We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emerald of Ooty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Ooty
Mumbai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Emerald of Ooty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is a good option in Ooty especially when you want to actually feel you are in Ooty. Therefore in my opinion this hotel ranking should be far above #25 ideally it should definitely be in the first 15 hotels.

This hotel is located in some very forested environs while being very much in Ooty. The road from Charing Cross, after all the market and the bus stand, is very forrested. Opposite the Shephard school in the lower part of Fern Hill you have this Hotel. Soon as you enter thru the gate and are inside the estate you see a beautiful bunglow type property which belonged to erstwhile Mahaharaja of Mysore.

The Hotel is located whithin Karnataka Horticulture Department estate. As such it is Property with extremely well maintained gardens which are cultured on the slopes below the bunglow.

I arrived late at around 20:00 hrs into Ooty and had slight difficulty locating the Hotel especially since Ooty is quite dimly lit and bereft of proper sign boards. But that was the only difficult experience.

Early first morning when I came out of the room I was greeted by Ooty's enchanting Beauty, chirps and tweets of birds hidden amongst tall Dark trees, sunrays creeping thru mist and trees presenting myriad of light beams, a vast and silent Valley, a dark forested horizon, breath of air as tough oxygen had just been created for the first time and a temprature that compelled me to huddle inside my crossed arms and my breath steaming vapour. The moment was magical and refunded me all my expenses and hardships of the journey in the first few minutes.

That is exactly how I felt overlooking the fluorescent green of the lawns sprawling on the slopes below me.

Thereafter I simply could not stop myself from trying to photograph every corner of the property at different times of the day whilst I attempted to gather the property to take it home.

Simply awesome.

But at the end of the day this is a budget hotel. The rooms are clean but done up in the most simplistic fashion and there is perhaps the touch of a little antiquity about it, like the Dak Bunglows of the Raj times. As a consequence the spaciousness is a byeproduct. I stayed in room 05 which had a large bedroom with a kingsize doublebed, a medium ante room with a large singlebed and a wardrobe and beyond this a very large bathroom equiped with a large water heater a barely equipped basin which had hot water connection and a quite low commode wc.

Actually We stayed in a block which had a large round Dining Room at its entry which in turn led to three guest rooms 04, 05, 06.

Food was OK. Breakfast consisted availability of idli sambar chatni & one more dish either puri & liquid bhaji, or upma or poha was available. Breakfast was not included in the room tarrif. But was quite inexpensive working out to about 190/- for 3 of us including coffees.

We did not have lunch at the hotel.

Dinner food comprised a choice of veg curry which was fine, alu gobi which again was ok, chapatis which were really classic almost exactly the way we make at home, nothing else to write home about food. Usually cost Rs.350/- for 3. Thats that, dont come in expecting gourmet delights, they give you well cooked simple homely food.

Service is on the "wish it was better managed" side. Actually the staff is very good and co-operative but the Hotel is on the KSTDC tour circuit therefore every day they receive busloads of passengers in the evening to cater to. And I fell they are quite understaffed & a little under equipped.

But whatever you request, soap, towel, room heater is provided, trifly late but done.

SLEEP QUALITY is amazing. The place is located in less frequented locale, there is pindrop silence chilled bed to warm and a very warm comfortable quilt to let you sink into deep sleep.

Check out my photos on the Hotel for a better idea.

My room was quite nice. Room No 05.

Tariffs are BUDGET most people can afford them. You can book online > type KSTDC HOtels in google > register > select > Book (credit/debit card / net banking). They give you voucher which you have to carry with you alongwith your photo id.

Go for it if you are looking for a great feel of Ooty minus its urbanisation, and you are NOTalready too addicted to five/3 star type of accomodation quality.

This Hotel is Value For Money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PS_Bhrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    78
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
96
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Good location (No crowd)
Courteous staff
Average food with limited options
Value for money

Overall a good place to have a relaxed stay in Ooty with family. Will definitely chose the same hotel for my future trips.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSrinath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Its an awesome Hotel in Ooty . I have visted ooty Connor both and have visited all the spot which is considered to be a beauty at Ooty . However my Perception change after staying in Mayura Sudarshan Hotel in Ooty . If you are staying in this hotel then you need to go to for sight tour as the garden like seems park and then botanical garden what ever you see in Ooty will not come in to comparison of the hotel Mayura Sudershan. This hotel is more than a resort and so nicely maintained you will feel like staying there only rather visiting any other place in Ooty . In one word if you are going to Ooty and not staying in this hotel you are missing the real beauty of Ooty. I have posted some snap in my face book profile , most of the snaps are taken in the hotel compound , you can see in my face book id Mahendra Sirkar. Now let me tell you the pros and cons of this hotel.

Cons : -
Food is average .
Rooms are good clean but not give luxurious feel from inside but all rooms are cottage type and specious , I am sure you will like it.

Pros : -
Management is very good.
Hotel Manager is very helpful. (Let me share you my experience, I have hired a cab for local tour from the hotel itself and wrong I paid 400 extra to the cab driver . I realize the same when I returned back to Bangalore . I called the Manager of the hotel and inform about the same. Manager immediately accepted my concern and return back the money to my account which I paid extra. This I believe no one will do but this is unique which I notice in this hotel)
Staffs are very helpful
If I have to rate the hotel I will give 100 out of 100.
Closing note :- As the name states "Sudarshan" Hotel is exactly the same as its Name.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MahendraSirkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Mayura Sudarshan is located at Fern hill, from google mapped i thought it is only 2 KM away from lake but you feel more than 4 km because it is located at very quite place.
Hotel compound is very calm and soothing. Staff and Garden are the big PLUS for this this property.
Food wise they need to work hard. Even Masala dosa is not worth trying there.
But when u see their garden then u may forget all above stuff.
Overall, at this price it is very good hotel in Ooty.

Room Tip: Close to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TravelBindass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

At the outset, please note that this is inside Karnataka Horticulture Department - In Ooty, Tamil Nadu.

This covers a huge area, bigger than the Ooty Botanical garden, and very well maintained. Both kids and elders will love the surrounding here.

Location: Away from the hustle/bustle of the city (people who have been in Ooty town, know what I mean). This is located in the serenity of Fernhill, just 3 kms from Ooty Railway Station

Stay: Huge Heritage building rooms available to the tourists.Big and clean spacious rooms with equally big restrooms. Hot water available 24hours.

Food: Good, you will have to call and give it 20 mins and you will get them without fail. Service was nice both in room or the restaurant.

Staff: Very helpful and attentive, would specially mention - Ravi, Shashi and Mr. Suresh Kumar (Manager)

BEST PART - Natural Beauty - Unbound!!

Room Tip: Room No 1 - Closest to reception & restaurant Room - 3, 4, 5 - little away from the above and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sanjoyganguly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Nice View - May be one of the Best in Ooty - Rooms and Service are average but can compensate with the Natural Beauty - Soon its Huge Garden going to be open for general public then Privacy may be compromised - Garden Maintained by Horticulture department is really well maintained.

Rooms need renovation, suffocation and smell inside the room force you to come out of it - outside its really very good scene , Hill view, tea gardens, land escaping - every thing you expect at any hill station in your hotel garden.

During stay of 2 days - Bison spotted in the estate

Room Tip: Take -101 suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hirdeshthakur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in A4. The rooms were big and well maintained ,with excellent garden and mayura sudarshan hotel is best, beautifull, cheap in ooty.... All staffs are well co operated. its run by KARNATAKA GOVT . Thanks to KSTDC .........

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Divdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#14 of 76 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blue Hills International
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#15 of 76 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
RK Holiday Homes
RK Holiday Homes
#22 of 76 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
2.0 mi away
Woodberry Residency
Woodberry Residency
#1 of 76 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty

Property: Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Address: Fern Hill, Ooty 643004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 3-hour drive from Mysore, the picturesque hill-station of Ooty in Tamil Nadu is a popular destination for vacationers. Nestled in the Nilgiri Hills, Ooty is known for its beautiful lake and vast Botanical Garden. The hills around the town abound with evergreen forests, small streams, waterfalls and views of the verdant valleys. Karnataka Hotels Ooty is located in the beautiful green environs of Fern Hill, close to both the bus-stand and the railway station. The accommodation at the hotel consists of 2 suites, 2 deluxe rooms, 9 double bed rooms and 11 three bed rooms. An excellent restaurant provides a range of cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing