We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budgeted stay in the City” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Silver Oak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Silver Oak
Ranked #17 of 134 Ooty B&B and Inns
India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Budgeted stay in the City”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I visited Ooty with family and after hunting for a suitable hotel we finally blocked it. Booked it through yatra.com and made the full payment while booking. Hotel is at the walk-able distance from the market place and Rose garden. Food was really good compared to other eat out places near-by. Rooms were decent but the room service was not upto the mark. I will recommend this hotel if you are on a family trip and looking for a budgeted hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a valley view will be a best pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquarian_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    49
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
44
31
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Sumukha's Kitchen has great quality food, but only coffee is in bad taste. One should try 'Nilgiris Vegetable Kurma' which is awesome. But food cost is little bit high in sumukha's kitchen and needs to pay 10% extra as serice charges for food items.

Hot water is available only 6 to 10 am & pm. I stayed 3 nights in Silver Oak, rooms are clean and service is good, but sometimes rooms are not cleaned and only based on my complaint, room service has cleaned the room.

Travel Desk:
-----------------
I don't like the cabs they arrange for sight seeing as the CABs are not in good condition and most of the driver's rash driving scared us...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prathap_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Ok , so I realized an important fact during my stay in Hotel Silver Oak in Ooty, that the reviews written by the travellers are actually relative to their earlier experiences and their Idea of a Hotel Stay vis-à-vis the money they are spending from their allocated tour budget.

So guys, just going through a couple of reviews of a property will not give you a correct picture, you need to read between the lines, gauge the Season , budget and emotion behind the write-up…

This time my Hotel was booked by my Client near his work place. Hotel Sullivan Court was on my radar, but as I was going to be Solo for 3 nights, I decided to experience an Un-Star Hotel as I was going to use it only for night sleeps.

The Taxi from Airport Counter was a Rip-Off , they charged nearly 500 Rupees more for the drop as compared to my return trip, but I guess this is how it works.

The Hotel is near the main Market on a slight Slope, giving a pseudo - experience of a Hill Station.

The room facing the Valley /Road was occupied. So I was given a room facing a wall… (A wall , which was cladding the Mountain at the back ) but with a promise that a good view room would be given to me as soon it became vacant and they did give it to me on my third and last Night. ☺ .

The room was clean but very basic. No fancy lighting, no fancy trappings, grilled up windows, clumsily hung curtains, very less cupboard space, two large 70’s style Sofas with a heavy center table. And a Nice Hard Bed.

Fresh Water was placed in a stainless steel Jug on bed side.

Bathroom was Plain but clean and I was informed about the timing of Hot Water in Taps . Shower was simple and only One Towel was given. After the Hard Day’s work, (I was there on an installation visit) believe it or not, I had the most perfect and sound sleep ever.

The Small Lobby is lined with sofas at the entrance , so it can not used for idling out. This situation lead to a group of 2 young Couples sitting out in a small sit-out at the landing of my floor. Their manner of behaving was a little annoying but what the … , they appeared to be on their first ever group outing as couples.

Staff was polite and wanted to serve. They have a vegetarian restaurant of their own,(Sumuka’s Kitchen) albeit in next building. The Food was Average but the Fresh Morning Steaming Idlies and Hot South Indian Coffee were Out of this World. They had room service, but I chose to have my Breakfast and Dinners, in the restaurant only, except on the last day, when I called for food in the room and the server was quite enthusiastic in serving and delivering… I really don’t know why?

The Taxi to the Coimbatore Airport for my early morning flight was organized by the Hotel. It was right on Time and Driver albeit little sleepy became alert when I pointed this to him.

My Over all stay was Ok. Sleep was Fabulous and Food Average. But at the price I am tempted to rate it as high as 4 Star. So if you are a budget traveller, this would be a good bet in Ooty.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ashish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandigarh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

it was quiet nice to stay in silver oak. rooms are clean and with two sofas and light at ceiling gives it a decent look. the quality of food at SAMUKHA'S KITCHEN was really realllllly good. dosas & curd and daal were good to eat. Room service was available till 10 pm. Badam shake, bournvita shake good to drink. On first floor FISH museum is an attraction. Over all its a good hotel to stay. Quite distant from bus stand.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank gauralgoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Good hotel and Restaurant (Sumukha's Kitchen), close to Rose Garden. Great hotel run professionally.Sumukha's Kitchen has great quality food. The Hotel is located in the heart of city makes you feel at home with the excellent vegetarian food and wonderful service. We have been to that hotel during may ending and found this hotel really great. The service was really awesome and hotel was really beautiful. A few things need to improve lighting in the room,shower and Hot water supply.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank ashu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

This review is just for their restaurant "Sumukha's Kitchen"

Was in ooty with family, while searching for a good place to eat I read about this place my first impression was - "is it a correct place?" but when the food arrived it did live up to all the good review comments.

A good place, don't go by the looks of it; the food taste was really good. A very cost effective option.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Srinath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

I stayed in the hotel from 28April to 1st May 2012 with my wife.
Pro:Hotel location is good, nice room, clean bathrooms
Cons: Hotel food is pathetic & they dont understand the order properly, most of times you will get some thing different.
I stayed there for 3 nights, but they cleaned the room only once after asking at Reception.
Reception Manager is not too polite & I got the room after waiting for 25min at the Reception.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayankmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.6 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.5 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#13 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#15 of 78 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Hills International
0.6 mi away
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Oak

Property: Hotel Silver Oak
Address: Ettines Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Silver Oak 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Silver Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silver Oak India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing