We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay at the Sherlock”
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sherlock Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2010

The location, the colonial style bunglow which takes us into the bygone era, the lawns which are the USP of the hotel, the service, all absolutely amazing.....Am raring to go there again

Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
Thank shrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 522 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2010

The plans to go to Ooty were made in a hurry and we hardly had any time to go through our contacts and friends to find a hotel. The online reviews of most of the other popular hotels were OK but we found that most of them were right in the town and we felt we could end up inside the clamor of the Ooty town for most of our stay. Added to it, it was seen that getting 24hrs of hot water was one area that most hotels didn’t provide. That is when we found the website www.littlearth.in and learned more about the Sherlock Property.
We sent mails to them and the response was prompt. The language used in the mails was very professional and in a matter of moments we had our booking confirmed (Mailing address- [--]). Even though the check in time was 1200 noon, we were given the exception to check in early. Sherlock has 9 rooms and each room had a fireplace. We were booked into the Semi deluxe room and the 2 days we spent there was amazing.
Sherlock is set approximately 2 kilometers away on a hill from Charing Cross Signal. This distance is what makes this property, a calm and serene one. It was just my wife and child along with me, and we needed a place to unwind. Since the rooms were just 9 in numbers, the staff was able to take very good care of their guests. The room was spacious and the bathroom was just too awesome. Very clean with plenty of hot water. Since we had a child around, we didn’t opt for the fireplace in lieu of which they gave us room heaters (which was billed of course).
There is a place set aside as reading room and the entire furniture and interior decoration is done in a Victorian style which was soothing to the eyes and added to the calmness of the property. Breakfast was always on time and most of our needs were met by the staff. They never compelled us to opt for their travel desk services, which was in a way good because; we had booked cab for the entire days through a company called Ooty cabs (Mr. Rajan-[--]).
The nights were really pleasant and what a feeling it was take a stroll on the lawns of the Sherlock during the chilly night. This reminds me to mention about the excellent lawns that they have around the property and the staff will be glad to serve coffee to you at the lawn chairs in the morning.
Cons-
1.There is no property that is flawless. Sherlock’s distance, even though good for the calmness it provides, is one drawback for those who have not booked a cab and wanted to use other modes of public transport.
2. The Business center is a bit too unorganized. In fact they do not have a full fledged business center there. But then if you are on a leisure trip, you might not really need this. But I had to use the printer to take the printout of an e-ticket. The login time and printing took less than a minute, but then I had to pay approximately 3 $ for doing so. The management could consider doing something about this cause, the property being set on a hill, we have no options to go out to take print out etc.
Other than this, we do not find any issues for this property and strongly suggest this hotel for anyone who would want to enjoy Ooty in calm and serene environment in a place that really makes you feel safe and pampers you.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank way2anand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We had been to Sherlock during the long week end in April and found the place to be amazing. It was also recommended by my colleague who too had loved the place. The best part about it was the awesome view that the hotel has...The place has about 9 rooms and the food served there was truly awesome. Each of us loved the different menu items that they had. Moreover they prepared separate food for my toddler based on whatever i requested which was really a very helpful and a big relief..

They have the common sitout which has a fireplace setup where you can relax and unwind with your family..Another thing that standout if the beautiful garden area that they have which is very well maintained..All the kids in the hotel loved playing in the garden area..

Overall we had a great time and Sherlock is surely a place to consider in Ooty...

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank its_SandyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Myself and my husband were trying to take a break from our busy routine and this was actually a gift for both of us.This beautifull hotel has few rooms and very difficult to get a booking but we were lucky always. Hotel is actually based on shelock Holmes theme and thats exciting about it.
Its at a hill so the temperature drops at night and hence a good cozy fire is a must. Food little expensive but worth as clean and well served and also the quantity is great.
The best part is it actually takes you close to nature and we both love greenery so we wanted to extend the stay but running out of time.
Overall, A perfect HEAVENLY HOLIDAY for both and trust me its worth taking with your beloved to enjoy the excellent service, food & ambience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOVENATURE_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Really its one of the best experience I had. Though I have visited OOTY around 30 times this visit is very different one because of this resort. Really the place where you stay during the vaccation will make all the difference. For me staying in a hotel in the city wont be a nice one but staying in a resort which is away from the city and has good surronding is my choice always. Sherlock matches and live upto my expectation. Sherlock situated away from the city around 2km from the city and it's of colonial bungalow type. After seeing the overall view of the resort time for the first time ,I had a hope that this is going to be a different stay & one of the best one.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poison_rose2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Its a really good home to stay. Why home? well thats what this boutique hotel is. Its an old english bunglow converted to a hotel in Sherlock Holmes theme. We stayed in the "Baskervilles" room and i have never had such a peaceful sleep in any of the hotels that i have stayed previously.

Service is the main highlight which is quite good and since the place has only 9 rooms the guests are limited and hence, service is pretty quick. One thing is sure, they will never say no for anything you ask, even if its not there they will say let us check.

Overall 1 sentence: Come in as a weary traveler, go out rejuvenated without any spa.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hirak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We stayed @ The Sherlock(part of the Little Earth group,which managed Destiny Farmstay)for 4 nights.The original plan was for two nights and we ended up extending it by two extra nights.

Its right on top of the topmost peak in Ooty called Tiger Hill,summer temperatures were in the range of 5 degrees at night and day temps of around 23 and evening temps of around 12.It must have a degree or two cooler on top as compared to Ooty.

Amazing staff who take care of the smallest need.There are 9 rooms,5 luxury rooms,2 semi deluxe and 2 deluxe.The semi deluxe rooms are in fact better than the luxury ones!We stayed in the luxury rooms and they offer a fantastic view of the valley and hills.Impeccable lawns-green and well manicured.The place is approx 2 kilometers from the town center.

Sherlock is the place to be in if one is looking for a quiet getaway with no noise or activities-a laidback getaway.This is easily by far the best place to stay in Ooty(after having stayed in almost most of the better places in Ooty,I can vouch for Sherlock).

All the rooms are equipped with a fireplace and the staff come around every night with hot water bags and wood to light up the fire.Service was great and food is economical for city dwellers.Breakfast is a part of the tariff and is a well spread fare.Compared with their other property in Ooty-Kings Cliff,Sherlock is definitely reccomended

Cannot wait to go back there for our next holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lifeagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.2 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
530 reviews
2.1 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#4 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
816 reviews
2.0 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $56 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing