We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location ! Great experience !”
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sherlock Hotel
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location ! Great experience !”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for one night. The place is located away from the busy streets facing a wonderful view. The hotel has a beautifully landscaped garden. The food was very good and reasonably priced.The luxury rooms open directly to the garden and the view of hills. All rooms have a fireplace which is lit in evening for free. Overall the experience was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services
We are happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction. We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times
Thanks & regards,
Jeffrey Kendall
General Manager Sales and Marketing
The Littlearth Group of Adventure Resorts and Theme Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    189
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
230
180
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Place:
------------
Sherlock is located little far from Ooty on a hill. Reaching to this Hotel could be challenge as roads to uphill are narrow and not built at many stretches on the way. But once you reach here, you are welcomed with a nicely build Bungalow with a tasteful interior and an awesome view. It’s a small hotel with 9 rooms only out of 6 are luxury rooms. All luxury rooms have entrance from garden which overlooks on beautiful valleys of Ooty.

Rooms and view:
---------------------
Hotel is very interestingly designed with description from Sherlock Homes’ novel. First thing which impress you after entering into the hotel is it’s common room having oriental style furniture. Though small but this common room provides you a small library with Sherlock Homes novels, some indoor games and a quite sit out place just to relax.
Another thing which you will notice immediately is the name of rooms. All rooms are named after Sherlock Homes novels and interior also reflects the character of it. We stayed in room called “Dancing Man”. Room is sufficiently large and with nice and clean bathroom attached. There is a small sit-out place with relaxing chair is provided just outside the room. One can enjoy the view of tea gardens and valley while sipping the hot tea/coffee from this sit out place.
The small garden outside the room is good and have sufficient and interesting mode to sit (chairs of different shape). We preferred to sit more in the garden instead of sit-out place attached with the room because view was better from garden.

Restaurant:
---------------
Restaurant is small but offers a good selection of veg and non-veg food. Prices are on upper side but justified when it comes to taste and quantity. In starting, we tried lunch there only because it is not so easy to city just for meal but once we tasted the food, we decided to have all our meals there only. We ordered lot of veg varieties from a-la-carte and taste was amazing. However the buffet breakfast was just okay though it offered a sufficient varieties.

Service:
----------
Staff is courteous and service is quick. Very impressive.

Things To Do:
----------------
Cover Ooty’s attraction in daytime and return to hotel timely. Admire the view and relax. If you are group then playing card or other indoor activities could be fun. The bon fire at common place as well as the room is good and several activities can be planned and enjoyed around it.

One last point:
-----------------

Understand that this place is remotely located so easily/quickly accessible from city. One could feel locked into the hotel in the evening time but because roads from/toward hotel are bad, narrow and does not have road light. Up/down from this place in dark could be challenging for first timer drivers on such roads.

Overall:
----------
4 Star to the place
5 Star to the food
3 Star to the connectivity
Like to return again to this place shortly

Room Tip: Choose luxury rooms facing to the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

It is a lovely and comfortable little hotel with a familial atmosphere. It is located on the hillside, above the actual village, with a great view from the beautiful garden. Therefore it is ideal, for whoever wants to relax in peace, away from the tourist crowds that usually fill the village. If you want to be able to walk to the village however, it might be too far, especially at night.

The hotel is well maintained and the service is caring. There is a small restaurant with a surprisingly large variety of international and Indian choices, the quality of food is very good, only the breakfast is a little limited. If you want to drink alcohol, you have to tell the manager in advance and he will have it delivered from town. It will definitely be cheaper however, if you bring it yourself.

The only drawback is that those hotel rooms adjacent to the main building are quite noisy, which is a problem when groups stay late in the main lobby at night and when the kitchen crew starts working in the morning. In consequence, try to get a room, which is away from the main building.

Room Tip: 1.) Ask for a Deluxe Room away from the main building 2.) Bring your own wine / beer if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obwaldner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Director of Sales at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at Sherlock and glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and service!!
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kind Regards,
Jeffrey Kendall
General Manager Sales & Marketing
The Littlearth Group of Adventure Resorts & Theme Hotels,
E-mail:jeff@littlearth.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Being a theme hotel based on the character of Sherlock Holmes, everything there well complimented it. The rooms were very cosy and clean. The manager Shiva and his team takes good care of all the guests. The staff is very helpful and courteous,which made the whole stay pleasant.
We stayed in a deluxe room called "Six Napoleans" named after one of the Arthur Conan Doyle books. The christmas decorations and the crib outside were superb, gave it all a heavenly touch. The dinner was the most memorable part of our stay. As we were warming up to the fireplace listening to the soft carols being played and browsing through the menu, Shiva arranged a lovely meal to be served there itself right next to the fireplace. It was awesome. Since it was really cold in the night we made use of the complimentary firewood in the room as well. Only thing it made our room a bit smoky after sometime, so couldn't enjoy it for longer time. The option of a room heater would be better.

The road towards the hotel is not very good and might seem confusing the first time. The breakfast spread was good enough. The view from the hotel is so great as well, especially in the morning. Very quiet atmosphere. On the whole it was a remarkable experience, i would recommend this place.

Room Tip: It is better to stay in a deluxe room so that you can enjoy the privacy of the sitout and lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOSH_7479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Director of Sales at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at Sherlock and glad to hear that you enjoyed the service and the special Christmas decorations.
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kind Regards,
Jeffrey Kendall
General Manager Sales & Marketing
The Littlearth Group of Adventure Resorts & Theme Hotels,
E-mail:jeff@littlearth.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our stay in Sherlock was a very refreshing one. Nestled  in the hill away from the bustle of Ooty, it transports you into an other world where you can enjoy the birds chirping, the lawns brimming  with flowers, the cheerfulness of the place. We loved the tasteful and cosy set up and the fireplaces added to the old world charm that surrounds you the moment you alight at Sherlock. The service of the friendly and dedicated staff, Shiva, Vinod, Paul, Paras and everyone at Sherlock makes us want to go back there as soon as possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vg_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Director of Sales at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at Sherlock and glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and service!!
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kind Regards,
Jeffrey Kendall
General Manager Sales & Marketing
The Littlearth Group of Adventure Resorts & Theme Hotels,
E-mail:jeff@littlearth.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked this place because of the top reviews in Tripadvisor. We visited it recently as a family. its got a wonderful location on top of the hills and its a calm and serene place. Perfect if you are honeymooning and want privacy. Its about 2 kms away from the city centre which does not sound far but the approach road is terrible which makes it a tough grind to go back and forth. The food and service is excellent and the staff really try their best. The manager there (Shiva) is a charming chap who does his best to make your stay perfect. You just need to know that you are going to be away from the city centre and the approach road is terrible. One other thing we noticed was that there was very loud music playing from a nearby hotel on a Saturday evening which was annoying. That might be a one time thing

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.2 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
0.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
2.1 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 82 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Property: Sherlock Hotel
Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ooty
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing