We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience with this Hotel”
Review of Ooty Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ooty Gate Hotel
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Experience with this Hotel”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Nice Experience with this Hotel.
I dont want to put the positives because everything looks good only. So the Con is: For this amount, we felt it would be better to have room heaters. (which may not be possible for them)
One more point is - Food in the restaurant is not up to the mark. But the good point with this hotel is - with a 5-10 mins, walk - we can find good food restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
4 Thank Vamseekrishna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    27
    26
    10
    18
See reviews for
40
27
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

hospoitality was good but the food and room maintainance was worse.
but the hotel is near to the market which is convinent for market which is convinent.
and the travels in the hotel was costiler than the market values

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandeep T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good Budget Hotel with good locality. And is located at a walkable distance to Botanical Garden, Rose Garden and Charring Cross(Main market Place in OOTY) and other Visiting Place ie: OOty Lake is around 6-7 Km's and the Rest are Some What Far ie: inbetween 10-15 Km's.

I had stayed in Super Deluxe Room which is confortable and cozy for a couple and had valley View which had a good view early in the Morning.Hotel Rooms cleanily maintained and the room service was also very good and punctual and also during Peak Season the Management arranged me for an early check in which i really appreciate .

Variety of Breakfast were served and was good .
Had a very Comfortable stay here at this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms with Valley Facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tousif3211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

its was a good hotel and a comfortable service but not as much as i expected
the rooms were okay not that good the staff was not that cooperative but a good balanced service,the locality was also good

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Fairoz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels

Kozhikode, India
2 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Old rooms, peeling paint, unwashed bed sheets, unclean toilets, high room rent. That kind of sums my experience at bkr ooty gate. The only positives were adequate parking & good location.We had to change 3 rooms before we could get a somewhat satisfactory room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank drkclt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you are looking for just a decent, spacious,clean place to stay, its good, Not a luxurious kind, but have all basic facilities(internet, parking, restaurant,hotwater). Its in a very peaceful area and near to market and Rose garden too.
Ooty city have lot many hotels, if you are not looking for some 5 star hotel, then go for it, its spacious and decent hotel. I found it one of the good hotels in ooty. No LCD TV, simple TV with very less TV channels, Staff is helpful and decent.

Room Tip: Restaurant food is not Good, Tea is awesome. Not luxurious but have all basic facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prerna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We Stayed at this hotel on 15-01-2013 to 17-01-2013 booked through Yatra.com with the condition of 2+1 x 3 rooms for 9pax. At the time of booking 2+1 option was opted and got confirmed @ Rs.14453 for 2nights 3 days. But when we reach they wont allow you to stay 2+1 and we asked to call yatra for that. We argued and had a fight then at last we got the rooms.

Location was little distance from Ooty main bazzar and walkable distance to Charringcross junction. Best thing in this Hotel was BAR -bcas the rates are affordable and quite need too.
But all the times they have limited stocks only. Restaurant was Horrible and the food was not at all good and eatable. Hot water also so not available 24hrs & room service was not satisfied.

My Suggesstion is - If you are willing to travel this hotel with Friends is ok, But with Family i dont things so.

Room Tip: Better get lower level rooms as evening breeze was too cold in top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vinodh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Bird
Hotel Blue Bird
#58 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
44 reviews
2.2 mi away
Blue Hills International
Blue Hills International
#30 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
151 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
#50 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#17 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
627 reviews
2.2 mi away
Astoria Residency
Astoria Residency
#13 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
315 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ponmari Residencyy
Ponmari Residencyy
#23 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooty Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty Gate Hotel

Property: Ooty Gate Hotel
Address: Coonoor Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 84 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 84 rooms of different category. We do have two restaurants, one bar and one conference hall of capacity 75 pax. Ample car parking facility is also there for our valued guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ooty Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ooty Gate Hotel India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing