We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sherlock Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ponmari Residencyy(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Treebo Yantra Leisures(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$71
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sterling Ooty Elk Hill(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$134
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Flora Amberley Resort(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$89
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Mahindra Derby Green(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$137
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sabol Holiday Resorts(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$115
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveler rating
314
200
30
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
200
30
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager sanjaythemed hoteltiger hillbeautiful gardenapproach roadwe loved our stayhustle bustledeluxe roomshill topmain buildingbritish eramountain viewold world charman awesome experiencespecial mentioncandle light dinnerawesome place
Filter
Updating list...
435 - 440 of 565 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed in Sherlock for couple of days in the first week of Aug. Stayed in the Semi-deluxe room. Service and stay was very nice.
Pros :
-Excellent service , we were sitting besides the fireplace while we ordered dinner...and the staff made sure dinner was served there without being asked for ! Also they remembered to serve us warm water since we asked for it the prev day. Nice little things.
- liked the theme : Sherlock Holmes :) Our room was called Gloria scott .
- Stunning location and nicely maintained garden.
- Old world charm
- Awesome food (A la carte)
- Best thing is that there are just few rooms ...so staff know everyone staying.

Cons :
- About 2 km uphill from town. So be ready to take an auto / long walk. Travel desk is helpful wth arranging travel though.
- Water in the washroom was a bit brownish on the day we went. Don't know why. We did complain , but didn't improve much.
- No heater in rooms. Free fireplaces though :) Staff would light them whenever you want in the evenings.
- Take the luxury rooms. Semi deluxe ones lack privacy and has sound coming in from the dining area.

Room Tip: Book luxury rooms
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ranjit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Excellent location, great service, all staffs are very courteous.
I have chosen this hotel for our Honeymoon trip to OOTY.
Location and view is breathtaking, garden and overall setup is awesome. Nice & clean place.
Only concern was food is bit expensive.

However, Had an unforgettable experience.
Overall, great stay and recommended to all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Excellent location, good service (Thanx to gud responses from Mr. Shiva, Mr. Vinodh and other service staff) altogether made r experience worth remembering. Location is breathtaking indeed.. Clean n cozy place to stay...only con is bit expensive food on menu...bt sharing wid ones sweetheart , money gets a back kick.. Overall worth giving a try.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nikmonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

One thing is for sure. Whenever, I head to Ooty, I will stay at Sherlock. This trip of ours was planned just 1 day ahead of the journey. Sherlock was recommended by a colleague of mine, and I called them up. There was 1 luxury room available, and I booked it instantly. I received an email confirmation within minutes. Myself, my wife & and my little daughter headed towards Mysore (from Bangalore) in the evening, took a break in the night at a hotel, and reached Ooty the next day at 11AM. The USP of Sherlock is its location and ambience. It is great to have your own vehicle (I drove my own Santro) if you decide to stay here. Just 500 meters after you cross the Charring cross junction towards Coonoor, you will notice Hotel Ooty Gate on your right. Bang opposite to that, there is a small road which detours uphill from the main road. There is a small board of Sherlock here. You continue driving the steep uphill and winding road for about 3-4 minutes, and you reach Sherlock. Take care not to miss the Sherlock gate on the left. You enter this tiny road, take one circle, and you are in front of the reception. The heritage property is pure delight. The architecture, the lawns, the reception, and of course the spectacular view that one gets from the lawn, is every worth the penny. Very English in the overall ambience, the property oozes oodles of old world charm. We stayed at the luxury room. There are 5 of them, all facing the lawn and the valley. These rooms are highly recommended. The deluxe rooms do not face the lawn, and open into the eating area. The rooms are spotlessly clean, furnitures and fireplace right out of Conan Doyle. In fact all the rooms are named after stories and characters of Sherlock Homes series. The staff is extremely well behaved and courteous. The food, albeit a little pricey, is excellent. You have option of having open air dinner (weather permitting) in the sprawling lawns. The lawn, overlooking the beautiful valley, is the place one should spend time. It is a real stress buster, specially for people like me who slog it out in Bangalore day in and out. There is also a typically English sit out area inside the main building, which has fire place and quite a few books to read.

Overall, it has been a memorable weekend break. Since there are hardly 10-12 rooms, you don't have the cacophony. If you are heading towards Ooty, stay at Sherlock. It worth it.

Room Tip: The luxury rooms are highly recommended.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dipanjan_chakraborty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed for a day in Sherlock and found it great. Awesome location, food was good. Early morning view was wow and chilled weather at evening made our vacation a true vacation with friends enjoying the place and bonfire

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DineshMalhotra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews