We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sherlock Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at the Sherlock for 3 days.
The hotel was comfortable. It was a little bit away from the town which is a good thing. It was tranquil, it had a beautiful garden and there were splendid views of Ooty.
The best part of this hotel. The young waiters were very attentive and always had a genuine smile on their faces. The manager Shiva and receptionist Bhagya were extremely helpful. Their hospitality made us feel like special people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank benjielarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    191
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
237
182
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Being a fan of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, this place hit the perfect cord with me. The Hotel is decorated with portraits, pictures and themes from the most famous of his flicks. On the facility itself, It is on a hill top away from the bustle of the city. Rooms are perfect. The fire place gives the cosy aura to the room in the evenings. The panoramic view is splendid. My wife liked the orchard where the breakfast was served and we spent almost all of the morning exploring the estate and joining lanes. The food and staff was good.
The best feature of this place is also the only drawback. We reached here early morning when it was still very dark and it became a big task to find the fork which leads to this hotel. This would suite those of us who want a getaway from the hustle of the town; we could just settle down here, not so much to the liking of tourists who want to visit all spots around Ooty.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AniruddhM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you want to experience first-hand what the British loved about the hill stations in the Nilgiris (the Blue Mountains of south India) and how they would have indulged, you can't go past Sherlock Homes in Ooty! Tucked away from the bustling, noisy streets of commercial Ooty, a 15 minute drive up Tiger Hill, you will be spoiled by the attentive, happy and numerous staff, each fulfilling their assigned duties with diligence and courtesy - from making our reservations with Jenny, being greeted by the day time lady duty manager (and Paul, the night duty manager), the attendants who showed us to our 'Dancing Men' cottage and who served us masala tea on the lawns overlooking rolling tea estates, to the mali (gardener) manicuring the flower beds, and of course, the great kitchen staff, service was excellent. Using our private taxi to explore the region during the day, we gave ourselves plenty of time in the evenings to enjoy the ambience of the living and dining rooms which had their own fireplaces. Menu had great variety. Wifi was only accessible from the sun room where breakfast was served so a bit chilly there at night, small inconvenience. A gem of a find.

Room Tip: For a slightly higher charge, the cottage-type rooms each with a sunroom in the front overlooking sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My God !! what an experience !! I cant even describe the amount of fun I had at sherlock...absolute delight and super fun...you can pick up a book and sit cozy by the fire...or see the absolute stuning views...or enjoy the great rooms..or enjoy the food in irene adler room-the perfect kitchen named after the perfect woman !!.Sherlock is mileas ahead of the rest in terms of customer service and care and is simply the best place in ooty !!
Super courteous staff whose only aim is to please you by attending to smallest of details.
A regular traveller, I have stayed at places like RITZ, TAJ, LEELA etal...but the service level at Sherlock is EXEMPLARY !!
trust me..you wont regret !! the sunrise and sunset are simply breathtaking and all rooms have excellent views !!
named after some of the most famous cases of sherlock...the rooms have character..as the very stories form the theme of the room....super luxurious rooms and bathroom !! the place was EPIC !!

Room Tip: The suites have amazing views...chose dancing men for some of the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed for two nights in mid January. The hotel is very isolated, but once there transport can easily be arranged. Old and tired building, but wonderfully friendly staff who went out of their way to help. Being a very cold time many guests chose to eat in their rooms rather than face the cold dining room. The evening meals were first class and reasonably priced. Very different from the 'free' breakfast.

Being so cold, fires were lit in our room on both nights and hot water bottles were supplied without being requested.

The hotel was able to arrange a driver to give us a half day site seeing tour. The driver, Marcel,
was most helpful taking us to the places we wanted to see at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms away from the main building with it's own enclosed veranda. I would not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for one night. The place is located away from the busy streets facing a wonderful view. The hotel has a beautifully landscaped garden. The food was very good and reasonably priced.The luxury rooms open directly to the garden and the view of hills. All rooms have a fireplace which is lit in evening for free. Overall the experience was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services
We are happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction. We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times
Thanks & regards,
Jeffrey Kendall
General Manager Sales and Marketing
The Littlearth Group of Adventure Resorts and Theme Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Place:
------------
Sherlock is located little far from Ooty on a hill. Reaching to this Hotel could be challenge as roads to uphill are narrow and not built at many stretches on the way. But once you reach here, you are welcomed with a nicely build Bungalow with a tasteful interior and an awesome view. It’s a small hotel with 9 rooms only out of 6 are luxury rooms. All luxury rooms have entrance from garden which overlooks on beautiful valleys of Ooty.

Rooms and view:
---------------------
Hotel is very interestingly designed with description from Sherlock Homes’ novel. First thing which impress you after entering into the hotel is it’s common room having oriental style furniture. Though small but this common room provides you a small library with Sherlock Homes novels, some indoor games and a quite sit out place just to relax.
Another thing which you will notice immediately is the name of rooms. All rooms are named after Sherlock Homes novels and interior also reflects the character of it. We stayed in room called “Dancing Man”. Room is sufficiently large and with nice and clean bathroom attached. There is a small sit-out place with relaxing chair is provided just outside the room. One can enjoy the view of tea gardens and valley while sipping the hot tea/coffee from this sit out place.
The small garden outside the room is good and have sufficient and interesting mode to sit (chairs of different shape). We preferred to sit more in the garden instead of sit-out place attached with the room because view was better from garden.

Restaurant:
---------------
Restaurant is small but offers a good selection of veg and non-veg food. Prices are on upper side but justified when it comes to taste and quantity. In starting, we tried lunch there only because it is not so easy to city just for meal but once we tasted the food, we decided to have all our meals there only. We ordered lot of veg varieties from a-la-carte and taste was amazing. However the buffet breakfast was just okay though it offered a sufficient varieties.

Service:
----------
Staff is courteous and service is quick. Very impressive.

Things To Do:
----------------
Cover Ooty’s attraction in daytime and return to hotel timely. Admire the view and relax. If you are group then playing card or other indoor activities could be fun. The bon fire at common place as well as the room is good and several activities can be planned and enjoyed around it.

One last point:
-----------------

Understand that this place is remotely located so easily/quickly accessible from city. One could feel locked into the hotel in the evening time but because roads from/toward hotel are bad, narrow and does not have road light. Up/down from this place in dark could be challenging for first timer drivers on such roads.

Overall:
----------
4 Star to the place
5 Star to the food
3 Star to the connectivity
Like to return again to this place shortly

Room Tip: Choose luxury rooms facing to the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.2 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,007 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
782 reviews
2.1 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
376 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Property: Sherlock Hotel
Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing