We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Hotel at a affordable price but far away from main Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Ranked #20 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very good Hotel at a affordable price but far away from main Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in this Hotel from 5th to 8th November,2012.It offers one of the best views of Ooty.The rooms are very spacious and clean. The Reception and front office is very
co-operative and helpful..The best thing about this Hotel is its very big garden and surroundings , and very nicely maintained.The place is far away from main town,so it is better to have a vehicle at your disposal

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prasadkalpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    81
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
98
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed in this hotel as part of a packaged tour by KSTDC. The best thing about this hotel is it's location & it's great surroundings. It offers one of the best views in Ooty & the garden is also maintained well. But the property maintenance is poor. The sofas kept in the reception were dirty & looked like nobody cleaned it for several months. We were given a room in the annexe (300 mtrs away from the main hotel building). After checking in we realized that the hot water system is not functioning. As every one knows, we cannot take shower without hot water in that cold climate. I made many requests to the staff to change our room. But even after several complaints nothing happened. Luckily we had a 2nd room occupied by our relates. We brought hot water from there & used. To make the things worst, the service was extremely slow. I asked for a glass of milk for my baby that took more than an hour to deliver, that too after several reminders.

The upkeep of the rooms were poor. The blanket was very dirty & smelling.

Overall I had a bad experience there. The house keeping department need to be pulled up for their bad work.

Room Tip: If you decides to stay at Mayura Sudarshan, insist for a room in the main building. Those rooms look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tpkp1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Awesome location with a huge property. Has a huge and well maintained garden that belongs to the dept. of horticulture, Karnataka govt. This place is a bit far from the main city, so it is better if you have a vehicle at your disposal. The hotel is near Ooty lake, which is a wonderful place for a leisurely stroll in the morning.
Rooms are big and clean but the furniture is old. The bathrooms are big and modern with attached geysers. Some rooms have great view of the valley while some have no such views. Food is simple and there are limited options to choose from.
The rooms are economical and they offer even 5 bedded rooms at decent rates. The staff there is helpful but do not seem to be trained, so you have to ask for towels, soap etc.

Overall, the hotel is great with the location and property being main factors to stay there.

Room Tip: Rooms near reception have better ventilation and are airy. Avoid rooms downhill, they used to be sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vedant_Chaudhari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We visited with our family and found this place at a really awesome location, good scenic beauty on the side with the newly developed Garden. As its not climbing stairs, good for old people as well. We depend on the fooding provided by the Hotel and quality and variety needs to be increased. Staff was very co-operative. Wonderful experience would like to visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms near restaurant and front desk are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sudesh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

The hotel is situated in a picture perfect location right adjacent to the Karnataka horticulture department. This is a heritage property which earlier belonged to the erstwhile Maharaja of Mysore. With a nice view of the valley, we enjoyed the calmness and surrounding beauty of the location which is away from the madding crowd of Ooty. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Staffs are co-operative. When we went there, the renovation of the property, was going on which I believe will take this hotel to the higher level. Food was ok as there was not much to choose from. If you are ok with the distance part( each trip of auto to and from the city centre costs around Rs. 80-100as it is around 3km from the city centre), this would be ideal place to relax and rejuvenate in Ooty.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kaus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Wonderful hotel kudos to KSTDC.
Rooms are old fashioned but maintainence is good.
Scenic beauty around the hotel is very very charming
Hotel is good 3-4 kms away from main city situated close to Boat house
You don't have to step out as they also have a restaurant and food is ok.
Staff is helpful and on request they will also arrange for cmapfire at some extra cost.
There is beautiful garden right in front, if you have children they will just love it!!!
Only thing there is no room service for food, you have to walk upto restaurant to have your food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shareef4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

This is a heritage hotel.
The garden by the side of this hotel is really commendable.
One can really spend long hours in this garden.
I would say this garden is better than the too crowded Ooty Botanical Garden.
Rooms are good.
The suite rooms are wooden floored to keep away the cold.
Very near to the lake but very calm and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SujoBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#13 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Hills International
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#16 of 78 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
2.5 mi away
The Surya Village
The Surya Village
#18 of 78 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
2.0 mi away
Woodberry Residency
Woodberry Residency
#1 of 78 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty

Property: Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Address: Fern Hill, Ooty 643004, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 3-hour drive from Mysore, the picturesque hill-station of Ooty in Tamil Nadu is a popular destination for vacationers. Nestled in the Nilgiri Hills, Ooty is known for its beautiful lake and vast Botanical Garden. The hills around the town abound with evergreen forests, small streams, waterfalls and views of the verdant valleys. Karnataka Hotels Ooty is located in the beautiful green environs of Fern Hill, close to both the bus-stand and the railway station. The accommodation at the hotel consists of 2 suites, 2 deluxe rooms, 9 double bed rooms and 11 three bed rooms. An excellent restaurant provides a range of cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing