We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay in Sherlock”
Review of Sherlock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sherlock Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A memorable stay in Sherlock”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Being a theme hotel based on the character of Sherlock Holmes, everything there well complimented it. The rooms were very cosy and clean. The manager Shiva and his team takes good care of all the guests. The staff is very helpful and courteous,which made the whole stay pleasant.
We stayed in a deluxe room called "Six Napoleans" named after one of the Arthur Conan Doyle books. The christmas decorations and the crib outside were superb, gave it all a heavenly touch. The dinner was the most memorable part of our stay. As we were warming up to the fireplace listening to the soft carols being played and browsing through the menu, Shiva arranged a lovely meal to be served there itself right next to the fireplace. It was awesome. Since it was really cold in the night we made use of the complimentary firewood in the room as well. Only thing it made our room a bit smoky after sometime, so couldn't enjoy it for longer time. The option of a room heater would be better.

The road towards the hotel is not very good and might seem confusing the first time. The breakfast spread was good enough. The view from the hotel is so great as well, especially in the morning. Very quiet atmosphere. On the whole it was a remarkable experience, i would recommend this place.

Room Tip: It is better to stay in a deluxe room so that you can enjoy the privacy of the sitout and lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOSH_7479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Director of Sales at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at Sherlock and glad to hear that you enjoyed the service and the special Christmas decorations.
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kind Regards,
Jeffrey Kendall
General Manager Sales & Marketing
The Littlearth Group of Adventure Resorts & Theme Hotels,
E-mail:jeff@littlearth.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    190
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
235
181
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our stay in Sherlock was a very refreshing one. Nestled  in the hill away from the bustle of Ooty, it transports you into an other world where you can enjoy the birds chirping, the lawns brimming  with flowers, the cheerfulness of the place. We loved the tasteful and cosy set up and the fireplaces added to the old world charm that surrounds you the moment you alight at Sherlock. The service of the friendly and dedicated staff, Shiva, Vinod, Paul, Paras and everyone at Sherlock makes us want to go back there as soon as possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vg_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Director of Sales at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at Sherlock and glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and service!!
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kind Regards,
Jeffrey Kendall
General Manager Sales & Marketing
The Littlearth Group of Adventure Resorts & Theme Hotels,
E-mail:jeff@littlearth.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked this place because of the top reviews in Tripadvisor. We visited it recently as a family. its got a wonderful location on top of the hills and its a calm and serene place. Perfect if you are honeymooning and want privacy. Its about 2 kms away from the city centre which does not sound far but the approach road is terrible which makes it a tough grind to go back and forth. The food and service is excellent and the staff really try their best. The manager there (Shiva) is a charming chap who does his best to make your stay perfect. You just need to know that you are going to be away from the city centre and the approach road is terrible. One other thing we noticed was that there was very loud music playing from a nearby hotel on a Saturday evening which was annoying. That might be a one time thing

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We just came back from our wonderful stay in Sherlock in Ooty and this is the first time ever I am even compelled to write a review on TripAdvisor, it's that great.

What a beautiful place to stay. Away from all the hustle & bustle in Ooty, it's in a quiet, serene, beautiful location. Waking to the wonderful mountain views every morning was a bliss. The lawn is really nice for kids to run around. It was greatly relaxing to sit around in the common rooms in front of crackling fire, listening to wonderful music and reading books...

The staff is fantastic. Everyone is extremely friendly, dedicated and warm. Makes your stay very pleasant. The manager Shiva is really great - he took personal care in ensuring every one of our request was met. Food was fantastic, their breakfast buffet is really awesome (one of the days we had lunch at Taj and food was terrible there)

We loved our stay and felt very sad leaving the place. We would highly recommend Sherlock for making your stay in Ooty very special.

Room Tip: Stay in the Deluxe room - it's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayashree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, General Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at Sherlock and glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and service!!
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kind Regards,
Jeffrey Kendall
General Manager Sales & Marketing
The Littlearth Group of Adventure Resorts & Theme Hotels,
E-mail:jeff@littlearth.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Our small group had two rooms, deluxe and standard. Both were spotlessly clean, great bathrooms with steaming hot water. Absolutely stunning views and lovely gardens. Dinner and breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Best thing about the hotel was the efficient and friendly Manager, Shiva and his great staff. Would love to come back here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NealeAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.2 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
994 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
768 reviews
2.1 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,175 reviews
2.0 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherlock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherlock Hotel

Property: Sherlock Hotel
Address: Tiger Hill Road | Upper Thalayatimund, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sherlock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Sherlock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherlock Hotel Ootacamund
Sherlock Hotel India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing