We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Review about Sherlock -Stay Date April 15th to 16th”
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sherlock Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Palakkad, Kerala, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My Review about Sherlock -Stay Date April 15th to 16th”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My family and my friend who accompanied me from Nigeria stayed in Sherlock on 15th April2013. The first impression was goo, cleanliness was good. The food quality was very poor for lunch as well as dinner. Breakfast was not far, but the worst experience was water. There was no water on 16th morning till 11.00 am. after repeated requests from me and my family the answers given was very poor. i was forced to take shower from another room. my kids could not take shower. Late the manager explained there was no water in the Hotel and they were expecting water very soon. Another family who was staying for more than 2 days told me they had the same issue the previous day. One of my worst holiday stays ever, was forced to check out by 11.00am. Friends this rating of no:1 is not right at all. Please go Savoy you might pay a bit extra the hospitality, comfort level, food is too good. Sherlock was a nightmare .........

Room Tip: Please stay in TAJ SAVOY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Praveenpangerugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest
At the outset we thank you for taking time to write your experience on Trip Advisor.We really value all your feedback as it gives us a chance to grow and improve on our services.
We are really sorry for the poor experience regarding the unavailability of water This is not typical of our Property. Having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our guests and realize we have fallen short of the same on this occasion due to the extreme shortage of water in OOTY as a town due to the very poor monsoon the last year. Although we were willing to purchase the water at any price , the vehicle was still not providing the same for that day due to shortage.This was something that was not in our hands at all. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought up will be taken up on a priority basis. We also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.
Thanks and Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    191
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
237
182
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Hi all,
i was in sherlock with my family from 28th april - 1st may. Overall the experience was great. Sherlock has a great garden and a good restaurant. Quality of the staff is also excellent. After reaching there we spent most of our time in the well maintained garden. Rooms are also kept clean.They have only nine rooms and hence not crowded. Last but not the least, a special word about the manager and front office..... they are willing to help at any time and very cordial. They played a major role in making our trip memorable.
Kudos to the entire Sherlock team!
Santosh

Room Tip: Book the deluxe rooms since they face the garden and has a good view of the mountains( all of them)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sankrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at Sherlock resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the location and ambience but also the service our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon
Regards
Guest Relations Sherlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This Hotel is on top of a small hill on OOTY Hill!
its beautiful! front office people, chef, serving people are very good ones, they are friendly and will help you to any extend. i needed pain killer and pain ointment! these guys went down from hotel to city and got it for me. very care taking guys.
rooms are nice, garden area is amazing! its number 1 hotel in ooty...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumeeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services.We are happy to be of assistance to you in getting your medication from the town.
We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times
Thanks & regards,
Guest Relations Executive
Sherlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

As we arrived at reception, the front office lady came out from her office and she greeted me, we enter the office the house keeping lady came with the face towel and welcome drinks.
And this excellent personal service continued throughout our stay, after dinner we got a hot water bottle and fire its very nice in ooty.
Rooms are very big and clean and well equipped - and all have Wi-Fi.
Room service is available for any time and promptly fulfilled.
All in all, thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaya683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at Sherlock. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you enjoyed the service and atmosphere Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon
Regards
Guest Relations
Sherlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

After reading very good reviews for this hotel on TA, i decided to book this one for our anniversary visit to Ooty. Since the previous 2 trips had been to Wayanad and Coorg and had stayed in homestays both the times, I dint want another homestay experience(not that my previous experiences were bad, but this time i wanted a "normal" hotel). First of all, we reached Ooty after dark and found it quite difficult to locate the place. Its on top of a hill winding roads lead to it. Sign boards are neither large enough nor enough in number. Thankfully another car(also from Bangalore) came along and offered to help us reach there. Since we were tired, we decide to have dinner there (dint wanna come down to the town again). The food is nothing to boast of. If you see the kitchen, you ll swear never to eat here again :-(. We paid Rs.700 for a pathetic dinner for two. The room was quite small, though managable. The bathroom was big and clean. Thankfully there was hot water too. It was quite cold, even for April end so we asked for a heater, which they provided.
The highlight was the next morning. The view at sunrise was amazing. The location is really nice. You can sit in the lawn and sip a hot cup of coffee and enjoy the morning mist. The breakfast buffet was again bad. The upma was dry and the idli was not at all soft.
If you choose thios hotel, make sure you have a vehicle of your own and also dont depend on the food there.Its best to hav dinner in Ooty town before retiring for the night.

Room Tip: For double the price, you can choose the room with a balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnagara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Public Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest
At the outset we thank you for taking time to write your experience on Trip Advisor.We really value all your feedback as it gives us a chance to grow and improve on our services.We are glad that you enjoyed the location and the property.
We are really sorry for the food served was not upto your expectations and that you found it difficult to find the property. This is not typical of our staff or Property. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought up will be taken up on a priority basis. We also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you
Thanks and Regards
Guest Relations
Sherlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of January 2013 during a fairly hectic 6 weeks in India. It was a truly wonderful place to stay, remote from the hustle and pollution of the town but near enough to do the sight seeing things.

The room was of a fair size with some very nice touches including a fire in the evening. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them. They arranged a car for our onward travel at a very fair price.

The breakfasts and dinners were excellent, with plenty of choice. Can't comment on lunch as we never had room to eat it. The only slight drawback here is that you have to let them k now in advance if yu want a drink with your meal as there is no bar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randd33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services
We are happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction. We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times
Thanks & regards,
Guest Relations Executive
Sherlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a wonderful bungalow of the British era and maintained very well. We had taken 5 of the 7 deluxe rooms (i.e. Rooms looking out to the garden and the mountains). The rooms were well appointed with clean beds, bathroom, TV and the coffee maker. It also has a fire place which is good fun. As we were a big group, it felt like our own place. The staff is very courteous and offer service with a smile. Some of them especially, Vinod, Paras, Deepak and Vivek were always helpful when you needed assistance.

The food is also nice with a good breakfast included in the price. One has to ensure that enough notice is provided for the kitchen to prepare your lunch or dinner.

The Ooty town is very close and its proximity to places of interest is an added advantage. Overall a fine place for family with kids as they have a lot of nice safe garden area to play around. I would however recommend the place only if you have a big group, atleast 3 rooms as then it would be really enjoyable.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with the garden view only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pach24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services
We are happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction. We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times
Thanks & regards,
Guest Relations
The Littlearth Group of Adventure Resorts and Theme Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.2 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,007 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
783 reviews
2.1 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
376 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#16 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Property: Sherlock Hotel
Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing