We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there only for the view”
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sherlock Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Go there only for the view”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

After reading very good reviews for this hotel on TA, i decided to book this one for our anniversary visit to Ooty. Since the previous 2 trips had been to Wayanad and Coorg and had stayed in homestays both the times, I dint want another homestay experience(not that my previous experiences were bad, but this time i wanted a "normal" hotel). First of all, we reached Ooty after dark and found it quite difficult to locate the place. Its on top of a hill winding roads lead to it. Sign boards are neither large enough nor enough in number. Thankfully another car(also from Bangalore) came along and offered to help us reach there. Since we were tired, we decide to have dinner there (dint wanna come down to the town again). The food is nothing to boast of. If you see the kitchen, you ll swear never to eat here again :-(. We paid Rs.700 for a pathetic dinner for two. The room was quite small, though managable. The bathroom was big and clean. Thankfully there was hot water too. It was quite cold, even for April end so we asked for a heater, which they provided.
The highlight was the next morning. The view at sunrise was amazing. The location is really nice. You can sit in the lawn and sip a hot cup of coffee and enjoy the morning mist. The breakfast buffet was again bad. The upma was dry and the idli was not at all soft.
If you choose thios hotel, make sure you have a vehicle of your own and also dont depend on the food there.Its best to hav dinner in Ooty town before retiring for the night.

Room Tip: For double the price, you can choose the room with a balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnagara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Public Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest
At the outset we thank you for taking time to write your experience on Trip Advisor.We really value all your feedback as it gives us a chance to grow and improve on our services.We are glad that you enjoyed the location and the property.
We are really sorry for the food served was not upto your expectations and that you found it difficult to find the property. This is not typical of our staff or Property. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought up will be taken up on a priority basis. We also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you
Thanks and Regards
Guest Relations
Sherlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    191
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
237
182
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of January 2013 during a fairly hectic 6 weeks in India. It was a truly wonderful place to stay, remote from the hustle and pollution of the town but near enough to do the sight seeing things.

The room was of a fair size with some very nice touches including a fire in the evening. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them. They arranged a car for our onward travel at a very fair price.

The breakfasts and dinners were excellent, with plenty of choice. Can't comment on lunch as we never had room to eat it. The only slight drawback here is that you have to let them k now in advance if yu want a drink with your meal as there is no bar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randd33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services
We are happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction. We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times
Thanks & regards,
Guest Relations Executive
Sherlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a wonderful bungalow of the British era and maintained very well. We had taken 5 of the 7 deluxe rooms (i.e. Rooms looking out to the garden and the mountains). The rooms were well appointed with clean beds, bathroom, TV and the coffee maker. It also has a fire place which is good fun. As we were a big group, it felt like our own place. The staff is very courteous and offer service with a smile. Some of them especially, Vinod, Paras, Deepak and Vivek were always helpful when you needed assistance.

The food is also nice with a good breakfast included in the price. One has to ensure that enough notice is provided for the kitchen to prepare your lunch or dinner.

The Ooty town is very close and its proximity to places of interest is an added advantage. Overall a fine place for family with kids as they have a lot of nice safe garden area to play around. I would however recommend the place only if you have a big group, atleast 3 rooms as then it would be really enjoyable.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with the garden view only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pach24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services
We are happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction. We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times
Thanks & regards,
Guest Relations
The Littlearth Group of Adventure Resorts and Theme Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Not made too many rooms and hence its not crowded;
Maintained the landscaping nicely;
Excellent rooms with fire place in the rooms;
Nice view of the valley;
Exceptionally awesome food; and
Reasonable pricing

Room Tip: Would suggest to opt for the cottages, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KapilSangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your feedback on trip advisor.We as an organisation are really thrilled that we exceeded your expectations on your holiday.We look forward to welcoming you again at one of our properties
Thanks and Regards
Guest Relations
Sherlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usak, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights for our 10th wedding anniversary and from the moment we walked through the doors the amazing customer service began. We were a little early so while we checked in and waited for our room to prepared by that time we got a welcome drink and face towels as well
The room was immaculately clean and big enough for the two of us.
We had breakfast both morning and I'd highly recommend.
Overall the hotel and staff were so amazing and really helped make our weekend unforgettable and well deserve they're number 1 status on here!
See you next year!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank framef_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking time to write your feedback on trip advisor.We are so delighted and honored that you chose our hotel to spend your 10th anniversary and are also glad that you enjoyed your time with us
Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation as well
We wish you all the very best and look forward to welcoming you soon at one of our properties
Regards
Meeta
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beziers
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had read about the Sherlock Hotel but I was very disappointed with the standard of the hotel and the cleanliness. My son and I stayed there at the end of February in a de luxe room. Don't even think about getting a standard one! The only advantage of the Sherlock is the view. It is on a hill overlooking Ooty but if you have no transport this could be a problem as the road up to the hotel is not good. In the evenings the hotel provides a small amount of wood for a fire in the room but our fire smoked very badly, so badly that we had to open all the windows and leave the room for some time.
The main problem with this hotel though is the lack of cleanliness! Our room was dirty and it had not been properly cleaned. The dining room was worse. At breakfast there was a buffet but the serving dishes were filthy, the electric toaster was disgusting, the cups and plates dirty or cracked. It was so bad we decided it was not safe to eat breakfast there. Needless to say we did not eat dinner in the hotel, but I looked at the menu and the prices seemed to be very high. I cannot understand why previous reviewers have praised this hotel because we found it a great disappointment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest
At the outset we thank you for taking time to write your experience on Trip Advisor.We really value all your feedback as it gives us a chance to grow and improve on our services.We are glad that you enjoyed the location and the property
We are really sorry that the house keeping service rendered was not upto your expectations. This is not typical of our staff or Property. Having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our guests and realize we have fallen short of the same on this occasion due to the extremely busy time . Please be assured that all the points that you have brought up will be taken up on a priority basis. We also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.
Thanks and Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent location, nearly on the top of the hill with a nice panoramic view from the garden which is just outside the rooms, bigger rooms are better as smaller ones have doors in the restaurant. Only place that does impeccable butter chicken and butter paneer, north India style, food was good no matter what we asked for from the menu. Nice spread for breakfast too, with attentive staff. Only problem we faced was for water as their tank had burst and dirty water was flowing in the washroom. Was repaired in two days, meanwhile the water for bathing was not available seperately, which could have been better taken care of.
A lovely garden with chairs and panoramic view of the city, away from the noise. Have a lovely lounge with Denon/ Bose music system, makes for very enjoyable evenings. they do not serve liquor so you have to arrange your own. They have fireplaces in the room, which they will burn in the night before you go to sleep to warm up the room in case you need it but no other heaters are available.

Room Tip: Choose the king size ones as they have veranda with chairs and smaller ones open up in restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieChanakya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest
We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our guests really like. We are glad you liked our location and especially the food. Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at a Littlearth Resort soon
Regards
Guest Relations
Sherlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.2 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,007 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
782 reviews
2.1 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
376 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#16 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Property: Sherlock Hotel
Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing