We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheerful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Reflections Guest House
BANGALORE
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Cheerful Place”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Cheerful and comfortable – the Guest house hoarding states and these words I completely agree with . Reflections is a small guest house run by Rachael, and her small team . It is half a kilometer from the railway station as you walk towards the boat house on the lake and easy to locate .

The main building has the kitchen,dining and common living area and a few guest rooms as well . Higher up on the slope you have additional eight rooms ,we were lucky to get one – as all these rooms have a beautiful view of the lake and also the valley in the distance

Rooms although not large are comfortable and have the basic items placed within . Food here is prepared on order only from a limited menu which has inclination towards continental cuisine as most of the guests here are European . I did not eat here but got first hand information from other guests that it was good

A perfect spot to stay as it very close to main part of the town but yet calm and quite as the guest house was one of the few buildings allowed by the government to be built on the restricted area surrounding the Ootacamund lake .

Room Tip: Rooms on the Upper part of the hill..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUREJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    21
    10
    14
See reviews for
25
31
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

we went to Ooty in 2011, june and after searching almost 10-12 hotels with huge rent and less space and with a weird smell of Dettol, we found this Guest House near the lake just at last in that line. Runs by one lady and her maid(s) they behave very good and we couldn't expect it will be cheap as Rs.700/- per room per day. though the food inside was little costly but doesn't make any sense if u r having it outside. we took two rooms and other rooms were already occupied by foreigners, only we were the indian over there.
Again we are going to visit Ooty in June'13 and planning to book the same.
location is great, price is cheap, good behaviour..what else is required??

Room Tip: try to get the upstairs, first floor. view of Doddabetta peak is awesome from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChanBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drunen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Reflections is a good choice in Ooty as it is away from the noise and bustle of the center of town. It looks out over the reflections lake, and because a lot of the rooms are a little bit up the hill, you won't even notice the small amount of traffic on the road below.

The people running this guesthouse are really friendly and it feels like a homestay. The negative comments in the LP and on tripadvisor about having to pay extra for toilet paper -- isn't that the same everywhere in India?? And yes, you will only have hot water in the morning and have to pay extra if you want it in the evenings, but there's a good reason why they do that (shortage of power and water).

One of the best reasons to stay here is that they have a nice terrace outside and a communal room inside where you can meet fellow travellers. The food is average and overpriced, but is an easy option as the main town is a 15 minute walk.

The room was clean but musty.

Room Tip: The rooms in the upper building have a good view and a garden space in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SquirrelAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alappuzha, India
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2012

first off:
it seems like there is someone in ooty, who has another guest house and is in competition with this guest house and writing bad reviews on the internet and on the lonely plant pages.

I stayed at this place for four nights, I met five other travelers from europe and all of us agreed, that this place is absolutely great. The price is the same as the other guest houses on that road (we paid 700 for a double room with hot water in the mornings and tv).
Sure, it is a budget hotel but the location is really nice next to the lake (lake does not smell). The rooms are away from the road, so there is no noise from passing cars, and the rooms are spacious and clean, as are the bathrooms. It is within walking distance to the bus and train station, but not in a busy part of town.
The woman who run the guest house are not at all annoying but very unobtrusive and kind, she even helped us and explained our train tickets.
It is true, that you have to pay 20 rp for toilet paper, but travelling in india and staying in budget hotels this should not be a surprise to you. There are no hidden costs for blankets or anything else, as some reviews suggest.
There are verandas where one can sit in the sun or have breakfast, and in the evenings one can sit in the living room. If it gets too chilly, one can light the fireplace for 150 rp an hour, shared by all the guests gathering around it.
If i came back to Ooty, I would not hesitate to stay in this place again.

Room Tip: same same but different
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrone-Kranold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights and it suited our budget, but wasn't the friendliest of places. The communal area (the living room) was a good spot to meet other travellers as dinner was served here (food not fantastic, but an easy option). The room was very damp and not really that clean. Also the host was not too helpful... it felt as though she has had enough of running a guest house. Close to the bus station (5 mins walk) but some way from the centre.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank beantravelling88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed for five nights on an extended birding trip to the subcontinent. Basic accomodation but clean and comfortable with nice garden to relax in. Food was fine and reasonably priced, cheap laundry and very friendly owner and staff. Hot water was erratic but you were told when it would be available. Very convenient for train and bus stations. Easy walking distance for shops, bars and restaurants although plenty taxis/tuktuks if you need them. Good birding at Botanical gardens and surrounding areas with plenty to see by scanning over the lake. Great value for money and would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RabandAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2012

this is superb place to stay,the rooms are clean & airy
view from the room is also good as it is on the main road
u have easy access to the marketplace
food is a hitch for vegetarians as the hotels close by 9:30-10:00pm at night
non vegetarians can have a great time as they have a wide choice
overall i had a great time with my family with lots of sightseeing travelling & shopping............
go ahead enjoy ........................ooty & its mesmerising flowers & gardens,tea estates,&green mountains..........

Room Tip: any room in reflection guesthouse is worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revathikrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
#24 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
RK Holiday Homes
RK Holiday Homes
#21 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
134 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
FabHotel Khems Ooty
FabHotel Khems Ooty
#35 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Green Apple Residence
Hotel Green Apple Residence
#40 of 143 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vedanta Wake Up - Town Center
Vedanta Wake Up - Town Center
#51 of 196 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reflections Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reflections Guest House

Property: Reflections Guest House
Address: 1b Reflections Guest House North Lake Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Reflections Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Reflections Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reflections Guest House India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing