We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ooty Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ooty Gate Hotel
Ranked #64 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“family hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and book 2 rooms. View from our room was good. Food was average kerala style. Front office boys were co-operative. Its perfect for group booking. The hotel is pretty old and 2 km from Transport bus stand. Good parking space available.

Room Tip: Higher floors are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prchandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    27
    25
    10
    17
See reviews for
39
26
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We Booked 3 Rooms And It Was A Great Place To Stay. The View From Our Room Was Awesome Which Could Not Be Expressed In Words. Food Was Nice But Please Dont Have Rice Because They Only Provide Fat Rice. Roti And Curry Is A Good Choice. Only Problem Are Toilets. The Toilets Are Old. The Best Thing Was The Small Playing Ground For Children Where Slides Were There. My Little Kid Enjoyed Playing Slides. Except Wash Room Everything Else Was Nice!!!

Room Tip: Do Not Select The Room Facing Road Because It Would Be Disturbance For You!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mudabbir U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Pathetic experience with traumatic food n drunk staff, worst of memories to carry from hotel side.
None of the committed services offered, extravagant rates and quality less then roadside Dhaba.
Did not adjusted their own given discount coupons at the time of check in.

Room Tip: bargain as much as you can, dont follow agents or drivers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank varunsaroha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty hotels

Malappuram, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Beautiful ooty but ordinary looking ooty gate. There wasnt anything attractive about this hotel. Was a bad choice but the only reason for making that choice is that they were pretty flexible at their check out timing. Otherwise its a complete NO-NO. But perfect place for college groups or any other groups.

Other than that i must say rooms were clean and staffs were good. But they don't have an ambience that is inviting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sherin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

we had book two rooms in this hotel for two nights through makeMyTrip.Must say ,terrible choice.While booking they had shown us these amazing facilities which were nowhere in the hotel like an A/C for instance.there were no proper lights in the room let alone an air conditioner.The bathrooms were dirty and stinky and on ordering room service ,the staff sends a bellboy with a room freshner ,trying to make the room smell worse.He just sprayed in the entire room and left, and we all were just standing there ,startled,thinking he would have gone to get his equipments but he just left. well,when we were trying to forget all this stupidity,we were robbed ,some very expensive oils,our chargers were missing.On complaining,the staff treated us in a terrible manner,treated females disrespectfully,calling names.DISGUSTING!! and to worsen our problems the buffet breakfast which was complimentary was terrible,the food was horrible, not hygienic. so overall,this trip cost me a lot. I had book through makeMyTrip for the first time and this is definately the last.i would also like to say that we fulfill almost all your clauses for a money refund.and i would like you to take some action against this hotel.or atleast dont put fake things on the website and destroy the best moments of peopes lives,their holidays.Only time they can spend with their family.

Room Tip: dont book through makeMyTrip and if you are dont let go yourself with whats written on the website.N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ambika m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

We booked the hotel via travel guru, so the hotel was listed with best price. The first room given to us was smelling, also it was the front room with wall size windows, and as the hotel was on the road side, the noise of the vehicles was very irritating too, also the sun was rising in the room. But on requesting the room was changed.
Pros:
1. Hotel is centrally located, near to bus n train station, also to the near by attractions.
2. Rooms are spacious.
3. Good parking facility.
4. Room service was quick.
Cons:
1. Many other better hotels are situated near by , at a lil higher price.
2. Furniture and walls were very shabby.
3. No room service, only tea and coffee, that to at fixed time.
4. Had only one time dinner , that to buffet which was good in taste, so can't comment on the food quality.
5. In short, if ur tight on budget then only book it.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank macbhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

we have booked hotel for sweet room for 24 to 26 dec , jst enter in the room like Rs 200 rent for one day in delhi.. but hotel are charged 3600 Rs per day .. Very Very bad hotel but location is good. very bad food ...never stay and never recommend to frnds ...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank KAPILKHURANA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
2.2 mi away
Blue Hills International
1.3 mi away
Hotel Blue Bird
Hotel Blue Bird
#52 of 78 in Ooty
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ponmari Residencyy
Ponmari Residencyy
#22 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#13 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooty Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty Gate Hotel

Property: Ooty Gate Hotel
Address: Coonoor Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ooty Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 84 rooms of different category. We do have two restaurants, one bar and one conference hall of capacity 75 pax. Ample car parking facility is also there for our valued guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ooty Gate Hotel India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing