We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was a average hotel”
Review of Ooty Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ooty Gate Hotel
Reviewed September 4, 2013

hospoitality was good but the food and room maintainance was worse.
but the hotel is near to the market which is convinent for market which is convinent.
and the travels in the hotel was costiler than the market values

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Sandeep T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Ooty Gate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 91 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good Budget Hotel with good locality. And is located at a walkable distance to Botanical Garden, Rose Garden and Charring Cross(Main market Place in OOTY) and other Visiting Place ie: OOty Lake is around 6-7 Km's and the Rest are Some What Far ie: inbetween 10-15 Km's.

I had stayed in Super Deluxe Room which is confortable and cozy for a couple and had valley View which had a good view early in the Morning.Hotel Rooms cleanily maintained and the room service was also very good and punctual and also during Peak Season the Management arranged me for an early check in which i really appreciate .

Variety of Breakfast were served and was good .
Had a very Comfortable stay here at this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms with Valley Facing.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tousif3211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

its was a good hotel and a comfortable service but not as much as i expected
the rooms were okay not that good the staff was not that cooperative but a good balanced service,the locality was also good

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Fairoz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Old rooms, peeling paint, unwashed bed sheets, unclean toilets, high room rent. That kind of sums my experience at bkr ooty gate. The only positives were adequate parking & good location.We had to change 3 rooms before we could get a somewhat satisfactory room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank drkclt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you are looking for just a decent, spacious,clean place to stay, its good, Not a luxurious kind, but have all basic facilities(internet, parking, restaurant,hotwater). Its in a very peaceful area and near to market and Rose garden too.
Ooty city have lot many hotels, if you are not looking for some 5 star hotel, then go for it, its spacious and decent hotel. I found it one of the good hotels in ooty. No LCD TV, simple TV with very less TV channels, Staff is helpful and decent.

Room Tip: Restaurant food is not Good, Tea is awesome. Not luxurious but have all basic facilities.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prerna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We Stayed at this hotel on 15-01-2013 to 17-01-2013 booked through Yatra.com with the condition of 2+1 x 3 rooms for 9pax. At the time of booking 2+1 option was opted and got confirmed @ Rs.14453 for 2nights 3 days. But when we reach they wont allow you to stay 2+1 and we asked to call yatra for that. We argued and had a fight then at last we got the rooms.

Location was little distance from Ooty main bazzar and walkable distance to Charringcross junction. Best thing in this Hotel was BAR -bcas the rates are affordable and quite need too.
But all the times they have limited stocks only. Restaurant was Horrible and the food was not at all good and eatable. Hot water also so not available 24hrs & room service was not satisfied.

My Suggesstion is - If you are willing to travel this hotel with Friends is ok, But with Family i dont things so.

Room Tip: Better get lower level rooms as evening breeze was too cold in top floors.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vinodh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for one night on 3rd december 2012, bedsheet and bathroom was good,good parking facility,double bedroom cost us 1500 rupees,24 hours hot water,service was ok,we didnot have food here as it has a bar attached.we had breakfast in hotel durga.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the hills
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SayedHassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Bird
Hotel Blue Bird
#59 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
44 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sanjay Hotel
Sanjay Hotel
#39 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
111 reviews
2.2 mi away
Blue Hills International
Blue Hills International
#34 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
RK Holiday Homes
RK Holiday Homes
#20 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
135 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Preethi Classic Towers
Hotel Preethi Classic Towers
#60 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
101 reviews
1.8 mi away
FabHotel Khems Ooty
FabHotel Khems Ooty
#30 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooty Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty Gate Hotel

Address: Coonoor Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 85 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $17 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 84 rooms of different category. We do have two restaurants, one bar and one conference hall of capacity 75 pax. Ample car parking facility is also there for our valued guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ooty Gate Hotel India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing