We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sherlock Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ponmari Residencyy(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$153
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sterling Ooty Elk Hill(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$134
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Flora Amberley Resort(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Mahindra Derby Green(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$137
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Destiny Farmstay(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$155
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fortune Retreats Resorts - Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mount 'n' Mist(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$50
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveler rating
314
200
30
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
200
30
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager sanjaythemed hoteltiger hillbeautiful gardenapproach roadwe loved our stayhustle bustledeluxe roomshill topmain buildingbritish eramountain viewold world charman awesome experiencespecial mentioncandle light dinnerawesome place
Filter
Updating list...
406 - 411 of 565 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed for two nights in mid January. The hotel is very isolated, but once there transport can easily be arranged. Old and tired building, but wonderfully friendly staff who went out of their way to help. Being a very cold time many guests chose to eat in their rooms rather than face the cold dining room. The evening meals were first class and reasonably priced. Very different from the 'free' breakfast.

Being so cold, fires were lit in our room on both nights and hot water bottles were supplied without being requested.

The hotel was able to arrange a driver to give us a half day site seeing tour. The driver, Marcel,
was most helpful taking us to the places we wanted to see at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms away from the main building with it's own enclosed veranda. I would not wish to have a room in the main building opening onto the dining room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for one night. The place is located away from the busy streets facing a wonderful view. The hotel has a beautifully landscaped garden. The food was very good and reasonably priced.The luxury rooms open directly to the garden and the view of hills. All rooms have a fireplace which is lit in evening for free. Overall the experience was great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services
We are happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction. We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times
Thanks & regards,
Jeffrey Kendall
General Manager Sales and Marketing
The Littlearth Group of Adventure Resorts and Theme Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Place:
------------
Sherlock is located little far from Ooty on a hill. Reaching to this Hotel could be challenge as roads to uphill are narrow and not built at many stretches on the way. But once you reach here, you are welcomed with a nicely build Bungalow with a tasteful interior and an awesome view. It’s a small hotel with 9 rooms only out of 6 are luxury rooms. All luxury rooms have entrance from garden which overlooks on beautiful valleys of Ooty.

Rooms and view:
---------------------
Hotel is very interestingly designed with description from Sherlock Homes’ novel. First thing which impress you after entering into the hotel is it’s common room having oriental style furniture. Though small but this common room provides you a small library with Sherlock Homes novels, some indoor games and a quite sit out place just to relax.
Another thing which you will notice immediately is the name of rooms. All rooms are named after Sherlock Homes novels and interior also reflects the character of it. We stayed in room called “Dancing Man”. Room is sufficiently large and with nice and clean bathroom attached. There is a small sit-out place with relaxing chair is provided just outside the room. One can enjoy the view of tea gardens and valley while sipping the hot tea/coffee from this sit out place.
The small garden outside the room is good and have sufficient and interesting mode to sit (chairs of different shape). We preferred to sit more in the garden instead of sit-out place attached with the room because view was better from garden.

Restaurant:
---------------
Restaurant is small but offers a good selection of veg and non-veg food. Prices are on upper side but justified when it comes to taste and quantity. In starting, we tried lunch there only because it is not so easy to city just for meal but once we tasted the food, we decided to have all our meals there only. We ordered lot of veg varieties from a-la-carte and taste was amazing. However the buffet breakfast was just okay though it offered a sufficient varieties.

Service:
----------
Staff is courteous and service is quick. Very impressive.

Things To Do:
----------------
Cover Ooty’s attraction in daytime and return to hotel timely. Admire the view and relax. If you are group then playing card or other indoor activities could be fun. The bon fire at common place as well as the room is good and several activities can be planned and enjoyed around it.

One last point:
-----------------

Understand that this place is remotely located so easily/quickly accessible from city. One could feel locked into the hotel in the evening time but because roads from/toward hotel are bad, narrow and does not have road light. Up/down from this place in dark could be challenging for first timer drivers on such roads.

Overall:
----------
4 Star to the place
5 Star to the food
3 Star to the connectivity
Like to return again to this place shortly

Room Tip: Choose luxury rooms facing to the valley
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

It is a lovely and comfortable little hotel with a familial atmosphere. It is located on the hillside, above the actual village, with a great view from the beautiful garden. Therefore it is ideal, for whoever wants to relax in peace, away from the tourist crowds that usually fill the village. If you want to be able to walk to the village however, it might be too far, especially at night.

The hotel is well maintained and the service is caring. There is a small restaurant with a surprisingly large variety of international and Indian choices, the quality of food is very good, only the breakfast is a little limited. If you want to drink alcohol, you have to tell the manager in advance and he will have it delivered from town. It will definitely be cheaper however, if you bring it yourself.

The only drawback is that those hotel rooms adjacent to the main building are quite noisy, which is a problem when groups stay late in the main lobby at night and when the kitchen crew starts working in the morning. In consequence, try to get a room, which is away from the main building.

Room Tip: 1.) Ask for a Deluxe Room away from the main building 2.) Bring your own wine / beer if you want to enjoy some
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Obwaldner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Director of Sales at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at Sherlock and glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and service!!
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kind Regards,
Jeffrey Kendall
General Manager Sales & Marketing
The Littlearth Group of Adventure Resorts & Theme Hotels,
E-mail:jeff@littlearth.in

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Being a theme hotel based on the character of Sherlock Holmes, everything there well complimented it. The rooms were very cosy and clean. The manager Shiva and his team takes good care of all the guests. The staff is very helpful and courteous,which made the whole stay pleasant.
We stayed in a deluxe room called "Six Napoleans" named after one of the Arthur Conan Doyle books. The christmas decorations and the crib outside were superb, gave it all a heavenly touch. The dinner was the most memorable part of our stay. As we were warming up to the fireplace listening to the soft carols being played and browsing through the menu, Shiva arranged a lovely meal to be served there itself right next to the fireplace. It was awesome. Since it was really cold in the night we made use of the complimentary firewood in the room as well. Only thing it made our room a bit smoky after sometime, so couldn't enjoy it for longer time. The option of a room heater would be better.

The road towards the hotel is not very good and might seem confusing the first time. The breakfast spread was good enough. The view from the hotel is so great as well, especially in the morning. Very quiet atmosphere. On the whole it was a remarkable experience, i would recommend this place.

Room Tip: It is better to stay in a deluxe room so that you can enjoy the privacy of the sitout and lawn.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOSH_7479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Director of Sales at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at Sherlock and glad to hear that you enjoyed the service and the special Christmas decorations.
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kind Regards,
Jeffrey Kendall
General Manager Sales & Marketing
The Littlearth Group of Adventure Resorts & Theme Hotels,
E-mail:jeff@littlearth.in

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews