We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressive place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sherlock Hotel
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very impressive place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at Sherlock hotel for 2 days in June 2013. It was raining season, but it was very impressive place. The location is very beautiful. We had a great warm and good service. We would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ParichatSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at Sherlock resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the location and ambience but also the service our resort offered. even during rainy weather! Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon
Regards
Guest Relations
Sherlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    187
    29
    12
    8
See reviews for
226
177
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Hello everyone, I & my family have stayed in the Sherlock Hotel and we had an extremely exceptional experience. From the minute we walked towards this hotel we were treated great. The hotel staff’s welcomes us by giving a cute smile. The rooms which we got are spacious, clean and tidy. You can experience very friendly environment here. There is one coffee/tea maker in the room. Rooms were 100% clean and with all modern amenities. Front offices staff’s, restaurant staff’s, serving people and housekeeping staff’s are extremely great ones, they are friendly and will help you to any extend.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MelissaBrigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services
We are happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction. We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times
Thanks & regards,
Guest Relations Executive
Sherlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetpet, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here for three days in june 2013 in luxury room and standard room , finding this hotel in ooty was hard task . Once we reached there, we were moved by their service and their attitude towards the guest . Not any particular person , each and every hotel staff made our stay memorable one . Food at restaurant was very good. But prices are little bit on the higher side.i must say that standard room offers best value for money , (just half the price as luxury room) .

Pros
Service,room size , ambience ,

Cons
Little bit over priced , very difficult to navigate to hotel at nignt

Room Tip: Choose standard rooms if available, not much difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Senthil127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at Sherlock resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you felt at home at Sherlock and also enjoyed the food . Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon
Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in late June, 2013. The location was superb! The staffs were very friendly, helpful and can go out of the way to help you. Their food was very delicious and the menu has good options to try. However, they have to improve on basis infrastructure such as better road to reach the resort, air tight rooms (became very cold after the fire is over), availability of heaters, good cot and bed.(!). Fire woods are good but it could not sustain for long and due to heavy wind, the rooms get smoky. Toilet flush was very poor and the wash basin’s water flow was also very slow.

Room Tip: ensure heaters are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Veldurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest
We are really glad to have received your feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our guests really like. We are glad you liked our service and food.Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at a Littlearth Resort soon
Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The first thing I should mention is the location which is outstanding. Add to that the service, quality and beauty of the resort , it is truly outstanding. Overall I would recommend it as the perfect destination for a family outing. Specially my 1 year kid enjoyed the garden with beautiful flowers and lawns. And the view from the resort was one of the best.

Kaustav

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Kaustav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at Sherlock resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the location and ambience but also the service our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon
Regards
Guest Relations
Sherlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

An awesome place with delicious food and we had a terrific time over there.
We stayed in a luxury room that opens to the lawn and the view was mind blowing.
Staff were extremely courteous and we were never left unattended.

Breakfast buffet was quite reasonable.....
Ala carte was amaaaaazingg.... Try out paneer pakoda, rashmi kebab, chicken steak, brownie with ice cream , dum biriyani, etc...

Its away from the commercial places and gives you such an awesome view.

Room Tip: Opt for the luxury rooms that opens up to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank achin u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at Sherlock resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the location and the service offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon
Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very nice location and very nice place !!! Service is good... Rooms are very good and comfy !!! It was a good experience at Sherlock !!! The food was good both continental and Indian were good.... Overall it was a good stay... And would go back again!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chocolate1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at Sherlock resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the location and ambience but also the service and food our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon
Regards
Guest Relations
Sherlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.3 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
0.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.9 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Property: Sherlock Hotel
Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ooty
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing