We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“past its glory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace
Reviewed November 20, 2011

the premises of a former Maharaja's Palace way past its prime. the heat is not turned on until Dec. so you are relegated to a small space heater and hot water bottles in the room. They never thought to bring space heaters into the bar area until we asked. In the absence of a liquor license, you could get room temperature beers. when electricity in town was cut for the afternoon, they grudgingly put the generator on. the dining staff tried hard to please and the staff allowed us to use our laptop near the front desk which had the only internet service. very skippable unless and until they put a lot of money and effort into transforming this place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarenB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 147 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2011

Arrived to a very cold hotel, told that central heat won't be on until December but small heating blower in room... insufficient for the size. Offered hot water bottle for humidity ladden sheets. Mildewy shower. Pieces of paint peeling from ceiling and wall behind bed bubbling from water seepage. Hot water avaialbe from 6 to 10 AM and from 6 to 10 PM. Electricity cut off the second day, generator turned on for 2 hours. No liquor license, offered warm beer at a reasonable price! 3 suites have caved in roof, you can see them when you stroll outside. But, very nice staff scurrying to please you and it was once a grand piece of property. Once upon a time!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel and avoid big disapointment.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank femmegettingsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Decided to stay here for 3 nights because of the location. Got disappointed once we reached there. The Palace is very much run down. Can be much better place than thought of. The sofa's in the rooms were so old and worn out. The central heating doesn't work so we were given hot water bottles, but the place was cold. For shower you had 2 hrs hot water in the morning & 2 hrs in the evenings. There was a safe in the room but does not operate without the keys though it's should be used with your own 4 digit pin numbers. The safe is even not fixed. one can put it in there suitcase and work out. Television every were & you can't miss anything walking from one place to another. ( this was the time when England played India World Cup Cricket in Banglore )

First night we were given this room near the kitchen at the back and late at night they switched this machine on & had to ring them to switch it off and next day made them to move us on the other side of the place. The lawn does not exists, it's full of weeds.

In the restaurant, there used to be another couple & that shows the place is very very quite. It's suppose to have buffet breakfast but since hardley any there, they will serve what you request for. ( makes sense).

I was very much disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank intrepidtraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We booked through a travel agent in India to stay for two nights but we decided to vacate after just one night as we decided not to waste our time staying there. It is very poorly maintained and although they charge 5 star rates it is something like 2 1/2 or 3 star. When we were there it was rainy and cold and rooms were freezing. Although they have a very nice bar they do not have a license to sell alcohol!! The staff are useless. It is in a nice grounds but not being maintained. It looks and feels like a haunted house. The decor of the rooms very poor. The only thing that was positive is the food which we liked very much. The manager was kind enough to refund for the night we did not stay

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank chekkakrishnarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

It was a surprise delight. Booked this property as could not find any interesting and classy hotels in Ooty while searching online. Came across this property of Welcome Heritage Group.

It was an old palace of some maharaja, which was later converted to a hotel. Hotel is located about 3-4 kms from Ooty town center on a small hill overlooking tea plantations and a great view of the valley. Its spread in a large area, with lush lawns, pine/gum/nilgiri forest. Hotel rooms were an absolute delight, our suite had a great living room with generous woodwork of burma wood, a lobby and covered verandah with glass doors and windows all through it, a bed room and a very luxurious bathroom with a fitted juccuzi. LCD screens in both living room and the bed room with a set top box connection. Warmers were in the process of being installed in all rooms/bathroom and the lobby.

Food options were limited but whatever was on the menu was well made. Staff was very friendly and warm. Room service was great too.

The overall feel of the place is wonderful, its a true delight and unbelievable value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AzimuthalP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

The Fernhill Palace has probably the best location in Ooty. A magnificent palace, but so poorly maintained that it is a disgrace. The gardens are non existent, the interiors musty, poorly maintained and service pathetic.
A chance visit to the kitchen located in the basement made me wonder if we would survive our stay. The hotel had ben taken over by a film crew of a Telegu film and left the guests to suffer.
The suites are provided with radiators which are non functioning so a heater was provided for the bedroom. On requesting for a heater for the large living room, we were offered hot water bottles since the room could not take the load of two heaters. The rooms smell, have not been aired for days.
And beware if you decide to have a hot shower during the day -hot water is only available in the mornings and night.
Had booked for two nights, but left after the first night. A real rip off.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dsareen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 2 days with my Husband and friends family . It is the best luxury hotel I've ever stayed. We would say that we had the best Royal treatment form the beginning. The hotel itself a mesmerizing building architecture spread over 40 acres of lush green environment with a breath taking view of the Valley.

We loved the way they introduced our Suites. The suites were named after the The room was very spacious adorned by the great Indian History of the Wadiyar Family. The room was very spacious. It also had a Jacuzzi fitted bathroom and also a private sit out.

They were also renewing the quarters to make deluxe rooms on the adjacent property which we had a walk through. Also the entire area is clean and non-polluted secluded from the busy ooty streets. The food was good and also the English breakfast had in the outer gardens in the morning was also commendable. We also had a horse riding and a quite walkout in the entire area.. There was a Billiards Table which was out of use.. It is a superb spot for taking pictures...

This is a class above hotel which I would definitely recommend for a Royal treat that you can enjoy in this life time!! Thank you so much for the pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floraindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.3 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,004 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,201 reviews
3.4 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#16 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
520 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
499 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace

Address: Fernhill Post, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643 004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $170 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernhills Palace is the summer palace of the Mysore Maharajas. It was built in 1844 by Capt. F. Cotton. It changed several hands as the time went by till mid-1860s, when it was temporarily named Moonesami and served as one of the Ooty's earliest club hotels. The year was 1873 when Ferrnhills Palace found a new royal owner. His Highness Chamarajendra Wadiyar X is the first Indian royal to buy an English holding in Ooty. Since then Ferrnhills Royale Palace has been with the Wadiyar dynasty and today it continues in the capable hands of His Highness Srikanta Datta Narasimharaja Wadiyar. The palace is superbly finished with Burmese teak, features a magnificent ballroom with a highly valued ornamental papier-mache ceiling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
WelcomHeritage Fernhills Royale Palace India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing