We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good option to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pretty good option to stay”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Hill country is definitely a good option for people who don't mind spending a little bit more for a comfortable stay in ooty. I personally felt the location is ideal on account of the fact that it's far away from the hustle and bustle of the main ooty town and at the same time not very far (lovedale is just about 4kms from charring cross). The hotel offers very good rooms and their servicevis prompt. I will not say the view from the hotel is spectacular because I've seen a lot of other places which offer a better view. However it's definitely decent. The food served is also good. So overall it's a good option. Not the best, but considering all the aspects it's amongst the best.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 4sourabhshukla .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale, responded to this review, November 24, 2014
Thank you sir for the review, it is highly appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    56
    36
    11
    7
See reviews for
89
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Good view.Too many stairs to climb.Dangerous to travel with kids, you can't leave them alone.Old people would find it cumbersome to stay here.Food is terrible,and way too expensive, you have no choice but to comply.Hot running water not available 24 hrs. No central heating.After paying 4-5 star prices, you hardly get any such experience. View is good, but not good enough to sacrifice the comforts you would be expecting.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umang_Lalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale, responded to this review, December 2, 2014
We sincerely regret the inconvenience faced by you during your stay. However, we would also like to clarify certain things in order to give our readers a better chance of judgement. The resort in built on the lap of nature and is the best place in Ooty for those who would want to enjoy their holidays among the scenic natural beauty away from the hustle and bustle of daily city life. No hotel in Ooty has 24 hrs running hot water. The prices that the resort charges for its services are on par with any other well-maintained hotel/resort of the same category on a hill station. We however, take your concerns seriously and will do whatever in our ability to provide the best vacation experience for our guests. Thank your for your feedback, it is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

except for its location there is nothing much sticking about this place ,,the food was just average and so was the service , activities and recreation within the property for children and adults is almost nothing other than a swing and slide , the indoor recreation room needs major upgrade , so does their rooms

Room Tip: not all the rooms are valley facing , if you don't get a valley facing room then no point bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pvn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale, responded to this review, December 2, 2014
Thank you sir for your feedback, it is important to us. We have noted your concerns and we assure you that we will do whatever possible to provide our guests with a memorable holiday experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Positives:
Fantastic location, one of the best in ooty
Very spacious and good rooms
Silent and away from the very crowded section of ooty during season. Still not too far from ooty centre - around 6km
Comfortable beds
Geysers and heaters
Decent activity room - TT, CARROM etc

Negatives:
Horrible service and untrained staff
Took over two hours when we asked for tea bags
Room service staff did not know what is to sterilise milk bottles for kids and asked me to wash the bottles in the kitchen
Expensive dining
Limited spread on breakfast buffet
No children play room
Not worth the price in season
Phones are not picked at times

If I visit again it would be only for the location, view and room comfort.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank iffy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale, responded to this review, December 2, 2014
We are glad to read to about the positives you have mentioned in the review. We also take the negatives mentioned seriously and will do whatever in our ability to provide the best vacation experience for our guests. Thank your for your feedback, it is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Good:
- Place is set on a hill with a valley view. This is the by far the only reason why I may consider to choose this hotel again.
- Rooms are spacious and if you are looking for two rooms, the cottages will suit you better as they come with a hall area.
- A beer in front of the bon fire with family and friends can be a very relaxing experience.
- Breakfast has good variety and tastes decent. Allows you to fill your stomach in the morning before a day long program.
- Staff are service oriented

The Bad:
- Not a suitable place for old people, who have limited mobility or knee problems as the way to move around the place is via large number of steps. There are no lifts or wheelchairs at the hotel. We had to send back my grandmother to stay with our relatives as she could not climb down the steep way down to her room.
- Restaurant service is very slow and you need to keep reminding them about your order before it finally arrives.
- Many hotel booking sites say that this is a 4 star hotel. It is far from it. The rooms are decent but definitely not 4 star quality. The toilet accessories are very old. The shower in my room was broken.
- You need to switch on the geyser 30-40 mins before to get hot water and that too gets exhausted if you fill one bucket of water and then you need to wait again. Haven't seen this in other 4 star hotels ;).
- When you pay 6-7k for a room (per night), you come to expect a lot more other than just the view. The hotel is not bad, its fairly decent. But, the VFM proposition is quiet low.

Room Tip: Cottages are better if you have a large group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AneeshRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This was one of the best experiences i have had at Ooty. Especially after encountering crazy weekend traffic, Hill Country was like paradise. The rooms were very cosy, the premium room has a great view of the hills. The location is amazing and the property was very well maintained. Their south indian breakfast menu was really good as well. We loved the stay so much that we extended it by a day. The staff was very efficient and welcoming. Definitely recommended for people who want peace and quiet !

Room Tip: Take the premium room or the cottage to get a better view of the hills. They also have an extra bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DManey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale, responded to this review, November 24, 2014
Thank you Sir for the review, it is of immense value to us. We are overjoyed to know that you had the best holiday experience at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohali, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed at Hill country Holiday Resort for 2 days during a family tour in March 2014. I had booked the rooms through RPC Holidays. The resort is very well maintained and 10 kms before the main Ooty city and has a splendid view of the valley and mountains. The hospitality and staff are very warm, courteous and make sure you have a comfortable stay. We stayed at premium suite that overlooks the valley. Food is good. Overall, thanks RPC Holidays for making our trip a memorable one. Recommended this resort to all friends who planning their tour to Ooty.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean with view of Valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepikapb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale, responded to this review, November 24, 2014
Thank you Sir for the review, it is of immense value to us. We are overjoyed to know that you had a memorable holiday experience at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
2.5 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,006 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
507 reviews
3.2 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,184 reviews
2.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
781 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale

Property: Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale
Address: Valley View Granduff Road | Lovedale, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643003, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the slope of a gentle hill in the Nilgiri range, overlooking the breathtaking Ketti Valley, the resort provides the perfect escape from the demanding city life. A quiet undisturbed hamlet just a few kilometers short of Ooty, the setting is idyllic and the weather salubrious. For the romantics among you, there is no better place to reignite those sparks as you serenade your partner amidst the gentle hill slopes and wild blossoms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing