We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sherlock Hotel
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Coimbatore, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was a surprisingly cool place in terms of the colonial touch. Fireplace is a must experience during winter. You should have a evening cup of tea at he lawn. Good choice of food. Nice choice of books. Icing on the cake if you are are Sherlock Holmes fan.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VRam1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    186
    29
    12
    8
See reviews for
226
176
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

stayed at the sherlock in june last year for two nights. The location of the hotel is excellent.Its close enough to the main centre while at the same time feels like its far away from all the congestion and commotion thats ooty.
our room was ready for us when we reached no problems with check in . Staff was friendly and helpful.Room was nice with a fireplace that was lit every evening. It also had a nice covered sit out overlooking the garden.TV reception was horrible and stayed that way for the entire two days.
food was excellent, good service. elaborate brakefast menu.
the gardens are the highlight of the place .Very well maintained, looks exactly or even better than their website.
overall a very good place to stay in ooty.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyps77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed for two days in this lovely location overlooking the Nilgiri mountains and the town of o
Ooty.l The reception was very friendly- Bhagya and Shiva by name. The food was excellent, and the breakfast schedule was very kingly adapted to our early departure the second day. There is a lot of quaint old charm in Hotel Sherlock.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frame0176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our 3 days trip to Ooty was made memorable for our experience with Sherlock. The location and architecture is enchanting. Its a theme hotel and every corner of this hotel proved it. A big vote of thanks to the couteous staff and management. If you are conti fud lover this is a paradise for you! I always looked forward to the sumptious breakfast they served! If you are here, you do not need to go anywhere....just sit on the garden chairs and enjoy the misty Nilgiris........lot of wow moments............

Room Tip: Ask for the garden facing rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 90sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Travelled a weekend in February and spent two nights in a luxury room. The room was nice and cosy with a fireplace which was lit each evening. Hot water bottle to keep you warm in bed also provided each evening. The hotel food was excellent and the room service as well as service within the hotel is also very good. The hotel staff were very helpful in taking care of our little daughter whilst we ate our meals. On the last night we enjoyed dining in the palour beside a warm fire place.
From the sweet receptionist - Bhagya to the waiter -vinod and housekeeping - Shamir, as well as the hotel manager.... Our stay was really a relaxed and enjoyable one, even with a 5month old;)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LS3_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We drove into Sherlock from Bangalore via Masinagudi.

Sherlock scores out on the location, set about 10min away from the busy town of Ooty
the view from the hotel lawns is just fantastic and panoramic.

The food had a wide spread of dishes mostly centered around North Indian and foreign cuisines. The food was average and more on the greasy side. The breakfast buffet had more South Indian options.

It was quite an experience to sleep with firewood warming the rooms. The nights do get considerably chilly.The hot water supply is very good and lasts through out the day. The visit to the nearby tea factory is a must and one can get to purchase good tea and other items.

On the whole Sherlock is great for the location and with basic services. It was however priced on the higher side considering the quality of food and the other facilities.

Room Tip: Go only for the rooms with the lawn view, the other rooms open into the dining area and are a sore s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karthik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel sits in a spectacular location overlooking the Ooty hills. They provide log fires to warm your room at night and there is wonderfully hot water in which to shower.
The food is quite expensive but extremely tasty, though perhaps it's best not to look at the cleanliness of the table linen.
The staff are extremely helpful and friendly

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jof I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.3 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
0.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.9 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Property: Sherlock Hotel
Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ooty
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing