We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget Home like stay opposite The Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Reflections Guest House
Ranked #42 of 134 Ooty B&B and Inns
Vadodara, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
119 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Budget Home like stay opposite The Lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stay opposite the lake in Ooty at a walking distance from the railway station at this lady owned Home stay like Budget Hotel.She does not take in any Guests.Book on telephone and enjoy the gasps of Others who spend double what you spare for this Anglo Indian Lady to live across the lake with all attractions and bazaar at walking distance from this budget place.We stayed with my family of Three children 24,22 and 14 years,two garden view rooms from where you can see alm ost all of Ooty.There are some places In Ooty where the STAY and luxury attracts you.But if you have come not to just sit around but enjoy all that Neelgiris offer to you then this is the place for you.Not that you cannot sip coffee sitting on the terrace garden overlooking whole ooty or eat a hearty home style egg and bread breakfast or pre ordered meals on dining table within.call 0423 2443834/2445800. Ref G H-North lake road see on net maps if you want to see exact location.

Room Tip: ask for the room at the top at trrace garden if you want freedom ..or inner Home bed rooms if not
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santhemant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    29
    21
    10
    13
See reviews for
23
30
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was my second stay at Reflections. and unless specific reasons, I would prefer staying here every time. I stayed first in 2009 summers and now in 2013 March. We two small families went together on an extended weekend. The rooms are as per your need, remember this is a homestay, not a resort and you are paying a mere 880/- a day. Rooms are comfortable with TV. You dont need FAN/AC, so its not there. Few remarkable feaures make it a value for money - the garden terrace, try to take that floor and not the top one. The top one might get verrry cold at night. Second one is the tea garden staring almost immediately behind the guest house. Third - the view you get from the top floor at night and early morning.Rachel runs the show. She is very professional. However, we didnt get the garden terrace floor the first day. Seems it was a communication gap. Food is chargeable, but you can better walk 20 mtrs and reach a restaurant. The Pykara tour bus comes in the morning to the door step, you can board it. Rachel has a very good updated info on sight seeing which will be worth picking up. Railway station and market are walkable distace away, which makes your life more comfortable. One pain point - the helping boy comes in evening, so, if you are checking in or out during his absence, be ready to carry your luggage up/down ! This time they were all packed, so, we had to leave by 12, probably timelines are not that rigid otherwise, not sure.

Room Tip: Take the Garden tarrace floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shubhrendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANGALORE
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Cheerful and comfortable – the Guest house hoarding states and these words I completely agree with . Reflections is a small guest house run by Rachael, and her small team . It is half a kilometer from the railway station as you walk towards the boat house on the lake and easy to locate .

The main building has the kitchen,dining and common living area and a few guest rooms as well . Higher up on the slope you have additional eight rooms ,we were lucky to get one – as all these rooms have a beautiful view of the lake and also the valley in the distance

Rooms although not large are comfortable and have the basic items placed within . Food here is prepared on order only from a limited menu which has inclination towards continental cuisine as most of the guests here are European . I did not eat here but got first hand information from other guests that it was good

A perfect spot to stay as it very close to main part of the town but yet calm and quite as the guest house was one of the few buildings allowed by the government to be built on the restricted area surrounding the Ootacamund lake .

Room Tip: Rooms on the Upper part of the hill..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUREJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

we went to Ooty in 2011, june and after searching almost 10-12 hotels with huge rent and less space and with a weird smell of Dettol, we found this Guest House near the lake just at last in that line. Runs by one lady and her maid(s) they behave very good and we couldn't expect it will be cheap as Rs.700/- per room per day. though the food inside was little costly but doesn't make any sense if u r having it outside. we took two rooms and other rooms were already occupied by foreigners, only we were the indian over there.
Again we are going to visit Ooty in June'13 and planning to book the same.
location is great, price is cheap, good behaviour..what else is required??

Room Tip: try to get the upstairs, first floor. view of Doddabetta peak is awesome from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChanBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drunen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Reflections is a good choice in Ooty as it is away from the noise and bustle of the center of town. It looks out over the reflections lake, and because a lot of the rooms are a little bit up the hill, you won't even notice the small amount of traffic on the road below.

The people running this guesthouse are really friendly and it feels like a homestay. The negative comments in the LP and on tripadvisor about having to pay extra for toilet paper -- isn't that the same everywhere in India?? And yes, you will only have hot water in the morning and have to pay extra if you want it in the evenings, but there's a good reason why they do that (shortage of power and water).

One of the best reasons to stay here is that they have a nice terrace outside and a communal room inside where you can meet fellow travellers. The food is average and overpriced, but is an easy option as the main town is a 15 minute walk.

The room was clean but musty.

Room Tip: The rooms in the upper building have a good view and a garden space in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SquirrelAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alappuzha, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

first off:
it seems like there is someone in ooty, who has another guest house and is in competition with this guest house and writing bad reviews on the internet and on the lonely plant pages.

I stayed at this place for four nights, I met five other travelers from europe and all of us agreed, that this place is absolutely great. The price is the same as the other guest houses on that road (we paid 700 for a double room with hot water in the mornings and tv).
Sure, it is a budget hotel but the location is really nice next to the lake (lake does not smell). The rooms are away from the road, so there is no noise from passing cars, and the rooms are spacious and clean, as are the bathrooms. It is within walking distance to the bus and train station, but not in a busy part of town.
The woman who run the guest house are not at all annoying but very unobtrusive and kind, she even helped us and explained our train tickets.
It is true, that you have to pay 20 rp for toilet paper, but travelling in india and staying in budget hotels this should not be a surprise to you. There are no hidden costs for blankets or anything else, as some reviews suggest.
There are verandas where one can sit in the sun or have breakfast, and in the evenings one can sit in the living room. If it gets too chilly, one can light the fireplace for 150 rp an hour, shared by all the guests gathering around it.
If i came back to Ooty, I would not hesitate to stay in this place again.

Room Tip: same same but different
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrone-Kranold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights and it suited our budget, but wasn't the friendliest of places. The communal area (the living room) was a good spot to meet other travellers as dinner was served here (food not fantastic, but an easy option). The room was very damp and not really that clean. Also the host was not too helpful... it felt as though she has had enough of running a guest house. Close to the bus station (5 mins walk) but some way from the centre.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank beantravelling88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.5 mi away
RK Holiday Homes
RK Holiday Homes
#21 of 78 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Hills International
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#16 of 78 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Green Apple Residence
0.9 mi away
Vedanta Wake Up - Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reflections Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reflections Guest House

Property: Reflections Guest House
Address: Reflections Guest House North Lake Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Reflections Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Reflections Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reflections Guest House India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing