As u approach the hotel through the pine trees lined road, it is truly a sight to behold. The hotel is truly a small palace of sorts. Classic, English architecture with dollops of heritage history in and around the hotel. Though i feel it is a bit understaffed, they did richly pamper us. We had a private Dine-in area, replete with nicely carved wood furniture and frames. The food was really delicious, and they made a thick, soft chocolate cake for us, which was one of the best we have ever had. We even carried it back to Mysore with us!! :) As it was a moon-lit night, we strolled in the the lawn spread out in the back of the hotel and it was magical. Seeing all this, i can just say that if you can spare the budget, it is sure to be as luxurious to stay here as we found in the short time we spent here, and worth every rupee you pay. Thank you everyone out there.

Room Tip: The rooms, i feel, are bound to be luxurious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikhilMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

What a wonderful place!!! huge well maintained property with lots of trees, amazing views and massive and beautifully maintained lawns.
Golf carts to take you around the property..at each turn on the road inside the property you are left thinking how royal it would be when the palace must be hosting its King long back.
The rooms are good, Jacuzzis in bathrooms, ornamented dining hall (durbar hall), hundreds of pictures of the bygone days and innumerable memories, this Palace is certainly one of the better ones I have stayed so far.
The service is good and the staff is helpful, Kids will enjoy playing in the huge lawns or some indoor games, you can sit by the bonfire in the evening and with each sip of your favourite drink keep going down the memory lane!!!
A must watch even if you are not staying here!!!

Room Tip: take the Sanand room, its more cozy than others!!! or if you travelling without kids then take the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SUN-VI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Awesome experience but comes with its own set of challenges. The hotel can call off lunch buffets if occupancy drops. Service can sometimes be slow because of thin staff. Despite these, a must-do on your next trip to Ooty. Much better than the usual square shaped pigeon holes that take four. Since it is on a height compared with the city and nestled in thick pine forest, the weather is much cooler.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manevm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in March(Yuvarani Suite) and it was the best in Ooty. I notice few comments which shows their disappointments, but overall, i will say it's a good and best place to relax and enjoy the scenery. Despite the price which is quite high, you can have the experience staying in a real palace. I feel it's worth it. It's about 5km from the railway station which will cost you about RS150 to reach there. But, the only minus point is, there's no shops around this place. However, they do serve food in the hotel upon request. Front desk member was very polite and helpful. Furthermore, their General Manager Mr. Kannan was polite enough to spend time with us explaining about the Palace. I will say it's a must to stay in this Palace.

Room Tip: Get Yuvarani suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Exploracion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

The welcome was rather less warm than the farewell, and the large cold rooms made us long for home where at least we have the option of some heating. Modern, and rather unsightly radiators (given the faded grandeur of the surroundings), were in evidence but were never switched on during our stay in February. The food was mediocre, the bar was dry, the room wasn't made up until we asked, and the water was only hot between 6 and 10. We were given a small fan heater for our very large and gloomy room, which was inappropriately furnished with pictures of glaciers and snow covered peaks. The view from the garden was lovely, though, -and we enjoyed the old photos.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rospirie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.4 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
1.3 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.6 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
0.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.9 mi away
Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace

Property: WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace
Address: Fernhill Post, Ooty 643 004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernhills Palace is the summer palace of the Mysore Maharajas. It was built in 1844 by Capt. F. Cotton. It changed several hands as the time went by till mid-1860s, when it was temporarily named Moonesami and served as one of the Ooty's earliest club hotels. The year was 1873 when Ferrnhills Palace found a new royal owner. His Highness Chamarajendra Wadiyar X is the first Indian royal to buy an English holding in Ooty. Since then Ferrnhills Royale Palace has been with the Wadiyar dynasty and today it continues in the capable hands of His Highness Srikanta Datta Narasimharaja Wadiyar. The palace is superbly finished with Burmese teak, features a magnificent ballroom with a highly valued ornamental papier-mache ceiling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing