We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like its guests, Hotel Mount View needs some TLC!”
Review of Hotel Mount View

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ooty
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mount View
Ranked #68 of 82 Hotels in Ooty
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Like its guests, Hotel Mount View needs some TLC!”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Simple things make staying away from home pleasurable.

Privacy; For instance, it would have been nice if Philip the Manager didn't patrol around our verandah every ten minutes;

Enough towels, toilet paper, soap; For instance, it would have been nice if Suresh just used some initiative and bought one roll of toilet paper at the nearby shop for 50 cents. His solution of arguing for three hours in increasingly inane episodes was childish. It also left us with a bad first impression;

If you say Bed & Breakfast, then do just that.

Hospitality: Care about your guests comfort; For instance, it would have been nice if Philip or Suresh made an effort. Both of them have no idea about hospitality.

Somewhere to put your feet up; For instance, it would have been nice if the room had chairs and tables on its verandahs. We had breakfast on the bare floor. Did I mention that it is USD60 per night?

It is one thing that Mount View charges triple what it says in the guidebooks, it is another that it cannot get simple hospitality right.

My suggestion: Get some friendly female staff and new management.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
10
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

as ooty is very cold already, you will have a hard and cold time in the hotel, the promise to have hot water, but they make it always to late, to late for your trips with the train or your hiking trips. really bad hotel!!!

pros:
- good location

cons:
- very dirty, see picture
- they promise the have hot water on certain time, but they just lie

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joe_19751975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty hotels

bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Stayed in this hotel and the building seems to be over a century old and some rooms are scary with the colonial style. Even the furnitures are very old and horrible.
We were freezing in this hotel. Not worth the money i paid here. Food is okay and hotwater is available only in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank masidav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karnataka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2009

A colonial bungalow in the heart of the city yet a very very quiet place.

Good: Excellent food, service is good,Hot water, Quite place,well kept rooms with king sized beds.nice garden,surrounded by greenery and most of all, its not at all heavy on the finances.
Bad: heater is available,but u hav to ask. the wooden floors need some polishing.

a very nice place to stay in ooty.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsmeinere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.8 mi away
The Surya Village
The Surya Village
#19 of 82 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
0.4 mi away
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#15 of 82 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Flora Amberley Resort
4.1 mi away
Global Village Ooty
Global Village Ooty
#7 of 82 in Ooty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mount View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mount View

Property: Hotel Mount View
Address: Ettines Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 82 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount View India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing