We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good place to unwind”
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sherlock Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We had been to Sherlock during the long week end in April and found the place to be amazing. It was also recommended by my colleague who too had loved the place. The best part about it was the awesome view that the hotel has...The place has about 9 rooms and the food served there was truly awesome. Each of us loved the different menu items that they had. Moreover they prepared separate food for my toddler based on whatever i requested which was really a very helpful and a big relief..

They have the common sitout which has a fireplace setup where you can relax and unwind with your family..Another thing that standout if the beautiful garden area that they have which is very well maintained..All the kids in the hotel loved playing in the garden area..

Overall we had a great time and Sherlock is surely a place to consider in Ooty...

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank its_SandyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 533 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2010

Myself and my husband were trying to take a break from our busy routine and this was actually a gift for both of us.This beautifull hotel has few rooms and very difficult to get a booking but we were lucky always. Hotel is actually based on shelock Holmes theme and thats exciting about it.
Its at a hill so the temperature drops at night and hence a good cozy fire is a must. Food little expensive but worth as clean and well served and also the quantity is great.
The best part is it actually takes you close to nature and we both love greenery so we wanted to extend the stay but running out of time.
Overall, A perfect HEAVENLY HOLIDAY for both and trust me its worth taking with your beloved to enjoy the excellent service, food & ambience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOVENATURE_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Really its one of the best experience I had. Though I have visited OOTY around 30 times this visit is very different one because of this resort. Really the place where you stay during the vaccation will make all the difference. For me staying in a hotel in the city wont be a nice one but staying in a resort which is away from the city and has good surronding is my choice always. Sherlock matches and live upto my expectation. Sherlock situated away from the city around 2km from the city and it's of colonial bungalow type. After seeing the overall view of the resort time for the first time ,I had a hope that this is going to be a different stay & one of the best one.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poison_rose2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Its a really good home to stay. Why home? well thats what this boutique hotel is. Its an old english bunglow converted to a hotel in Sherlock Holmes theme. We stayed in the "Baskervilles" room and i have never had such a peaceful sleep in any of the hotels that i have stayed previously.

Service is the main highlight which is quite good and since the place has only 9 rooms the guests are limited and hence, service is pretty quick. One thing is sure, they will never say no for anything you ask, even if its not there they will say let us check.

Overall 1 sentence: Come in as a weary traveler, go out rejuvenated without any spa.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hirak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We stayed @ The Sherlock(part of the Little Earth group,which managed Destiny Farmstay)for 4 nights.The original plan was for two nights and we ended up extending it by two extra nights.

Its right on top of the topmost peak in Ooty called Tiger Hill,summer temperatures were in the range of 5 degrees at night and day temps of around 23 and evening temps of around 12.It must have a degree or two cooler on top as compared to Ooty.

Amazing staff who take care of the smallest need.There are 9 rooms,5 luxury rooms,2 semi deluxe and 2 deluxe.The semi deluxe rooms are in fact better than the luxury ones!We stayed in the luxury rooms and they offer a fantastic view of the valley and hills.Impeccable lawns-green and well manicured.The place is approx 2 kilometers from the town center.

Sherlock is the place to be in if one is looking for a quiet getaway with no noise or activities-a laidback getaway.This is easily by far the best place to stay in Ooty(after having stayed in almost most of the better places in Ooty,I can vouch for Sherlock).

All the rooms are equipped with a fireplace and the staff come around every night with hot water bags and wood to light up the fire.Service was great and food is economical for city dwellers.Breakfast is a part of the tariff and is a well spread fare.Compared with their other property in Ooty-Kings Cliff,Sherlock is definitely reccomended

Cannot wait to go back there for our next holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lifeagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Sherlock hotel is one of the best and well known hotels in Ooty. It offers you a peaceful holiday far from city life. The hotel is situated a little away from Ooty city but it is the main reason for peaceful atmosphere there. The view of the nature from this hotel is just awesome. If you are there you won't feel like roaming and searching for natural views as the hotel itself fulfills that. The service at the hotel is also appreciated. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The food is little expensive but worth it. They offer a good variety of food. There are very less number of rooms here so if you to book one you have to book well in advance. This sherlock hotel is based on the theme of sherlock holmes. It looks like a very well maintained Bunglow.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divyagandhi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

I do agree that the amibence and location is outstanding , but the room is have high terrace and it is very cold . they give me a complement wood which is burnt out in 1 hour, if need to order for another log of wood it cost 100 . So i ordered log of wood and a heater(waste) both are useless , me and my wife struggled very hard to beat the cold. Apart from that food is on the expensive side.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Batman2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.2 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,073 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#16 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
556 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,237 reviews
2.1 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,031 reviews
2 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $52 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing