We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Own Place if you go in a big gang!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sherlock Hotel
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Your Own Place if you go in a big gang!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a wonderful bungalow of the British era and maintained very well. We had taken 5 of the 7 deluxe rooms (i.e. Rooms looking out to the garden and the mountains). The rooms were well appointed with clean beds, bathroom, TV and the coffee maker. It also has a fire place which is good fun. As we were a big group, it felt like our own place. The staff is very courteous and offer service with a smile. Some of them especially, Vinod, Paras, Deepak and Vivek were always helpful when you needed assistance.

The food is also nice with a good breakfast included in the price. One has to ensure that enough notice is provided for the kitchen to prepare your lunch or dinner.

The Ooty town is very close and its proximity to places of interest is an added advantage. Overall a fine place for family with kids as they have a lot of nice safe garden area to play around. I would however recommend the place only if you have a big group, atleast 3 rooms as then it would be really enjoyable.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with the garden view only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pach24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services
We are happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction. We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times
Thanks & regards,
Guest Relations
The Littlearth Group of Adventure Resorts and Theme Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    187
    29
    12
    8
See reviews for
226
177
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Not made too many rooms and hence its not crowded;
Maintained the landscaping nicely;
Excellent rooms with fire place in the rooms;
Nice view of the valley;
Exceptionally awesome food; and
Reasonable pricing

Room Tip: Would suggest to opt for the cottages, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KapilSangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your feedback on trip advisor.We as an organisation are really thrilled that we exceeded your expectations on your holiday.We look forward to welcoming you again at one of our properties
Thanks and Regards
Guest Relations
Sherlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usak, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights for our 10th wedding anniversary and from the moment we walked through the doors the amazing customer service began. We were a little early so while we checked in and waited for our room to prepared by that time we got a welcome drink and face towels as well
The room was immaculately clean and big enough for the two of us.
We had breakfast both morning and I'd highly recommend.
Overall the hotel and staff were so amazing and really helped make our weekend unforgettable and well deserve they're number 1 status on here!
See you next year!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank framef_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking time to write your feedback on trip advisor.We are so delighted and honored that you chose our hotel to spend your 10th anniversary and are also glad that you enjoyed your time with us
Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation as well
We wish you all the very best and look forward to welcoming you soon at one of our properties
Regards
Meeta
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beziers
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had read about the Sherlock Hotel but I was very disappointed with the standard of the hotel and the cleanliness. My son and I stayed there at the end of February in a de luxe room. Don't even think about getting a standard one! The only advantage of the Sherlock is the view. It is on a hill overlooking Ooty but if you have no transport this could be a problem as the road up to the hotel is not good. In the evenings the hotel provides a small amount of wood for a fire in the room but our fire smoked very badly, so badly that we had to open all the windows and leave the room for some time.
The main problem with this hotel though is the lack of cleanliness! Our room was dirty and it had not been properly cleaned. The dining room was worse. At breakfast there was a buffet but the serving dishes were filthy, the electric toaster was disgusting, the cups and plates dirty or cracked. It was so bad we decided it was not safe to eat breakfast there. Needless to say we did not eat dinner in the hotel, but I looked at the menu and the prices seemed to be very high. I cannot understand why previous reviewers have praised this hotel because we found it a great disappointment.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest
At the outset we thank you for taking time to write your experience on Trip Advisor.We really value all your feedback as it gives us a chance to grow and improve on our services.We are glad that you enjoyed the location and the property
We are really sorry that the house keeping service rendered was not upto your expectations. This is not typical of our staff or Property. Having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our guests and realize we have fallen short of the same on this occasion due to the extremely busy time . Please be assured that all the points that you have brought up will be taken up on a priority basis. We also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.
Thanks and Regards
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent location, nearly on the top of the hill with a nice panoramic view from the garden which is just outside the rooms, bigger rooms are better as smaller ones have doors in the restaurant. Only place that does impeccable butter chicken and butter paneer, north India style, food was good no matter what we asked for from the menu. Nice spread for breakfast too, with attentive staff. Only problem we faced was for water as their tank had burst and dirty water was flowing in the washroom. Was repaired in two days, meanwhile the water for bathing was not available seperately, which could have been better taken care of.
A lovely garden with chairs and panoramic view of the city, away from the noise. Have a lovely lounge with Denon/ Bose music system, makes for very enjoyable evenings. they do not serve liquor so you have to arrange your own. They have fireplaces in the room, which they will burn in the night before you go to sleep to warm up the room in case you need it but no other heaters are available.

Room Tip: Choose the king size ones as they have veranda with chairs and smaller ones open up in restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieChanakya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest
We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our guests really like. We are glad you liked our location and especially the food. Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at a Littlearth Resort soon
Regards
Guest Relations
Sherlock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

stayed for 3 days .had a great experience with a grand view & comfortable stay.service was top class ditto for food.looking forward to staying again.the garden view rooms r better .location simply top class far from the madding crowd.the staff looked to r every need.information sought was promptly provided .cheers

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAMANBIR1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had a great time at Hotel Sherlock. The hotel has a fantastic location and the service was impeccable. The food was outstanding. We had a car and so had no problems with transport. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The lawn was well mantained and the hotel offers a panoramic view of the city. One of the best hill station hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Altaf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.3 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
0.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.9 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Property: Sherlock Hotel
Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ooty
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing