We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place to stay in ooty. ...please avoid”
Review of Ooty Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ooty Gate Hotel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst place to stay in ooty. ...please avoid”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We booked two rooms here in May,2012 through Azlan tours and travels.I must say cannot get a worst place than this one in ooty.The staff was very rude in behaviour.
Tge rooms were having an unpleasant smell and there was leakage feom roofs.
There was no hot water in the tabs and when we called the room service,the only reply we had was this is the only option you have.
In the morning we were given coupons for complimentary breakfast but when we asked them to provide tea 1 hour early as we were short of time,they charged us extra for that.After a huge argument they waived those charges which were unreasonable.
In a nutshell,poor service,rude staff,poorly maintained,must be avoided.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Adityaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    27
    26
    10
    18
See reviews for
40
27
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Not value for money. no proper lighting.
Front Desk staff are not co-operative and informative
the Direct / online booking of room cost are same. But If you book thorugh online it doesnt include B/F. Pleae check with online partners before booking
Room services are good
Hotel Restaurant food is very costly and only cash accepted.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuraliLoganathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels

Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed for 2 days in this hotel, where we took executive rooms. Which is worst than the normal rooms, hopeless room service neither they respond any of the calls nor gave proper responses when we went directly for the need. Morning when we required hot water there will be power cut, so better do not expect for hot water. The images posted in website are all fake. Don't go by images.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harathi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last week..To be frank this HOTEL IS PATHETIC with very bad room services.The bathrooms are really messy with leaking closets..The service provided in restarunt is again bad..We had to wait for 45 mins and still the waiter has'nt come to take the order.The hotel management is uncoperative and not willing to help once the issues were raised.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank priyagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trichur
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

hotel location is too good,easy to find hotel.Check in and check out was cool,they have a good parking area,room booked was deluxe room is spacious bed was good and tv was lcd 32 inch.Room was clean and good.toilet was not so good,there was cracks in toilet and flush was not working,they have to do repair or upgrading for bathroom otherwise everything was good..They have too good restaurant attached which have aweseome interiors and exteriors with glass running water and lighting similar to candle light totaly restaurant is too good by look..Chicken biryani was not spicy,except biryani all foods are good ,Especialy chilly gobi and veg foods are good..timing of restaurant is a problem if u wont go early or in their timings u will be left with less choice of menu...If u want a place to stay then this hotel ideal with budget price and facilities if u expect too much luxury then better skip this hotel .Its an average budget hotel with basic requiremnts

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing road lot of vehicle horns night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nidhin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kochin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Currently I am at BKR ooty gate hotel. THE STAY HERE HORRIBLE! The room and bathrooms are not at all clean. Rooms with lot of insects flying around and no proper lightings. We comminucated to the management many times but there is no proper response. The only reason for staying here is we have paid the amount in advance. Not at all advisable if you are looking for a budget hotel. n

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anoop R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel is good. Though we faced small problem with Water heater, they fixed it quickly. We had breakfast in the same hotel. We can find many restaurants around and we tried one for each day :)
We felt location of the hotel convenient

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naga_Vamsidhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Bird
Hotel Blue Bird
#58 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
44 reviews
2.2 mi away
Blue Hills International
Blue Hills International
#29 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
151 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
#51 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#16 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
627 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ponmari Residencyy
Ponmari Residencyy
#24 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
315 reviews
1.8 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooty Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty Gate Hotel

Property: Ooty Gate Hotel
Address: Coonoor Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 84 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 84 rooms of different category. We do have two restaurants, one bar and one conference hall of capacity 75 pax. Ample car parking facility is also there for our valued guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ooty Gate Hotel India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing