We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, economical, safe and expensive... not value for money”
Review of Ooty Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ooty Gate Hotel
Ajman, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good, economical, safe and expensive... not value for money”
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We were two families from our native. We stayed here for two days.. Good, polite and courteous staff.. Good food(really expensive to the standard). Warm atmosphere and ambiance.. Only problem - our room window opened to the neighbor's house where they had horse and hens..(enjoy... free of cost).. All together a good budget hotel in Ooty..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BKR_AJMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    27
    26
    10
    18
See reviews for
40
27
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

The Hotel is good, even though it is now old and requires renovation.
They gave us a 20% discount for the three rooms we took.
The staff, services and rooms were good enough - considering it an economy hotel.
The stay was calm and peaceful.
I would suggest this as a good economy hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mjohnjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Me and my wife went for a weekend getaway from bangalore. Indiahotelreview helped us to get the booking. The location of Ooty gate is fantastic, We got the valley facing room. The scenic beauty from our room's bedroom was awesome. The staff of the hotel were really helpfull. It was a really great weekend. This hotel is must to visit.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank birendraSinghFarswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Dotted with some of the most spectacular views that one can imagine, not only offers respite from the hustle and bustle of the city but also gives you a chance to enjoy nature’s beauty in its purest form

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank ashok_green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2010

it was a lovely experience.. good nice atmosphere,good room service.overall its good and money value is perfect word for the hotel

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumanray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Services are good..You will get the good room service..I like the best thing in the hotel is the cleaning ness and good room service. They have attahed restaurent and food quality is fine...you will muti places cuisuines there . I like the place so much

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KumkumScreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2010

A holiday to cherish. The place is wonderful in terms of the breathtaking scenary. Just watching the mesmerizing view from the house is enough to destress anyone....

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank myshair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Bird
Hotel Blue Bird
#59 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
44 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sanjay Hotel
Sanjay Hotel
#39 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
110 reviews
2.2 mi away
Blue Hills International
Blue Hills International
#31 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ponmari Residencyy
Ponmari Residencyy
#24 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
318 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
#52 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
173 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#18 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooty Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty Gate Hotel

Property: Ooty Gate Hotel
Address: Coonoor Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 85 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 84 rooms of different category. We do have two restaurants, one bar and one conference hall of capacity 75 pax. Ample car parking facility is also there for our valued guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ooty Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ooty Gate Hotel India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing