We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Nearby Hotels
Ponmari Residencyy(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Treebo Yantra Leisures(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$71
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sterling Ooty Elk Hill(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$134
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Flora Amberley Resort(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Mahindra Derby Green(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$137
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sabol Holiday Resorts(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$115
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sherlock Hotel(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$88
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
34
89
21
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
89
21
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorticulture departmenthuge gardenexcellent gardenlimited optionsbread omletboating facilitysmall teagreen househill areaacres of landmaintained gardenhotel is locatedpooribudget hoteldouble roomnatural beautyheritage building
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 160 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel is situated in a nice place. As usual govt hotel, very less number of staff. The room and bathroom always stinks. Bed sheet and blankets are full of stains. If you ask to change they will just change with it some other room. Over all the hotel is not good to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 467Ashok123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel is owned by KSTDC. As with all government hotels, do not expect prompt service and cleanliness. Also the food lacked variety and was nothing special.
But once you have got rid of this baggage, this hotel is a nature lovers paradise. The garden attached to the hotel is owned by the Horticulture department. The lawns are well manicured. It stretches down right to the bottom of the valley. There are paved winding paths which take to you below to a small water tank. There is also a small tea garden. In short, the perfect place to take long idle strolls! You can also walk along the road outside, which will take you to the tea garden visible from the garden.
The hotel is located on Fern Hill. It would be helpful to have your own vehicle with you. If not, hotel will arrange for autos, which charge a minimum Rs 80-100 for rolling down a kilometer or two down the hill.
We went in the month of May. The weather was pleasant with light showers in the evening. Hotel Sudarshan provided a tranquil place to relax in an otherwise crowded town of Ooty.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saswata88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Visited in mid of July. Since it is rainy season not many guests in the hotel. We had option to select the room. We got a good room sitting area and nice view of the garden outside. The bed and room was decently clean when we entered. Bathroom was good with all modern fittings but washbasin was not cleaned properly. We informed them to clean the bathroom and basin when we were out for dinner but it was not cleaned. We did not use the wash basin throughout our stay.
We stayed there for 2 days. We expected them to do a round of cleaning on the second day of our stay, but they did not do it. On our second day, prover was not there due to some grid failure. They turned on the generator for only an hour in the night and an hour in the morning. because of power failure water heaters fitted in bathroom will not work. So they supplied hot water in buckets for bathing.
Even though it was offseason, we did not get any discount on prices. Charges 1200 + taxes = Rs. 1400/- per day. Food served is average quality with extra cost.

They hotel is located in the campus of Karnataka horticulture dept. So the space and garden around the hotel is very good.
Overall experience was not bad. If they improve the maintenance, it will be a very good hotel for the price.

Room Tip: Choose a on the front side in the main building. These rooms are more airy and you get good view of the garden.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdarshBhadravati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a bad experience in this Hotel. when we checked in there was no power, rooms are not clean, TV is not working, geaser was repaired, They told power will cum in another ten mints, but power was not there for whole night. people at the receiption did not turn up atleast to inform on any updates. service was also poor.rooms roof are not gud , almost we can see spiders and its web.

apart from this, the view from this hotel is good.very good scenary This garden is full of different plants and beautiful flowers.

I feel this hotel is good for only bachelors but not for famly & couple .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhagyanarla09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is owed by KSTDC located at a hill top, not very far from Ooty lake. They have their own private garden just outside the hotel. This garden is full of various plants and beautiful flowers, as good as botanical garden in Ooty. You can spend entire day in this garden and enjoy the scenery.

The room which we booked (double deluxe) was not available when we reached the hotel, which was surprising for us. But, the manager gave us a "suite" in replacement with no extra cost. It was a welcome adjustment for us though it was their mistake not adhering to our booking. The rooms were clean with 24 hour hot and cold water and a fire place. We got a room service for daily breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Food quality was average. The only thing we did not like - Very few items from the menu card were available even in the peak season of April-May. They used to serve only specific items in lunch and breakfast, which was surprising and we had to look out for other options in city.

Overall, it was a nice stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with garden view in front
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnilSoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews